We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
NY
2 reviews
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wife and I stayed here for first 3 days of honeymoon, and we loved it. Initially, we were given a room on the bottom floor with a view to the parking lot. We asked to switch rooms, and within 15 minutes, we were in our new room's balcony looking over the pool, and hearing the waves of the ocean- it was fantastic. Liked the fact that the beach was steps away. All in all, it was a great experience, and I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Initially, we were given a room on the bottom floor with a view to the parking lot. Room was big an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Congratulations on your recent nuptials and thank you so much for entrusting us with your honeymoon stay. We deeply regret that the first room you were assigned did not meet your expectations and we are very grateful to our staff for working things out so quickly to satisfy your needs with a poolview room. We wish you a long, healthy and happy life together; thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    728
    243
    81
    46
See reviews for
673
832
57
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just arrived home after being married on March 9th on the Beach at Flamingo Beach Resort. This was our second trip to Costa Rica, now we have seen almost the entire Country. Flamingo Beach Resort was just perfect in every way. At first we were somewhat apprehensive about getting married at a resort , but Flamingo was better than we could have imagined. The staff is extremely friendly and attentive. The bartenders Wilmar and Edwin kept the drinks just the way we wanted. Our Wedding Planner, Juan Carlos did a magnificent job keeping everything together. I am convinced that there is no resort with better food anywhere in Costa Rica. We had 50 people at our wedding in total from Tennessee and the Boston area, there was not a single complaint from anyone. Can not recommend this place enough. Walk up the hill to Mar Y Sol if you want an amazing view. Worth every penny, try the horseback tour out of Brasalito - amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Congratulations on your marriage! You have our sincerest, most heartfelt thanks for giving us the privilege to host your special and sacred day. As we often say, we cannot be more honored than to become a part of our guests' memories during such a special occasion. Weddings are far and away the happiest, most fulfilling thing we do as resort owners and management. We are pleased and grateful that you, your wife and the many family and friends who joined you from as far away as Tennessee and Boston were satisfied and happy. Thank you for all the kind words about our staff members and, of course, thank you so very much for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. Please let us know when you can come back and share an anniversary with us some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

First time stay at this Hotel but third in row time to CR. The staff tries real hard to be freindly but seem to be coached from inside when asked questions. The FBR is a older hotel and clean with some updates. There is a public road between Hotel & Beach that gets very busy sometimes.
This is our 21st trip and sometimes rules change.
by that includes everthing. You pay extra on any items in refrigator, snacks in room, steaks in dining restaurant and other foods marked with an asterisk * on menu. Top-shelf Liquors all require additional fees. You are asked for your room number each time even though you have the all inclusive wristband on. We started out with the Breakfast plan and later switched to All-Inclusive plan and like one other reviewer said, the service gets better. We also questioned why we pay for both plans.

All in all the FBR is safe, clean, freindly. The hotel Concierge Christy is exceptionally helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 430trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We deeply regret that your expectations were not met regarding the all-inclusive plan at our resort. We are a small family property, NOT a mega-all-inclusive-resort like you may have been used to in the past. We are a full-service resort with an "all-inclusive food and beverage plan" for which the rules are very well-spelled out at check-in -and should have been clarified for you ahead of time by your travel agent. We regret if that didn't happen. Unlike the large resorts that are exclusively "all-inclusive," we offer flexibility and encourage our guests to sample the restaurants and bars in our community rather than spend the whole time on property. However, since a large portion of our clientele enjoys the ease and tranquility of knowing upfront what the cost will be for their meals and drinks, we offer an all-inclusive package as well. Because we are a hybrid--which is really quite unusual--we have a little more paperwork to do to keep control. However, there should absolutely be no difference in service based on which wristband you carry and which plan you are on; we will discuss this complaint with our staff and correct it immediately. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

wow...where do I start?
We stayed at the resort from Feb 23rd to March 2nd …Four 30 year old girls (my daughter and three friends) from Canada and myself and husband (50 something) from the USA
Rooms.. the rooms are VERY clean and comfortable (the beds are so comfy) we had an ocean view room, every morning sitting out on the balcony drinking my coffee listening to the waves ...this was heaven!!!! There is a safe in all rooms. One of the best sleeps I have had on vacation “clean and comfortable!”
Location:.. the hotel is in a good location it has restaurants within walking distance and only 20-25 min into the town of Tamarindo for some night life.
We left the resort for a couple days to go to the Arenal Volcano for a night and Jaco for another night to meet up with family that live in Jaco and San Jose... We also rented a SUV for the week to do our traveling the resort has parking ..
Employees...the employees are so nice and friendly we just loved the bartender at the pool bar, sorry wish I had gotten his name but he had the best scenes of humor.
Food. . The food was fantastic as was the drinks. My daughter is a picky eater and she LOVED the food. We all loved the food…
So if you are considering to stay here don't hesitate this place is really nice... they really need to change the main picture of this resort, as it does not show how beautiful the resort really is. Definitely PRIDE OF OWNERSHIP at the Flamingo Beach Resort…would I stay here again…hands down YES !!!!!
This is not a complaint but a suggestion...ashtrays (or a bucket with sand) on the outside of the walls of the resort going to the beach where the guard stands and more entertainment in the evenings.
Thank you to all the staff from bartenders, cleaning staff and fantastic cooks for making our Family Vacation a memorable one!!!! This truly is Pura Vida ……………….. the Voss’s

Room Tip: It depends on what you want, we had two different rooms that suited each of our needs. Four girls st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pattileah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Reviews like yours just make our day, we cannot thank you enough for your upbeat and positive comments! We definitely do have pride of ownership at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, and we appreciate the acknowledgement. While we know we cannot and do not always please everyone, we have so much faith in our wonderful staff and know that they really do try their very best to please and provide excellent guest service. For our part, we reinvest mucho dinero every year in keeping the hotel updated and well-maintained. As an older property--and one that's right on the beach in a hot, tropical, humid climate-- this can be very challenging indeed. For that reason we are especially grateful for your kind words. We also appreciate your suggestions and will do our best to implement them. Pura vida, please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here February 2013 for one week all inclusive. My husband and I and 3 kids- 13, 10 & 5. Very nice resort. Clean rooms, pool area and restaurant. Super friendly staff especially to our kids. Fantastic food and something new every day. Not a party place which was exactly what we wanted to avoid. Small resort so we felt like we knew a lot of the other guests. Various ages of people. Beautiful beach just steps away. Located in a nice area - lots to see when we went for evening walks. We would definately return.

Room Tip: We booked the Suite so we had extra room being there was 5 of us. It had a little kitchenette in it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thanks for choosing the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa as your destination for a Costa Rica famiy vacation. We appreciate your kind feedback and thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. Most of all, we are pleased that you would consider returning to our hotel in the future...we very much look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I am sincerely considering having my wedding at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. How far away is it from downtown Tamarindo or an area with a more active night life? I was in Tamarindo two weeks ago and loved it. I have heard great things about the resort, but I do want the balance of an awesome resort with the option to go out and about and experience other night life.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelB2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa is 20 to 30 minutes by car from Playa Tamarindo. A cab ride from the resort to Tamarindo costs $25.00; however, if there was a large group going back and forth, a shuttle van could be contracted at a lesser per person cost. Although relatively close in distance, Playa Tamarindo and Playa Flamingo simply have different vibes. Tamarindo is more of a surf & party destination, Flamingo is a little quieter and more upscale. There is nightlife all around in the Flamingo/Potrero/Brasilito area, but it is not a lot of bars clustered together as in Tamarindo. Also, in Tamarindo the beach is more crowded so you wouldn't have it exclusively all to yourselves and your wedding group as you might have at the Flamingo Beach Resort. Our resort is lovely and 99.9% of the brides and grooms and their family and friends that we've hosted have had great experiences with us. We'd love to have you join that happy group, but it's truly your own decision. We wish the best of luck whatever you decide!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Resort was lovely....staff so accommodating...food plentiful and tasty. Drinks very good! The Spa was wonderful; 1st class!! We had the 'all exclusive' and it was definitely worth it. So relaxing! My son's wedding was held here and it could not have been any better...
The venue on the beach, flowers, food, music was awesome!
The only thing I wish was different is the shower and that might just be something that can't be fixed... The water pressure was not strong.
I would definitely recommend this resort and I would come back again for a relaxing stay

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rharv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We truly appreciate your wonderful comments and are so glad that your Son's wedding was what everything you had hoped for. As I've said previously in this forum, weddings are our absolute favorite thing and we feel so privileged to have become a part of your family's memories! We definitely hope you come back and see us, and promise to keep working on that vexing water pressure issue. We are planning a major bathroom renovation for later this year which will address this problem as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
16.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,513 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,176 reviews
13.9 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Playa Flamingo | Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 50304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located on one of Costa Rica's most famous blue-flag, ecologically protected beaches, this resort location is the perfect beachfront base from which to explore all of Costa Rica’s natural beauty and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing