We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice beach - good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We recently stayed 4 nights at this hotel. The hotel was nice and had all of the amenities that you could want. The pool was nice but the beach was amazing. The hotel sits right on the beach so you only need to walk a few steps and you're on the beach. The hotel also provides lounge chairs for its guests so it was nice to sit on the beach instead of by the pool (much cooler too with the breeze!). They also had a small casino with about 30 or so slot machines and a family center with ping pong, fooseball, and tv's. Breakfast was included each day and was good. We ate dinner at the hotel one night and it was also very good. The only reason why I gave the hotel four instead of five is because the night life is lacking. We went into Tamarindo most nights to have dinner and shop so if you are looking for something to do at night, this hotel may be a little remote for you. It was a 20-30 minute drive to Tamarindo, we had a rental car but if you don't, the taxi ride can cost you $30 one way which can get expensive. Overall though, we had a great time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool or beach view not one facing the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 996 of 2,134 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

My family (me, husband, and two children, ages 9 and 2) stayed at the Flamingo Resort for three days and had a very relaxing seaside vacation. The resort is small and charming, perfect for a family with kids.

The pool: The pool area is very nice, not too big and not too small. I love the ledges where you can sit half submerged. And, I loved the covered kids pool that was connected to the adult pool because my children could safely play right next to me and out of the sun. There is a small plastic playground right next to the kids pool, too, so that entertained the kids when they tired of the water. The swim-up bar looked fun, but with two small kids it was just a pipe-dream....hahahaha. They had filtered water next to the pool where you could help yourself.

The beach: The beach was lovely, close to the pool (across a small road) and had plenty of trees for shade. The hotel provided some lounge chairs, too, so we spent the better part of each morning lounging in the sand and building castles. The sand is fairly grainy and dark, so be prepared to dig dirty sand out of your swimsuit at the end of the day. The water is rough (it always is on the Pacific side), so there is not much swimming. We did, however, enjoy dipping our feet and watching the stingrays. Sunsets are amazing! And, definitely treat yourself to a massage on the beach. It is worth every penny.

Food: The food is average and a bit expensive. Overcooked chicken fingers and fries will cost you @ $15 poolside (after tax and tip). Nachos with fake cheese sauce are about the same. Needless to say, we only ordered poolside once. Breakfast is a bit better. Ours was included and featured yogurt, fruit, baked goods, eggs, beans, rice, juice, etc. There was enough variety to keep us happy for a few days. Drinks at the pool are 2-1 at happy hour, so it was a nice way to welcome the sunset. Our kids enjoyed their virgin dirty monkeys.

Service. I think the people were the friendliest of any resort I've visited. Everyone was genuinely polite. Service was fast and friendly. You could charge everything to your room so you didn't have to carry money, except for tips.

Rooms: The rooms were OK. Tile floors, two beds, TV...nothing special. There was a fridge but it was only unlocked on the final day and contained VERY pricey snacks. The bathtub was a bit odd (it was elevated and seemed unsupported) and there was no water pressure to wash away the sand. We had a first floor room that faced the pool, but it was somewhat below ground and surrounded by bushes so it was always dark and dank. There was also a very dirty runoff grate that ran next to our patio, so our outside area always swampy and full of garbage and leaves. I regret not asking to change to a room on a higher floor and would highly recommend NOT staying on the ground floor.

Activities: There were none. If you are easily bored, this is not the place for you. They posted an activities board that said they had Bingo and SCUBA (and things like that) but both times we showed up to "play," no one was there to lead the activity. My kids were a bit disappointed, but soon forgot their troubles when we headed back to the pool. There is a pool table in the main foyer and a family center (with two pool tables, a foosball table, etc.), so you can always entertain yourself that way.

Town: There are a couple little shops/restaurants within walking distance so we ventured out to the supermarket for some ice cream and to Marie's for lunch. Both were overpriced and underwhelming but at least we had options. I know many folks ventured by car into nearby (and less expensive) towns for dinner but we didn't feel like driving after a long day in the sun. We were not there for a culinary experience or nightlife, so the lack of amenities didn't bother us.

What I loved: The kids pool with its thatched roof, the main pool with its ledges, and the shade trees on the beach.

What I would change: I wouldn't stay on the first floor again. It was dark and dank. A few more activities would be nice (or at least commit to the advertised activities). I would definitely stock up on snacks and drinks before I hit the resort so that we had didn't have to take out a second mortgage for food;).

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoEasyPeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

There are so many good things to say about this resort that I'm not sure what to start with. We like to stay at all-inclusive resorts when we visit somewhere for the first time and this hotel definitely is one of our favorites. Unlike many all-inclusive resorts that only serve a buffet, at the Flamingo all-inclusive guests can order from a menu or choose the buffet. The food was excellent and they had plenty of variety. For people who like to try different restaurants while on vacation, there are two restaurants located just a short walk away.

The hotel is small enough to feel intimate, but large enough to provide all the amenities. The rooms were clean and up to date. Most rooms with a pool view also have at least a partial view of the ocean. We never had a problem finding a chair by the pool, but if you want a chair in the shade get there early. Of course the swim up bar is almost always shaded so no worries if you can't get your hands on a shady chair. The beach is right outside the hotel, and you can get a beach chair from the hotel so you don't have to lay in the sand.

One of the best things about the Flamingo would have to be the staff. We were always greeted by smiling faces, and everyone was always friendly and helpful. While the same can be said for everyone that we met in Costa Rica it was especially true of the hotel staff.

There is only one bad thing that I can say about the hotel, and that only affects the scuba crowd. The hotel website says they offer an "on-site dive center" that is misleading at best. Diving can be booked through the hotel tour desk, but the dive operator is not on-site. This means that you can't ask specific questions about the diving or the dive operation. There is also no storage for dive gear like you would expect with an on-site dive center. The dive operator will pick you up in the morning and drive you to the dive boat though, so there is no need to book separate transportation to get to the boat.

That gripe aside, We had a fantastic experience at the hotel. If you are considering a trip to Costa Rica I would definitely recommend the Flamingo Resort.

One last piece of advise: When you leave Costa Rica there is an exit tax. This is not paid at the airline counter. There is a separate desk that just handles the tax. If you go to that desk and pay the tax on the day you arrive then you can avoid the long line on your departure day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiveLog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Overall we had a good experience at the Flamino Beach Resort and Spa. The staff was friendly and helpful...finding us a room to check-in to early (that had recently been rennovated), providing a second room to use across the hall when our air conditioner malfuntioned (sounded an alarm every 20 minutes). We didn't want to switch rooms because none of the available rooms had been rennovated and were not as nice as our original room -- so they let us leave our stuff in the original room, sleep in another room across the hall until our AC could be fixed the next day.

The room was reasonably quiet and the beds reasonably comfortable (especially in comparison to Mexican hard beds!)

Our package included a free breakfast buffet daily that we enjoyed. There was sufficient variety of food and changes day to day to keep it interesting. We especially enjoyed the fresh jucies (e.g., beet root, carrot/orange) and fresh fruit. They also do omeletes to order and had a large variety of local breads and pastries.

We took advantage of the resort activities (e.g., aqua aerobics, yoga, massage class) and enjoyed that -- although the leader of those activities (Lulu) is very directive! She is there to make sure you work hard and do things "right!" The resort is small enough...and although at fairly full capacity during our stay...the demand for the activities is low enough that we either had personal attention or were in very small groups for the activities.

To stay connected the hotel offers free wifi in every room -- but ours didn't work until the morning we were leaving. That wasn't a huge inconvenience because the wifi was accessible in the lobby and the resturant. They also offer limited free access to personal computers if you want to travel without your laptop, tablet or smart phone. The connection is reasonably fast.

The beach is literally adjacent to the hotel. There were never more than a handful of people on the mile long beach. This beach is clean, has a nice sandy bottom and is very swimable -- although you are best off going just a little south (to the left as you hit the beach) before swimming. Immediately across from the hotel there are some large rocks on the sea floor that you wouldn't want to smack into in the surf.

We didn't eat lunch or dinner at the resort, and found the meal choices in town expensive and somewhat limited. The food at Marie's (just across and up the street from the hotel) was very good and nicely presented, but we thought over-priced. (The price on the menu doesn't include the mandatory tax and tip, so what seems like "a lot" ends up being really a lot!) Our best and most memorable meals were taken at the local "Soda's." In particular we enjoyed "La Choza de los Antujitos" -- along the east side of the road just north of Brasilito. There is another Soda on the right as you come into Huachas from the north (across the street from the large grocery store and next to a used clothing store) that is really good...busy with local businessmen and truck drivers delivering goods to the coast). It had free wi-fi too! But to tell you the truth we didn't have a bad experience with an Soda we ate at -- clean, realtively inexpensive, and tasty. The service at some can be slow (everything is made to order and they seem to wait for you to ask for your bill in most places).

Although we aren't likely to go back to Costa Rica, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this resort again. (Note: it's about a 5 hour drive to the airport in San Jose and less than 2 hours to the airport west of Liberia.)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UTHogboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Walking up the front stairs and seeing the sunset right through the lobby and across to the beach was a fabulous first impression. Our room was on the second floor and was considered a suite which we needed due to having four people. It was a nice room and the beds are extremely comfortable. You should know all suites face the parking lot. It is a long way to travel to face the parking lot so thank goodness you don't spend much time in the room. If you do not need so much room space I would suggest a room that has a balcony and faces the pool. The pool is lovely with lounge chairs you can actually put in the water. The in pool bar is wonderful and the pool bar manager and his staff are very attentive and make a great Crazy Monkey. The beach is awesome particularly at sunset. The only issue we had was the concierge who had no idea that the water sports rentals are not opened on Sundays and when I asked her about getting to a river boat cruise she said oh you will never find it on your own. We did! If you are looking to rent jet skis make sure you make reservations to avoid the disappointment when they are booked. Our boys loved this hotel and so did we. It is relaxing, beautiful and very clean. The staff other than the concierge were very friendly and helpful. The sunset is beautiful and lounge chairs can be brought out to the beach for you. We were just there last week and the beach was empty. There are trees there so you can lounge in the shade. It was a wonderful place to come back to after a long day of hiking. Enjoy it is worthwhile to go here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucky1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spent 4 nights here after being up in the Arenal Volcano area. Very relaxing resort. We had a great breakfast everyday and then headed to the beach only steps from the resort. They provide towels and chairs to hotel guests. There are trees to sit under if you need shade. Also you can rent an umbrella if you want from the hotel. The ocean was heaven....85 degrees. At about 2pm the tide would come up and we would go to the pool for a few hours before showering. We ate dinner one night at the resort and it was great. We had a rental car so we drove to Tamarindo each night for dinner. Its about a 20 min drive. I was told it costs $30 each way to Tamarindo in Taxi, quite pricey! We would come back to hotel and play cards at night. My only complaint is there was no night life...The game room(pool tables, ping pong,etc) would close at 9:30. There is a bar that closes at 10. And then a very very small casino that has a bar that is open til 2am. So It was very quiet at night. We were in bed by 10! I felt bad for anyone who might like to stay up and be social. Over all was awesome and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisalu32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Flamingo Beach resort on March 12th – 19th and we are so happy that we choose this hotel. The hotel is perfectly situated right across from the beach and you have a choice to relax by the beach or by the pool and just hang by the pool-bar and drink some great coco locos or piña coladas. I have to say that we had the most wonderful experience at the Flamingo Beach resort. The staff is by far the best. We received excellent service from everyone. We had a pool-view room and the bed was absolutely heavenly…like sleeping on clouds. The resort grounds are beautiful you are surrounded with lush gardens and palm trees and beautiful wildlife (different species of birds) and cool iguanas…one we nicknamed Ralph! My boyfriend decided to surprise me for my birthday on Saturday and Oscar was so wonderful in coordinating everything to make my birthday special, from ordering a beautiful flower arrangement, to coordinating a romantic dinner on the beach while watching an amazing sunset. Oscar coordinated all the arrangements and was so humble in advising that everyone in the staff assisted with planning this special dinner for us from setting the table arrangements, to the chef planning a delicious three-course dinner. I have to say that the personalized service that Oscar provided was as excellent as a high-end restaurant in New York. Oscar was very attentive to details and provided exceptional service to us, advising the menu choices and ensuring that our romantic dining experience would be memorable. We met wonderful staff members, Lulu who was spunky and energetic and would handle the recreational activities from water aerobics to yoga; Wilmar, Edwin and Manolo the best bartenders who always provided excellent service with a smile and made wonderful drinks; Orlando, Jorge, Carlos and Erica who would greet us in the morning at the Arenas restaurant and provide exceptional service; Marianne at the front desk, a wonderful young lady who was very helpful. The Flamingo Beach resort caters to families, couples and different age groups. If you are not looking for nightlife and prefer to get away from the fast lane and want to relax and see the most spectacular sunsets then I would highly recommend the Flamingo Beach resort. The resort is right near the beach that is very beautiful and only steps away from the resort. We met kind and wonderful people at this resort and had a great time during our vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maribel316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
16.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,620 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,500 reviews
11.2 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,455 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa

Address: Playa Flamingo Santa Cruz | Guanacaste, Playa Flamingo 50308, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range: $107 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once you've experienced a Pacific Ocean sunset from the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, you may never want to leave. Located in the vacation province of Guancaste, you’ll be perfectly-positioned to explore Costa Rica's natural beauty and limitless adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing