We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Typical resort”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

As expected from a resort there was absolute no local influences. The location and service was great. If you are looking for a resort where you don't need to see anything of the local life, then this is great. I prefer more local life, but even without that it was a very nice place. Location is far from any local villages and restaurants, but there are a few tourist places around the corner.
Clean and VERY good service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank qrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We appreciate your sharing your mostly favorable review on TripAdvisor, but we are puzzled about your remarks. We have so many local influences at our property, much more than many other resorts in our area (especially among the chain hotels)!! Our family ownership is one-half Costa Rican, born and raised. Every Friday, our employees enjoy wearing the traditional costumes of our Guanacaste region, and when the work flow allows, they perform traditional Costa Rican dances for our guests. Our rooms all feature original art work from a local Costa Rican artist; our bedspreads and curtains are locally made. Our groundfloor rooms feature handwoven hammocks from local artisans. Our activities director, Lulu, offers salsa lessons, Spanish classes, and local area nature walks. Our "RinconVerde" or "green corner" provides books and info about the nearby flora and fauna. Our menu features many Costa Rican specialties. Finally, there are many locally owned restaurants and other businesses within walking distance of our resort! We pride ourselves on the fact that a stay at our resort provides MUCH more local "immersion" than most hotels in the area. Oh well, hopefully you were too busy having fun to notice!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    737
    243
    82
    46
See reviews for
695
842
58
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with friends who had visited before. I've had bad resort experiences before but the Flamingo laid my fears to rest. Rather small resort, lots of older couples and families with small children. Excellent location if you want to walk to other restaurants, drug store, etc. The pool was nicely designed, you could swim laps at one end and drink with friends at the other. There's a separate pool for the kids. The pool area was pretty quiet (hooray!), only playing music for certain activities. All the staff were very helpful and the desk staff remembered my friends from 2 years before. The breakfast plan was a good value, fresh fruit every day and really good scrambled eggs, omelets made to order and usually a local dish as well (tamales one day). Dinner was good too, well-prepared and again a good value when you're tired of spending big bucks at some of the nearby restaurants. The rooms were basic but clean and well-kept. Our ground-floor room had no exhaust fan in the bathroom and we obviously had no balcony either, so our swim suits never dried out. But this is my only complaint.

Room Tip: Make sure your bathroom has a fan...or choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chocrevell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We appreciate your highly positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa; we are so glad you enjoyed your vacation with us. Your comments about the bathroom are well-taken and we want you to know that we are embarking on a full bathroom renovation this year. We're also pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant, it's another thing we are working very hard on this year: to improve food quality and service and to provide, as you mentioned, good value to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I just returned from a 9 day trip to Costa Rica, the last 4 of which were spent at the Flamingo Beach Resort.

We loved our time here, and slipped into a state of extreme relaxation, after 5 days of adventure on the earlier parts of our trip.

Upon arriving, we were given a welcome drink, and found out we had been upgraded to a better room. We had arranged for 2 of our 4 days to be all inclusive, but upon checking in, were told that we were all-inclusive for our entire stay. Owell, fine w/ us!

We spent the next few days alternating back and forth between the beach (which is 10 steps away across the street) and the pool. We loved the staff - most were very engaging and friendly, and genuinely seemed to enjoy the work they were doing. That was helpful - as first time all-inclusive travelers, we were worried about asking for too much, but everyone was very helpful, and made us feel welcome.

The beach is beautiful. Its not private, but that added to the charm for us - letting us hang out with locals on the beach during sunsets, etc. The beach is about a mile long - perfect for sunset walks.

The pool bar is great - tasty drinks (Dirty Monkey, Green Monster), great atmosphere.

The food was fine - our favorite was actually just the snacks that were served at the pool bar and the Sunset bar. The dinner buffets were fine - plenty of food, none of it bad, but none of it really outstanding. The breakfasts were great - i loved starting each day with coffee, fresh fruit and gallo pinto!

We rented boogie boards, played tennis and ping pong, 'donated' a little cash to the on-site casino and just generally enjoyed the resort. The only thing missing in our eyes was a hot tub - we were a little surprised the resort didn't have one.

There are lots of tours available. We took one to Palo Verde to see animals and it was great. Overall, though, our stay was about relaxation, and Flamingo offered plenty of that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brett J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much, your positive review is music to our ears! Thank you for sharing your nice comments on TripAdvisor, we are so happy that you and your girlfriend enjoyed a relaxing and enjoyable time at our Resort. We are working hard on tweaking our menu and training our chefs to take our food offerings from just "fine" to outstanding; we have set that as an important goal to achieve this year and we greatly appreciate your feedback. By the way, we do have two hot tubs indoors in the Serenity Spa, and plans for an outdoor hot tub have been drawn up and put on our "wish list' as soon as we make a few other upgrades to the room product this year (bathroom renovations). Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We arrived at the Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa late at night. We were impressed with the security and helpful front desk staff. Our room overlooked the pool, which,even when a girls US soccer team visited, was not noisy! The room was adequate, highlights included the extremely comfortable beds, and I mean comfortable! The balcony was nice and the curtains made the room totally dark if you wanted to sleep in. The breakfast was good, not fantastic , but nice to wake up to, it got a little " samey" after 10 days, but the coffee was wonderful.Again the staff were fabulous,

Room Tip: Upper floor pool view rooms have nice views and are not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agentlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We appreciate your comments about your recent stay at our Resort. It is especially gratifying to know that you found your room overlooking the pool to be comfortable and NOT NOISY, because we just invested in changing all the original wood-framed windows and balcony doors to aluminum frames with double-paneled glass, in a modernization with the goals of energy savings and noise reduction. Glad to see the fruits of our efforts in enhanced guest satisfaction, because that is what we strive for each and every day! Also thank you for your very kind words about our wonderful, hard-working staff. We agree that they are "fabulous!" Thank you so much, please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Loved being greeted with a fruity (yet virgin) drink! the staff was wonderful and super friendly! the room was great, clean, and spacious. The pool area was wonderful! If you want a prime spot or one with an umbrella...wake up a little early and throw you towel and magazine on the chairs. Heading to breakfast I would do this, and after I finished and got into my bathing suit...all of the prime spots were taken and or reserved-thankfully I had my spot. bartenders, waiters, waitress are all friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed my aerobics in the pool. very family oriented place-Was on vacation with some girlfriends. Breakfast was amazing! Had fresh fruit and omelette made to order everyday! Wish I could be back at the resort now...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neets007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent vacation at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa! Even though we are a family-oriented resort, as you mentioned, we are a fantastic location for a girlfriend's getaway. The chef can provide low cal meal options upon request and Lulu will keep you in shape with the pool aerobics, yoga and nature walks, not to mention all of the other activities you can do in our area. And of course, our friendly bartenders will keep the your spirits up ad the fun flowing! Pura Vida, come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in a rather spacious room with kitchenete. Location is excellent as it is in front of a beautiful beach, Playa Flamingo. Famous Tamarindo Beach s about 25 minutes drive, which happened to be great for or surf-loving son, and my husband enjoyed playing Gulf at the nearby Westin at Playa Conchal. In despite of been a very big hotel it has only 1 restaurant where the food was average most of the time; it is not worth to invest $75/pp per day in the all-inclusive meal plan, just get breakfast, as there are great restaurants at close walking distance (like Coco Loco).
The hotel would quite improve with some remodeling; the rooms are outdated. The beds/pillows, bathroom, are not at the 4 Star level.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us, we appreciate your feedback. We have actually done extensive renovations during the 12 years that our family has owned the hotel; we have reinvested our cash flow every year in upgrading and maintaining the property. At present we are undertaking a renovation of all 120 bathrooms, this will take place "poco a poco" over the course of the next year. We are glad you enjoyed other meals in the area; we always love recommending local restaurants to our guests as we have so many good ones nearby! Let me point out, however-- especially among folks who enjoy their libations---there are guests who find our all-inclusive food and beverage plan to be a good value and enjoy the serenity of knowing their food and beverage costs up-front. That's why we made the decision to offer an all-inclusive plan, but at the same time to NOT be a fully all-inclusive resort and offer our guests the flexibility of a variety of plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for what was suppose to be 1 night but became 3. We chose this little treasure of a resort because of all the positive reviews on trip advisor. We were extremely impressed with the staff, the rooms, the great food and as mentioned above the beach. Hence all the reasons why we decided to stay a few extra nights. Because of its location we even ventured off 2 of the mornings to check out the towns and beaches of Tamarindo and Playa Coco. (both about 30 mins in opposite directions) And Both of which did not even come close to the beauty of Flamingo beach. If you feel like enjoying a few laid back days on a white pristine beach with clear green blue water this is the spot for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
16.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,541 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,249 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Playa Flamingo | Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 50304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located on one of Costa Rica's most famous blue-flag, ecologically protected beaches, this resort location is the perfect beachfront base from which to explore all of Costa Rica’s natural beauty and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing