We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome! Terrific! Service Superb!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Plover, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome! Terrific! Service Superb!!!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We Stayed at the resort for 3 days March 3-5 2013! The resort is beautiful and clean but there's way more to it then that. The service is over the top. We had the privilege of meeting EDWIN BARTENDER super pleasant and friendly. The person that should really be recognized is OSCAR the Bar Manager, he should be promoted to be the hotel general manager, he will do whatever is needed to make your stay pleasant. His bartenders are well trained, polite, knowledgeable. OSCAR will help you with anything you need no matter how busy he is, truly a pleasure to be around. I would really like to have him be my manager for my business in the U.S. Would definitely stay again if the chance becomes available, we stayed there for our 16yr. anniversary. Please let Oscar how great he is!! Troy&Heidi

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TroyL654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    728
    243
    81
    46
See reviews for
673
832
57
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This resort is in a perfect location. We just spent 8 days there and enjoyed every minute of it. Playa Flamingo is beautiful and not very crowded. It really is only a few steps off of resort property. We logged a lot of time lounging by the pool, then to the beach, and back again. I traveled with my husband and two preteen boys. Having the beach so close was nice. We’d usually pick our spot at the pool and use that as a central location. They might choose to go boogie board while I relaxed at the pool, but we were still very close to one another. The pool has a nice swim up bar and good drinks. I will have say that it was very busy though and the only two bartenders were working much too hard. They could have used an extra set of hands that could have helped with expediting orders and consistency of drinks.
Our room was nice and clean and gave us enough room to spread out. Outside the bathroom was an open closet that gave us plenty of room for suitcases and to hang up towels and swimming suits. A lot of times hotel rooms can feel very crowded with the four of us, but this room seemed to have the right amount of space. I highly recommend that you request a room on the second or third floor that overlooks the pool. It was a really nice view especially at night when the pool was lit up. It also gave us somewhat of a view of the ocean.
We chose to get the breakfast option and that worked well for us. They serve between 6:30-10:30 which are very convenient hours. The breakfast is fairly standard with a few local touches thrown in. Every morning they have rice and beans, fresh fruit, fruit juices, scrambled eggs, cereals, and a variety of freshly made doughnuts. They change it up daily with the additions of an omelet bar, pancakes, fried plantains, or hash browns. The coffee is very good and I guess cappuccinos are available. I didn’t know you could order espresso drinks until my fourth day there. I tried to order an iced latte on my first day there in the afternoon and was told they didn’t have them. I’m glad we didn’t pick the all-inclusive plan, because we were very disappointed in the quality of their lunches and dinner. It is best to take a very short walk to the Coco Loco, Maries, or Angelina’s for you other meals. We went to a little store and picked up bread and sandwich stuff for much cheaper and better lunches.
The workout room is okay, but be sure to ask for them to turn on the air. The family rec room was a fun touch. My kids loved playing ping pong, pool, or foos ball. The attendants there were some of the nicest people we encountered. They also have little ice cream treats that kids could charge to the room. We never ended up watching the movies they offered in the little theater, but it was a fun option.
Though the temptation to stay by the water all day is quite strong, I recommend that you take part in one of the tours the resort offers or the very convenient rental car service right there at the resort. We chose the river tour that took us to see crocodiles, bats, monkeys, and even a white nosed coati. Our guide was fantastic. We rented a car right from the front desk for two days of sightseeing. We visited some nearby beaches and the Rincon Volcano Area. It was great to get out and explore. One of our best experiences besides the amazing hike at Rincon was visiting Avellanas Beach and popping into to Lola’s for a beachside drink. Lola’s restaurant is one of a kind and you can even pet a very pampered pig named Lolita.
The resort also has photographers that walk around snapping pictures. They are very friendly and professional. They will also give you a more personalized photo shoot that you aren’t obligated to buy. We were happy with the quality of the photos, but do note that they only accept cash. It is also best not to wait until the last day to look over and choose your digital prints.
You really don’t have to exchange your American currency. Almost every location accepts American cash and or credit cards. Be sure to have tip money for the breakfast buffet servers and bar tenders. There is a 10% gratuity charge at all Costa Rican restaurants and on the food you charge to your room. If you feel that they gave give service you can tip extra to make it more of a standard 15% or 20% tip.
We chose to take a taxi to the resort and then hired transpiration through the resort for our trip back to the Liberia, Airport. Our driver to the airport was named Walter and Ihe was great. Using the hotel transportation was also cheaper, cleaner, and nicer than our taxi ride. When you leave the country of Costa Rica you need to pay a $28.00 departure tax at the airport. It is best to pay cash, because if you use your credit card it is charged as a cash advance with extra fees.

Room Tip: Request a room on third or second floor with a balcony that overlooks the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this resort. The room was not beach or pool front, but huge, comfortable, clean and quiet. The beach was very nice, but the pool was even better. Food was pricey, but good. Lots of other good places to eat & drive to. We loved this place & will go back again. It was a relaxing vacation pkg. w/car and priced well.

Room Tip: The large rooms that back to the parking lot are wonderful. No, you don't look at pretty things...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle River, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I and our two young teenagers stayed here for the first two weeks of March. You cannot beat the location of the resort. It is on the most beautiful beach clean white beach with great waves to play in. Within walking distance you have a small mini mart and four restaurants. All restaurants will come pick you up and bring you back to the resort for free.
The resort is not new but they do a great job of keeping it up. All the common areas are top notch, the only minor complaint I have was out bathroom could use some updating. The staff is always smiling and in a great mood, something you don't see much of these days.
Ask for a room on the second or third floor with a pool view and you won't be disappointed. Great place do not hesitate to book.

Room Tip: Any room that starts with 22 is in building #2 on the second floor. Rooms that end in odd numbers fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We went to Liberia with friends and family to stay at a private residence and get down. It turned out to be a nightmare. We left and walked into the resort planning to stay for night and relax. We stayed 3. I thouroughly enjoyed walking on flamingo beech which has a few bars on it where we can grab a drink or a snack. The beech was semi private with no vendors like at other major resorts. The resort was quaint but not small. We spent most of our time in the pool swimming to and fro the bar. We had a poolside room which i always try to do so we can grab a drink early. The bar allowed yyou to eat right there to. They would bring anything from wings to chiviche poolside. Food was great.

Room Tip: Poolside is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _77TravelingMan77_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at Flamingo Beach Resort during Easter week and had such a wonderful time! The entire staff is very friendly, always smiling, and attentive. The pool is relaxing and has a swim up bar with amazing drinks as well as two shallow water areas with lounge chairs. The massage from the Serenity Spa was extremely rejuvenating after spending the day on the beach, and definitely one of the best massages I’ve had. We had the all-inclusive package and the food was delicious. The resort is located on a breathtaking beach where we viewed stunning sunsets every evening. We will absolutely be back to this beautiful resort!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannahD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great property! We were upgraded to a beachfrom suite. Right on the beach, pool is great as is the pool bar. Food was also very good. If you can, try to have the conceirge, Flori, set you up with a surf lesson with Pablo from Sea Star. He will take you to Tamarindo for a lesson. Its awesome!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newwavegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
16.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,513 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,176 reviews
13.9 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Playa Flamingo | Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 50304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located on one of Costa Rica's most famous blue-flag, ecologically protected beaches, this resort location is the perfect beachfront base from which to explore all of Costa Rica’s natural beauty and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing