We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corporate retreat was the best ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Craig, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Corporate retreat was the best ever”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

All of us and our families stayed here for the best 10 days of our lives (11of us). Great food, plenty to do and a different adventure every day. Staff more than helpful. All of it based out of here. Would go back in a heart beat

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to the sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Wow, "best ever" is high praise indeed! Do you hear that, all you corporate meeting planners out there? Come on down, we will take excellent care of you! Thank you so much for your great review and we sure hope you do come back and visit us soon. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    728
    243
    81
    46
See reviews for
671
832
57
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Visited Oct 24-28th for a destination wedding. It is out of the way, so don't expect to go out (unless you have a car) we booked a King Suite w-ocean view, the room was huge ( and the price wasn't! -off season) seperate living room, bar , microwave fridge etc. I had read previous reviews regarding the water pressure and yes that was the one "con" especially with my long hair. I ended up using the bath tub faucet to wash my hair as the shower took at least 15 min to rinse the shampoo out. Bed comfy, doors had no screen so could not sleep with them open to hear the ocean. Also no vending machines, so buy bottles of water to keep on hand. The staff were very friendly warm and welcoming. (special shout out to Oscar- you made the wedding bar service so much fun!) The food, I was surprised it was very good, we did opt for the $10 per person breakfast buffet well worth it. I had an really good french onion soup and my Husband had a great tender steak. The menu is varied with pizza's,pasta,sandwiches,seafood, so that was nice. The Sunset bar is very nice (we ate dinner there most nights) Rent a car or take a cab and go to Playa Tamarindo, lots of restaurants, bars , shops. Over all yes I would stay there again, hopefully the water pressure issue will be addressed, but the friendly Costa Rican people made the stay even better. the beach is small, and the vendors a little pushy but they have to make a living. For the money it was perfect. Thank you Flamingo Resort staff you all were so wonderful to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chewtoy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are greatly appreciative for your positive review of your recent trip to the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa for a destination wedding. We are so glad that you found us to be an excellent value; we do pride ourselves on that! Sorry about the water pressure; we plan to invest on renovating all of our bathrooms next year and will really attempt to alleviate the problem without adding to to the area's water shortages--unfortunately this is a delicate balance. By the way, we have filtered, purified water coolers all around the property so you do not need to use bottled water; we are sorry if no one explained that to you during your visit. Thanks again for your kind comments about our service and staff, so glad that you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We loved the Flamingo!The service was amazing- Shout outs to Alex, Manuel, Raquel and "pura Vida" Patrico in the Arenas restaurant- who all made us feel so special for every meal.
Even the Host opened the door for us every time we came to dinner-
Not fancy, but it made us feel special.
The food was good- ( try the ceviche!) though Costa Rica is not well known for culinary extravagance-

Milady- at the front desk for confirming all our reservations and making the trip seamless.
Christie- the concierge who, turned us onto Victor Hugo Boat tour in Tamarindo for what turned out to be a person private tour of the river where we got to see Monkeys and Crocs!Try Nibbaum Restaurant for Lunch-

She also helped set us up with a Horseback and Zipline company called Robles Adventures-that, to me was a blast!

Our Room was exactly what we wanted- clean, simple and comfortable- with AC and Garden view of the pool.

This property is perfectly situated a short walk away from the beach that has decent waves for Body boarding...

Overall,
I loved our visit to Costa Rica and am glad we found the Flamingo Beach Resort...
As they say,
PURA VIDA!

Best,
The Langwell's

Room Tip: Choose a garden view or room near the restaurant....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Honeymooners are among our absolutely favorite people, so we are so proud, pleased and ecstatic about your glowing review of your stay with us at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa! Thank you for the compliments to several of our wonderful, hard-working staff members, they truly deserve the recognition and it is much appreciated. We hope you will come back and celebrate a few anniversaries with us in the future, please let us know, we will look forward to it. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Ten days prior to Thanksgiving I decided I want out...and I need sun...far away. So with the help of this most awesome web site I choose this place and was what I needed...and wanted to avoid. I had a great time here and going solo was awesome. I met these two crazy dudes from Vancouver that I hung out with and wish they lived closer now. The people are friendly down there and you have no worries in going anywhere. Only complaint was poor internet service...but that may be better now. Thank God my cell phone didn't work!!

Room Tip: Yep pick a upper level room overlooking the pool. Don't worry about noise...the place is quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We appreciate that you chose the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa for your Costa Rica vacation last year, and are so glad that you found our website to be helpful and informative! Thank you for sharing your review. Yes, we have continued to improve our Internet service and we do feel that it is much better now! Thanks for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I got a great deal on this resort through Groupon and we could not be more pleased with it. The food, service, drinks and staff were all excellent! Since we traveled during the off season the resort was semi quiet which was an extra plus.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buff89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa! We are so happy that we exceeded your expectations and pleased that you found our super Groupon deal as a way to make your Costa Rica vacation come true at a great price. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent three nights here, driving up from the Lost Iguana in Arenal. Drive was not a problem. The beach was gorgeous, and I got some stunning shots of it and the hotel grounds at photoshah.com - check the Playa Flamingo gallery. The dining room staff was superb and very friendly. The biggest negative was that it was just too commercial, too built up and the crowd was loud. Maybe we were a couple staying in a place meant for families.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cortlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We greatly appreciate your stay with us and thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. Glad you enjoyed the beach and thanks for sharing your photos. I guess you just happened to come on a busy week when the crowd was a partying one, we have to say that the mix totally varies, so sometimes guests may comment that the resort is too quiet and other times too loud! We do get families, but we also get a lot of couples, solo and in groups. One thing that did puzzle me about your review is that on each individual trait (e.g. Value, Location, Sleep Quality, Rooms, Cleanliness & Service) you rated us either a 5 or 4, yet on the overall rating only gave us 3 bubbles. I'm hoping it's a mistake and appreciate the 5's you gave us on Cleanliness and Service!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was pretty standard. It was little dated but it served its purpose of being right on the beach and close to other beaches like playa conchal. The only negative would be that faint smell of a basement in the room. The pool is in the center of the hotel. There is a restaurant overlooking the pool and the beach very nice. they also have a casino and store which I never used. They had a wonderful breakfast particularly the plantains,eggs,and pinto gallo. You can really stuff your face there. All in all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Q S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Flamingo Beach Resort and Spa for your Costa Rica vacation, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We do everything possible to stay on top of mold and mildew at our hotel, it is one of the joys of the rainy season for us and we really do work hard to eliminate any lingering smells and make sure everything is kept impeccably clean. Regretfully it's very difficult-- we even have purchased special ozone machines to clean the air. We'll keep working on that, thanks for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
16.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,513 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,173 reviews
13.9 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Playa Flamingo | Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 50304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located on one of Costa Rica's most famous blue-flag, ecologically protected beaches, this resort location is the perfect beachfront base from which to explore all of Costa Rica’s natural beauty and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing