We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the sun at Playa Flamingo!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fun in the sun at Playa Flamingo!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

For families looking to relax poolside with a beautiful beach just steps away, this child friendly hotel on Guanacaste's Playa Flamingo is just the ticket. My husband and I have been visiting Costa Rica for 11 years, and although we now have a place of our own in the mountains, Flamingo Beach Resort is the beach hotel our children and grandchildren look forward to when they come to visit each summer.

The pool, huge and fairly shallow at a uniform 4.7 feet, with great lounging areas both in and out, is absolutely the centerpiece of the property. The swim up pool bar and friendly bartenders, as well as a large jalapa stype kids's pool (all attached) make it a place for families and couples alike. There is also an awesome kids' playground area with nice equipment near the pool.

We prefer to purchase the breakfast only plan so we can enjoy nearby restaurants, but many choose the all-inclusive option. The food is delicious morning, noon, and evening.

FBR is not a new hotel by any means, but the rooms are well kept, very clean, updated regularly, and large. We enjoy having both a bathtub and shower. We prefer the poolside rooms and the nice large balcony area.

It is always fun to return and be greeted by many of the same staff whom I originally met during my first stay in 2003. The longevity of so many staffers speaks well for the management. The employees seem genuinely happy to be there, and the helpfulness, smiles, and overall hospitality of the entire staff adds to the pleasure factor considerably.

Flamingo Beach, directly across a narrow dirt road from the pool and restaurant, is one of the most beautiful in the country. Sunsets here are a marvel, and guests and locals gather to capture the moments on film. The beach is long, great for walking or finding a secluded area, with a powerful surf at high tide. Low tide is perfect for playing in the surf.

We usually stay 5-7 nights, but for just a long weekend even, Flamingo Beach Resort is an awesome choice! Looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    728
    243
    81
    46
See reviews for
673
832
57
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at a condo just up the road from the resort and we had visitor priviledges to the resort. This we found very enjoyable and alot of our 2.5 weeks were spent by the pool. The days we were there we ate lunch at the restaurant and the food was very good. The service was excellent. However we found the price of drinks very expensive and watered down so after one try we didn't bother. For planning for tours was made easy by the person in the lobby, who was very helpful.
We loved Costa Rica and will go back again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The1Nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding our resort. We definitely don't water down our drinks, but since most of our venues are outdoors, the ice does melt pretty quickly in the tropical heat. Every couple of months we do price surveys in the local area as to what other hotels and restaurants are charging for their food and beverage offerings, and we always stay in line with competition. Some people have a mistaken idea that everything in Costa Rica is "dirt cheap," but unfortunately our food and beverage costs compare with similar resort destinations in the U.S. and Caribbean, and our prices are actually more favorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

So here it goes. Location great as it is located in a very private-remote beach. The hotel itself is in need of a bit of updating. The rooms were average; the bathroom clean but terrible water pressure! The towel situation NEEDS to be addressed. Bot in-room and pool they are a bit worn down. Internet is hot or miss but not a big deal since we were there to relax. Food - good for the most part. The staff over all good. Edwin our young bartender was AWESOME! Manolo as well! My wife did have an incident with one of the pool-side bartenders cannot remember his name, where she try to order a few "Happy-Hour" drinks (2 for 1) and since it was 5min until cut-off he was basically rude. Come on now! You should be giving drinks away since this is how you make most of your money and not giving people attitudes! Over all a good experience but not sure if I would stay there again. The best part "Playa-Vida" the on-site activity company for your tour needs. We did the ATV and great staff!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room#1321 - good ocean view and you can hear the waves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49er67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
It is always good to get customer feedback even when it is not as positive as we would hope. Thank you for choosing our hotel, we regret that you were not extremely impressed. Every year we stock up on brand new towels and linens, so while I am surprised that you found towels to be a problem I promise to look into that. We are also giving special instructions to our bartenders to be a little more flexible about our happy hour promotions and always give our guests the chance for a "last call." We are happy that you enjoyed Playa Vida's offerings of ATV Tours and water sports, we will pass along the word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed here as a part of a three destination package tour to Costa Rica. I am more accustomed to backpacking and this hotel wowed me with it's design and location. I spent a lot of time swimming in the pool and relaxing in the courtyard. I also started off every morning by walking to the beach a 100 ft away which was always almost empty. The sand and the water were beautiful. The number one perk of this hotel to me was its secluded location. I drove to the nearby village for lunches and dinners and found that to be a good value as well as a good way to introduce a little variety to my routine. This resort would be a great place for a 3-4 day holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review of your stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. We agree that we have the privilege of being located on one of the most beautiful beaches in all of Costa Rica. When the tide is low, it is also the most perfect beach I have ever been on for walking. You also noted that there are several restaurant options in the local area, which we consider another important perk for our property, where we offer flexible meal plans and not just an all-inclusive. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massey, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and went here late June 2011 for our honeymoon. Words can not describe how amazing this resort is. Yes the pool is a little small BUT with the ocean just a few feet away. Making the pool this not an issue. The food was phenomenal and the service was perfection. My husband and I don't go to the same place twice. We wanedt to try somewhere new every time. But After being here we only want to come back over and over. We really wanted to return here last year but we just had our son, so going on a vacation was not possible. But this October we are going back and we can not wait. The rooms are beautiful, clean and comfy. We always bring out own pillows when we go away, but here leave the pillows at home cause these beds are like sleeping on clouds!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby-Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are so pleased that after spending your honeymoon with us two years ago, you will be coming back again this year! You've set a high bar for us with your lovely comments, but we promise to try to top it with another unforgettable experience. Pura Vida, looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel was fabulous! We had reserved an ocean view room with a king size bed. When we checked in, even though the hotel was nearly empty, they upgraded us to the honeymoon suite with all inclusive privileges! It was our 25th wedding anniversary, and we used a local travel agent named Jamie from Greenstone Travel, and I think that played a huge part! They spoiled us rotten in every way! The pool and beach are incredible, the prettiest sunsets in Costa Rica. We also went scuba diving and snorkeling using the hotel concierge, and both were just wonderful. The local Costa Ricans who accompanied us had as much fun as we did, and they made snorkeling just fantastic! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you so much for choosing the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa for celebrating your 25th wedding anniversary. We celebrated our own 25th anniversary there two years ago and it was unforgettable! We love a chance to "spoil our guests rotten," thank you for the wonderful opportunity and glad we didn't disappoint. Aren't the sunsets just the best?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Juan Carlos dud a phenomenal job organizing or wedding here. It's not too crowded and the beaches are beautiful. The salon and spa are also fantastic. The staff is professional and do everything to make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so glad your wedding was all you had hoped it would be. Our very hard-working staff members do try to go all out for all of our guests, but we do have a special soft spot for our brides and grooms! Thank you so much for the privilege of letting us become part of your family memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
16.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,513 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,176 reviews
13.9 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Playa Flamingo | Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 50304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located on one of Costa Rica's most famous blue-flag, ecologically protected beaches, this resort location is the perfect beachfront base from which to explore all of Costa Rica’s natural beauty and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing