We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great people, very nice room, beach was fantastic. It was nice in that you could either stay at the pool (which most people did) or sit and enjoy the beach and ocean (which we did!). Had fantastic time riding the waves!. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, food at restaurant was very good. We had a wonderful, relaxing time. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Had bottom floor room-no balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdh_468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,119 of 2,166 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Coming from the mountainside of Arenal, we were impressed when we walked into the lobby of Flamingo Hotel. It feels like we're back to civilization. The receptionists were friendly and accommodating. They gave each of us a welcome drink, a fresh fruit smoothie which was really good. The pool near the lobby was big with plenty of loungers and it was not crowded when we were there and we used it everyday. My youngest daughter became a good swimmer here.The hotel is located near a public beach which which was almost empty during our stay. The beach was clean and the kids had fun body surfing. They have a game room where the kids can hang out which also served as a fully-stocked mini-market. Our hotel stay included breakfast. They have a variety of food and it was good. And I liked when I can get fresh towels at the reception desk at night time and most of all they have free wifi in our room.The only thing we did not like was the room. It needs updating. They also need to replaced the bed sheets and towels. There were times when the air conditioning leaked when we used it for a prolonged period. The water stopped leaking when we turned the air conditioning off.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor room 6000+. It is close to the lobby, swimming pool, restaurant and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marissany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa and for your informative and balanced review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay overall and found us to be good value. We also appreciate your constructive criticism and will use it to do better. Just a few comments in response: 1) All beaches in Costa Rica are public by law; the beach in front of our hotel has a Blue Flag ecological designation for its cleanliness, purity and safety, largely due to the efforts of our resort ownership, management and staff together with our local community. 2) We plan to completely update our bathrooms next year; we are continually reinvesting in order to improve and upgrade. 3) The tropical climate and salt air does a number on our air conditioning units and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this causes our guests! 4) The orders for the new towels and sheets have already arrived. Thanks again for sharing your impressions in this forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I came here for the last leg of our Costa Rican honeymoon. We looked forward to a relaxing few days on the beach. Unfortunately our first night there, a conference was taking place and were at the bar til late blasting loud music. I normally wouldn't have a problem with this but the bar is in the middle of the courtyard and the music and chatter could be heard perfectly in our room. We wanted to get to bed early as we had been traveling all day. This is not possible with the music blasting. I could not imagine being here with a family of young children. Also the service was mediocre and the cervezas mildly cold at best. When we inquired about the ongoing party we were more or less ignored and told it was normal. Just wish we would have received that memo before as we would have booked elsewhere. Also on a side note, there was a group of raccoons in the hallway, not what I want to see roaming the halls.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Speckles15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Ouch! We are so very sorry that your Costa Rica honeymoon ended on a bad note at our resort. We have recently invested in much better sound-proofed windows and doors in order to alleviate the noise problems when we have weddings or other parties going on late into the evenings. You truly have our apologies that you interests and comfort conflicted with something else going on at the resort. I do not know from your review if you tried to get a room facing away from the pool area, which probably would have helped the situation considerably. We also totally agree that the raccoons which invade our property after dark are just NOT ACCEPTABLE; since they have proliferated in recent months we just hired a company to trap them and release them in a secluded, forested area far away from the resort. Thank you very much for your feedback and again, our sincere regrets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was my first all inclusive experience so I was not sure what to expect. A couple of my friends held their wedding here.

The resort staff was amazing. The wedding party was 50 some odd people and the first night was a gong show with the free liquor, but that staff was very patient and very nice to everyone. The staff really made the party.

The resort was nice. The pool is small but just to drink and party in, it is big enough. The room I stayed in was really basic but clean. The floor was all tile and very large so it echoed when you talked.

The resort is located right across the street from the beach. Even through it is a public beach it was pretty empty. Felt more like a private beach.

The food was genreally really good but some times it is a hit or a miss. You order from a menu. One day the swordfish was amazing, the next day the same dish was not good at all. All in all it was good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peachy_Di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

I know I speak for the entire staff and management of the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa when I tell you that we totally LOVE putting on a great wedding! When a couple decides to have their wedding with us, they are making us an important part of their lives and memories, and we take that responsibility and privilege very seriously. We not only have to pamper that wonderful couple and make their dreams come true, but we have a responsibility as well to all of their guests who have invested their time and money to support their friends and/or family. That is why it is very gratifying to hear that you enjoyed your experience and felt that our staff was amazing....(they are!) Thank you so much for the constructive feedback; we are constantly working on the food quality and service and will continue to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

All of us and our families stayed here for the best 10 days of our lives (11of us). Great food, plenty to do and a different adventure every day. Staff more than helpful. All of it based out of here. Would go back in a heart beat

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to the sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Wow, "best ever" is high praise indeed! Do you hear that, all you corporate meeting planners out there? Come on down, we will take excellent care of you! Thank you so much for your great review and we sure hope you do come back and visit us soon. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Visited Oct 24-28th for a destination wedding. It is out of the way, so don't expect to go out (unless you have a car) we booked a King Suite w-ocean view, the room was huge ( and the price wasn't! -off season) seperate living room, bar , microwave fridge etc. I had read previous reviews regarding the water pressure and yes that was the one "con" especially with my long hair. I ended up using the bath tub faucet to wash my hair as the shower took at least 15 min to rinse the shampoo out. Bed comfy, doors had no screen so could not sleep with them open to hear the ocean. Also no vending machines, so buy bottles of water to keep on hand. The staff were very friendly warm and welcoming. (special shout out to Oscar- you made the wedding bar service so much fun!) The food, I was surprised it was very good, we did opt for the $10 per person breakfast buffet well worth it. I had an really good french onion soup and my Husband had a great tender steak. The menu is varied with pizza's,pasta,sandwiches,seafood, so that was nice. The Sunset bar is very nice (we ate dinner there most nights) Rent a car or take a cab and go to Playa Tamarindo, lots of restaurants, bars , shops. Over all yes I would stay there again, hopefully the water pressure issue will be addressed, but the friendly Costa Rican people made the stay even better. the beach is small, and the vendors a little pushy but they have to make a living. For the money it was perfect. Thank you Flamingo Resort staff you all were so wonderful to us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chewtoy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We are greatly appreciative for your positive review of your recent trip to the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa for a destination wedding. We are so glad that you found us to be an excellent value; we do pride ourselves on that! Sorry about the water pressure; we plan to invest on renovating all of our bathrooms next year and will really attempt to alleviate the problem without adding to to the area's water shortages--unfortunately this is a delicate balance. By the way, we have filtered, purified water coolers all around the property so you do not need to use bottled water; we are sorry if no one explained that to you during your visit. Thanks again for your kind comments about our service and staff, so glad that you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We loved the Flamingo!The service was amazing- Shout outs to Alex, Manuel, Raquel and "pura Vida" Patrico in the Arenas restaurant- who all made us feel so special for every meal.
Even the Host opened the door for us every time we came to dinner-
Not fancy, but it made us feel special.
The food was good- ( try the ceviche!) though Costa Rica is not well known for culinary extravagance-

Milady- at the front desk for confirming all our reservations and making the trip seamless.
Christie- the concierge who, turned us onto Victor Hugo Boat tour in Tamarindo for what turned out to be a person private tour of the river where we got to see Monkeys and Crocs!Try Nibbaum Restaurant for Lunch-

She also helped set us up with a Horseback and Zipline company called Robles Adventures-that, to me was a blast!

Our Room was exactly what we wanted- clean, simple and comfortable- with AC and Garden view of the pool.

This property is perfectly situated a short walk away from the beach that has decent waves for Body boarding...

Overall,
I loved our visit to Costa Rica and am glad we found the Flamingo Beach Resort...
As they say,
PURA VIDA!

Best,
The Langwell's

Room Tip: Choose a garden view or room near the restaurant....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Langwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Honeymooners are among our absolutely favorite people, so we are so proud, pleased and ecstatic about your glowing review of your stay with us at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa! Thank you for the compliments to several of our wonderful, hard-working staff members, they truly deserve the recognition and it is much appreciated. We hope you will come back and celebrate a few anniversaries with us in the future, please let us know, we will look forward to it. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
1.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
10.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
11.2 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,518 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa

Address: Playa Flamingo Santa Cruz | Guanacaste, Playa Flamingo 50308, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range: $128 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once you've experienced a Pacific Ocean sunset from the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, you may never want to leave. Located in the vacation province of Guancaste, you’ll be perfectly-positioned to explore Costa Rica's natural beauty and limitless adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing