We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I went to Flamingo Beach resort for a one week stay in November. The resort is about an hour drive from the airport. Although this is an older hotel I enjoyed everything about it. There is only one restaurant but with the wide range of choices it did not get tired. Just about every meal was prepared to my tastes. I had a meal that was not to my taste but that was not a fault of the chef- just my own personal taste. Chef Frank would come to our table to insure that we were enjoying his well made dishes, he even disclosed some of his secrets when we told him we enjoyed his dishes and wanted to make them at home. All the servers (Rocio, Alexandra, William, Carlos, Orlando and Olger) made us feel right at home. The fresh fruit at breakfast was the highlight of my day. I haven't eaten so much pineapple and papaya in my life. The bar guys (Elias, Manolo, Leo and Victor) were top shelf. They made you whatever you want and made suggestions to broaden my palate. They also went out of their way to keep the fresh coconuts coming. Our group favored the Coconut water with vodka. The house brand of liquors were good for the all inclusive. The room was spotless. I did not see one bug in the room all week and the room was completely odorless. A good thing considering the humid climate and the fact that rainy season was still in progress. The bed was super comfortable and I slept better than I do at home. I took the side trip to the zip line and it was the highlight of my trip. I would not have to think twice about another visit to FB resort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onthebeach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa for your Costa Rica vacation, and for the kind and positive words you had about our hotel and its staff members. It's so wonderful for us when a guest takes the time to interact with the personnel, ask questions about the menu, take suggestions about new things to try, etc. Also, thanks for recognizing that during a hot, rainy season in the tropics, it is a constant battle to keep the insects at bay and to counteract musty odors that permeate areas exposed to constant high humidity. We are glad we got high marks in this regard in your case and would love to welcome you back to our resort at any time. Thank you again for bringing us your incredible positive energy and open heart and mind. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

891 - 897 of 2,130 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

If you believe what the reviews say and manage your expectations accordingly, this is a nice beach stay.

Pros:
- The beach is clean, beautiful, and WONDERFUL for walking and for wave-riding
- It appears that the Flamingo Resort is the only hotel on the beach (although there are private condos lining the waterfront) so it doesn't feel crowded
- The staff are very helpful and friendly
- (Most) of the food at the restaurant is delicious
- There is a movie theater/rec room that is cool to hang out in
- The pool is nice
- With just over 100 rooms, it's not too crowded

Cons:
- The menu says that the nachos are made with cheddar cheese, but when they come to your table, it's velveeta-type. (Which makes me wonder about their claim that the veggies are from an "organic garden")
- The air conditioner in your room makes a loud chirping noise every half hour that you can't turn off, nor can the staff
- There is a road you have to cross to get to the beach
- The showers have very light water pressure
- The food at the restaurant is PROHIBITIVELY EXPENSIVE
- They set a bottle of water near your coffee maker, yet don't tell you that it will cost you $6 if you open it
- There are peddlers at the beach (but they're not too aggressive)
- There isn't much in the way of snorkeling near the beach
- The mini-bar selection is dusty, expensive and nothing more than an irritation if you are paying a lot of money for an "all-inclusive" stay.
- Some drinks (e.g. pina coladas, fruit punch) are not made with fresh fruit, even when pineapples and other fruits are in season.

This is a nice motel on the beach. It's not much of a "resort". It should be priced and marketed accordingly. We found ways to work around most of the cons and ended up enjoying our stay, however, because there were so many little nagging drawbacks, I wouldn't recommend the hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor - this is a motel and the lower floors can be busy and loud. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate everyone's comments as each critique helps us to constantly get better. Even though the title of your review was a bit mean-spirited--and one with which we vehemently disagree--it was nice of you to list so many positive aspects of your stay. At the same time, there are some points in your list of "Cons" that we do need to clarify: Food costs in Guanacaste, Costa Rica are extremely high, especially when one tries to provide North Americans with the type of fare to which they are accustomed and not to limit one's menu only to national dishes such as rice & beans (which are also wonderful!); many items have to be imported. Every couple of months, as our own costs go up, we do a survey of the menu prices at other comparable restaurants in our area and we adjust our own prices as needed to be in line with our market, even when it implies a loss. We also try to get as many ingredients as possible locally, and we certainly do have our own organic farm for harvesting many of our fruits, vegetables and herbs. We have put a lot of time and effort into this farm, and have worked with the EARTH University in Costa Rica for guidance and consulting. This is NOT an inexpensive endeavor, it is a labor of love, and your implication that we are lying about it was simply hurtful. Finally, regarding the mini-bar products in your room, everyone is advised at check-in that these are not part of the all-inclusive meal plan, and there is literature in every room to remind guests of this and noting the prices for this convenience. In the future it might be useful to dig a little deeper and do some research before you write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This resort was absolutely amazing....the staff called us by name from the minute we arrived and always remembered... The rooms were clean, the balcony was a wonderful place for tea in the morning.. A special thanks to Louis, William, Orlando and Rosa, a very special thanks to Alexandra for making our stay such a memorable one ( the turtles were amazing). We plan on returning for new years eve 2014.. The buffet was small, but had lots of choices, and you could order off the menu as well...I would recommend this resort to all who want a beautiful beach, good food, comfortable rooms and friendly staff

Room Tip: For a quiet room pick 1314-1316,1318, 1320. Or 1214, 1216, 1218, 1220
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debby m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you so much for this wonderful review and for recognizing some members of our incredible staff! Can you come back soon so we can give you a big hug? Seriously, we hope you really are able to return for New Year's 2014, because we have an amazing party with dancing under the moonlight to a live band, spectacular Fourth-of-July-style fireworks and an incredible feast. The weather is usually wonderful that time of year, with warm sunny days and cool nights. Hope to see you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The room we were given smelled sooo bad. They would only move us to another room, which they called an upgrade, for a charge of $10 more each night. Rip-off, right. And they made it very clear that they were making a really, really big accommodation. I had also just said I couldn't go up or down stairs because I was getting over one broken foot and surgery on the other. But his immediate next action was to give us a room down stairs. We were using a Groupon, but I didn't see anything in the Groupon contract indicating we would get a lousy, foul-smelling room. Definitely could not recommend.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

It is our deepest regret that your experience was so terrible that you were moved to write this awful review. We did speak to our staff about it and while they remembered your case, they did remember it a bit differently: You did complain that your first room had an unpleasant odor---which usually comes from the intense humidity or from gases emitted naturally at low tide by the mangrove forest next to the property. You mentioned nothing about a room that "reeked of urine" at the time of your complaint. Also, your Groupon coupon was in fact for a standard room, which was listed on the coupon. You were offered an upgraded room, which is normally $25 more, for only $10. The desk clerk remembers nothing about being told you could not go up or down stairs; and it is our practice to always try to be accommodating to elderly people or those with a disability. While I wasn't on property to really know what transpired in your case, you obviously were very unsatisfied and did not receive the courteous guest service that you had every right to expect. For that we ask you to please accept our sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Of all the hotels I stayed in during my Costa Rica trip this was the best run.

It's a legitimate resort feel with greats facilities in a great location.

It's right on my favourite beach of the trip also Playa Flamingo. The beach here smashes Tamarindo.

Just don't come here if you are young or single. One night would be enough and then move to Tamarindo.
There is not enough to do in what is a tiny place.

No complaints with anything and the $10 breakfast deal is great.

All the staff were great.

Summary:
Great but boring.


Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank Grande_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

We appreciate your choosing our resort for your stay, and totally agree that it is probably not the right place for a single young person traveling alone. While our beach is gorgeous, as you mentioned, it's pretty quiet and laid back. You are right that there is not much in the way of nightlife except our very small casino and occasional DJs, live music or Karaoke nights in our Sunset Lounge. Not exactly swinging, we get it! We are very happy that you found our staff to be great, and sorry that you were bored.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at this great resort in Nov. 2013. Amazing views and the sunsets are incredible! We wish we stayed longer! Very comfortable rooms overlooking the swimming pool. The facilities are really nice (a bit older) but very well maintained. Excellent and friendly front desk service and always willing to help and make you feel extra special. The beach right a few steps from the dinning room is truly wonderful with white sand and very clean and warm ocean. This is a perfect place for relaxation and enjoy life and your loved one. A short taxi ride or bus to Conchal which is also an amazingly beautiful beach. Oh, the daily breakfast was very good and if you get tired of the buffett you can order your main dish to be prepare fresh for you. The coffee also was excellent. There are a few great restaurants a few steps away from the hotel too. Maries is excellent for seafood. We will go back to Flamingo Beach Resort /Spa in heartbeat!

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the third floor on the swimming pool side... near the ocean side! Do no take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ana-Santorini099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Aw, your comment that you "wish we stayed longer" really made our day! Thank you so much for staying with us at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa and for your kind and positive words about your visit. It is so gratifying when a guest gives us feedback that we got it right, because we do try so heard to provide the "excellent and friendly service" you mention, and to make our guests "feel extra special". We sure do hope that you will come back soon, please give us a heads up in advance so we can set the bar even higher for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed here for a week. The grounds and pool are awesome, but our favourite part was the waves on the ocean. The hotel is right on the beach, and the waves on this beach are amazing. Every day we would body surf in the waves and it was so much fun. The hotel staff are all very helpful, and accommodating. The games rooms within the hotel is a great common space to hang out.
The only annoying thing about staying at this hotel was the staff photographers. They were always there day and night interrupting nice, quiet moments. I would have liked to have had the choice of whether I wanted this service, instead of having a camera in my face the entire week.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniellelynnrobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your thoughtful and instructive review of your recent stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. We are so pleased that you found our staff to be "helpful and accommodating" and enjoyed our wonderful beach and the family game room. We also appreciate your comments regarding the photography concessionaires. We have brought your review to their attention and asked them to please tone-down their approach and avoid intrusiveness with our guests. We apologize that this marred your stay in any way and appreciate the valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
16.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,618 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,498 reviews
11.2 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,450 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa

Address: Playa Flamingo Santa Cruz | Guanacaste, Playa Flamingo 50308, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range: $110 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once you've experienced a Pacific Ocean sunset from the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, you may never want to leave. Located in the vacation province of Guancaste, you’ll be perfectly-positioned to explore Costa Rica's natural beauty and limitless adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing