We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort!!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We came for our wedding with some family members. We loved this resort. Staff were super nice and we came at a perfect time (16-27 Dec) because the resort wasn't too full of people yet, it was quiet and pleasant and plenty of poolside seating, the beach wasn't overrun with families yet...on the second to last day it started to get much busier so it was a bittersweet good bye! (Not fans of hugely crowded places that is)
Everything the concierge recommended was wonderful.
The breakfast and meals at the hotel (we did breakfast included only option) were great. The pool bar was really handy!! The service on the upstairs bar was a little slow at times, but I think the poor guy was new...
The servers in the downstairs area were great! (I can think of Alex and Rocio and there were two male servers who stood out but now it's crunch time I can't remember their names!)
Augusto at the front desk was wonderful! We had a couple of problems in our room which were fixed promptly (safe battery ran out and fridge stopped working but they were fixed so quickly, you'd never even know!)
Thank you for making our wedding/honeymoon accommodations fabulous!!

Room Tip: Definitely shell out the extra for pool view, you won't be sorry when you're sitting on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aufica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are so grateful for your lovely review and so happy that your wedding/honeymoon trip was a fabulous one. It is our great pleasure to serve you and your guests and we feel blessed to be a part of your fondest memories. Thanks also for the compliments to our wonderful staff members, it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    718
    241
    79
    46
See reviews for
661
820
57
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Travelled in the off season to this quaint hotel located in the Guanacaste province of Costa Rica. The food at the hotel was average. Then again, don't expect Costa Rica is not necessarily known for its food.

We spent most of the time at the beautiful beach. I'd rank the beach a 4 out of 5 with Turks and Caicos (5 of 5) and Maui (4.5 of 5) slightly higher. The hotel was adequate for our needs. Do not keep your windows open to hear the ocean--which you can do because the hotel is right on the ocean--because you will face the onslaught of mosquitos.

Within walking distance of the hotel is a small bar and this is worth the trip for a drink. For those into fishing one can easily obtain a charter for a reasonable cost.

The pool at the hotel is adequate and clean. The restaurants are clean with adequate, sometimes slow, service. The food is generally bland,except the breakfast is good.

Go to this hotel for the beautiful beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Numenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort. As we strive to be much more than "average" we are taking your remarks to heart and working hard to be considered "exceptional." Thanks for your feedback. By the way, mosquitoes are only a problem during the rainy months of August thru early November. In the dry season (Dec. to May) they pretty much disappear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We came to this resort to have our wedding and a family trip all at once. Everyone who came with us to this resort said this was the best trip of their lives and was exactly how they imagined a destination wedding would be. The food and service was outstanding across the board and every day felt like living in paradise.

Juan Carlos (our wedding planner) took care of all the details and made sure we had nothing to worry about. I was truly amazed with the 5-star food, service, decorations, professionalism and friendliness of the staff. Juan Carlos worked with our budget and came up with a wedding that I couldn't have planned better myself – everything was perfect. Our guests had an amazing time and we loved every minute of our special day. Thank you for everything!

Room Tip: Pool view room has everything you'll need for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zhan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Talk about making our day! We are so pleased that your wedding was all you had hoped and dreamed about and that your guests were treated to "the best trip of their lives." On behalf of the owners, management and all the staff, thank you for welcoming us into your lives and allowing us to become part of your memories. Pura Vida! Please come back and see us on an anniversary now and then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Myself and my wife just stayed here... It was truly amazing. The staff was awesome, the food was good(only did breakfast plan), the restaurants near the hotel where awesome. The best thing about this resort is there people. I have to say they are best I have ever dealt with. I have stayed in several resorts in several different countries, and this was the best. Not much to do at night in the hotel, so if you are looking to party, this hotel is not for you, if you want to relax, this resort is for you. The only negative thing is there spa(massage) prices, and there drinks where expensive if you are not in the all-inclusive plan

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chip3473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful words about the staff at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. They are hard-working, kind and humble people who put their heart and soul into their work. We have many employees who have worked at the hotel for many years and they are like family. We truly appreciate the recognition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
138 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel is located in a very beautiful and calm beach in Guanacaste province. The breakfast is good but should have more options of bread as it is too mcuh dedicated to americans and not so much to Brazilians. The swimming pool is very good and all guests must take care on the phone bill as they have charged more than US$200,00 wrongly. An 8 minute phone call costed US$50,00! The hotel is 15 minutes far by car from Tamarindo, which is very nice for the dinner and the same distance to Playa Grande, which is too beautiful and where the turtles leave their eggs. The beautifiul Playa Conchal is just few minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for submitting your kind review of the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. You made a very good point in saying that our food selections are more oriented toward guests from the U.S. and Canada, who along with local Costa Ricans, make up the bulk of our clientele. As we attempt to reach out to more international markets we do need to expand our horizons in that regard, and we totally appreciate your bringing it to our attention so we can do better in the future. We also apologize for any misunderstanding on your telephone bill. The rates are based pm the country's only landline telephone provider, which for many years had a total monopoly. Now Costa Ricans are starting to enjoy lower rates as competitors come in to the cell phone market, but since landlines are still controlled by the government telephone monopoly, international rates can be expensive. We are sorry we did not do a better job of informing you in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Customer service was exceptional from the day we arrived, until we left. The beach, pool, sunsets, meals, and concierge services all exceeded our expectations. We will definitely return to CR as well as to the resort. We highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: The garden level rooms are below level, so if you can upgrade to the second or third level. We chos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prsilverfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We appreciate your outstanding comments about our resort, especially that our customer service was exceptional. That is what we strive for and we are so happy that we succeeded in providing you with a memorable and happy Costa Rica vacation. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Hello. I stayed in this hotel in October 2011. They taught me what a great customer service. That's incredible. Accomodate all my questions and needs in the most discreet and quickly as possible. We were on honeymoon and the staff behaved very discreet and professional.
The night we arrived we asked for more pillows to dinner. They arranged and decorated the bed with many more pillows while we were having dinner. It was almost immediately since we requested. The service simply has no words.
Also, the AIl Inclusive ​​is a phenomenal service and is actually cheap. Restaurant food is not very varied but a transcendental quality.
Finally, the sunsets are simply ...... out of this world.
Flamingo Resort Hotel became my favorite in Costa Rica.

GREAT JOB.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view for the sunset!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about your honeymoon stay at our resort! We love our bride & grooms and honeymooners so much that all the staff does go out of their way to make your stay extra special, it's true. It's just so magical becoming a part of people's lives and memories...it's what makes all the difficulties of running a 24/7/365 business worthwhile! Thank you; we hope you come back and celebrate some anniversaries with us, we are waiting with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
16.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,093 reviews
13.9 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
15.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Playa Flamingo | Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 50304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located on one of Costa Rica's most famous blue-flag, ecologically protected beaches, this resort location is the perfect beachfront base from which to explore all of Costa Rica’s natural beauty and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing