We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is by no means a luxurious hotel, but it is a great value for the money. Our room was basic and clean with a balcony overlooking the beach/pool area. I do wish the balcony had a screen door instead of a regular door.... I love hearing the ocean while I sleep! The breakfast in the restaurant was great, the lunch and dinner okay. We opted not to do the all-inclusive option because there are several great restaurants within walking distance and we like to venture out. The pool area was very nice and we never had a problem getting a lounge chair or a seat at the swim-up bar, where we spent a lot of time since we were traveling during football season and my husband needed a TV! The bar above the restaurant had a beautiful view of the sunset. All staff members we encountered were very friendly and helpful.

At first I was a little disappointed that the beach was across the street, but it's really just a small drive used by local surfers on the weekends. During the week, there was barely any traffic. The beach was beautiful but a little narrow near the hotel. We visited in November and by the afternoon the tide was almost all the way up to the road, which made watching the sunset on the beach impossible! We got hassled a little bit to buy stuff right at the beach entrance, but with a firm NO the people left us alone.

Overall, if you're looking for an affordable place to stay in this area and you don't need a luxury resort to enjoy your trip, this hotel is a great option.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa for your vacation. We are glad that you found it to be a great value for the money, and that you enjoyed your time with us and would recommend to others. We will continue striving to be an A+ affordable beachfront resort that provides our guests with a little bit of everything, including the best sunsets in the world. Oddly, the configuration and width of our beach does change month to month depending on the weather, ocean currents, the moon, etc.. Some times of the year you may have to walk up or down a little bit to get a wider beach area in which to hang out and enjoy the sunsets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,133 - 1,139 of 2,151 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just got back from a short stay at Flamingo, and it was a little disappointing. The concierge did not have any maps of the area, to walk around, or any recommendations of anything local to see or do. Most hotels have this sort of thing, so that was a little strange - I mean I know they want you to eat at the hotel and do all your activities through them.. but to just refuse to tell you what is in the area is odd.

Our room location was not very good, but we aren't the type to complain, even though the hotel was not crowded at all..

Definitely the most disappointing thing was that it felt a little dirty. We found a really bad stain on the comforter - which the staff did not even pretend to be surprised about - and this made me feel like the whole room was dirty even if it wasn't noticeable. I see from other reviews this is a common complaint about this hotel. The bathroom also seemed a bit dirty. We were glad it was a shorter stay here.

Good things - not having to worry about the water quality, since there were signs everywhere saying that they used purified water. Also, the location on the beach was nice and the pool and pool bar were lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odonnek3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

We appreciate your review here, and we're very sorry we were not able to provide a better experience for you. We are looking into who your assigned housekeeper was and are going to keep emphasizing with the entire staff that cleanliness is a NUMBER ONE PRIORITY!! Quite frankly, regarding the concierge, two things: One, we don't have maps for the area in walking distance because they are not needed as there are so few roads. We should always be able to provide maps to other beaches and towns in the area that are within driving distance, but maybe you were misunderstood. Two, many of the restaurants within walking distance to the hotel are closed during the month of September because it is our slow season. Many of the locals simply take vacation during that time and close their businesses for a few weeks. That's why we try to provide a complete experience right at our resort, from a full-service spa, a game room, a daily activities program, a water sports office, a dive shop and a concierge desk for tours and excursions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of our longer Costa Rican vacation. We were here during the off-season, but it worked out great! It barely rains on this side of the country, and the beaches nearby (Tamarindo, Conchal, and Brasilito) were easy to get to and also beautiful. The concierge, Christy, and the main front-desk guy, Douglas, were extremely helpful and friendly. Our bartender at the pool and the upstairs lounge, Elias, was AWESOME! The resort has a nice fitness center, too. The nearby restaurant, Marie's, is very delicious, also.
Overall a great experience!

Room Tip: Get a beach-view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

We are so glad you had a great experience, and thank you very much for sharing it on Trip Advisor. You are so right: our particular little niche of Guanacaste is actually the driest part of all of Costa Rica during the rainy season. Statistics show that we get the least amount of rainfall in the country, even when everything is lush and green! So you can enjoy the off-season rates, the peace and quiet, the beautiful vegetation, and still not have to have your vacation marred by too much rain. Thank you for your kind words about some of our great staff members; they work very hard and deserve the congratulations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I just got home after a week at the flamingo beach resort. First let me say I read a ton ot the reviews here before I went so with that said....the experience was awesome. Myself and a friend arrived Saturday 9/8/12 and was greeted by Manuel with a cool strawberry smoothie. The conceirge Christie immediately introduced herself and made us feel as if she had been personally expecting us!!! That was a great feeling. The furnishing in the room was dated but a good size and the bed was comfortable. We were there for the 5.6 earthquake and never have I seen anyone move as fast as lulu "the runner" being from California we were ok. The place staff at the poolside bar friendly and always went the extra mile...Thank you Katia lulu and Mario the manager. We had our first meal at the Avena's it was ok. Marie down the road was good and reasonable walk down the beach to pleamar for drinks friendly staff. Try lunch at Camaron Dorado. I will definetly return. For anyone who plans to visit get to know Christie your conceirge......can not say enough about her outgoing persnality.

Room Tip: Definetly get a room with a balcony preferably upper level. The racoons are overly friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

We appreciate your taking the time to write this kind review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad that your experience was awesome, and we appreciate the special personal mentions you made of many of our hard-working staff members. We hope you do come back to see us again, and for a different kind of experience, maybe come on down during high season when the vibe is a little less laid-back and a little more action-packed! So glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We found this hotel last year from a Bloomspot deal. This was our third trip to Costa Rica, but a first in this region. We purposely picked the rainy season for the fewer crowds, so the hotel wasn't very busy. Having stayed in Jaco last December, we knew how crowded it can get. As we got closer to our arrival date, the hotel emailed with some dining options. You could pay $75/day for all-inclusive meal. We normally like to venture outside of the hotel, so we opted out of this. Instead, we chose to pay $16/day for the all-inclusive daily breakfast. We had an earthquake during our stay. The staff handled the crisis very well. They remained professional, helpful, and upbeat. They kept the guests informed of all activities and accommodated any requests.

Negatives:
The first room we had was located on the bottom floor with a small window that faces the parking lot. We changed to a different room due to safety concerns. The second room was a little better. It was still on the bottom floor outside of the main pool area. The duvet cover and bed sheets were stained. We only got two pillows for a king sized bed (our parents were in a separate room, and they got 4 pillows). The bathroom was dingy. The tile grout was black and dirty looking. The floor in the room needed a really good scrubbing. I think was a water heater in our bathroom. It made noises throughout the day. I didn’t know what the noise was initially, but quickly realized it was tied to the water system. The water pressure in the hotel is very weak. The hotel is very focused on being eco-aware. Washing your face in the sink was torture. And showers took longer because there was so little pressure. It was as if I was in Europe again.

Positives:
Friendly staff even if you don’t speak Spanish well. The food was good. Drinks were okay. I’ve had better pina coladas at the Best Western in Jaco. There are two pools. The main pool has a swim-up bar. Very nice! The second pool is more of a recreational one (water volleyball) and is much smaller. The hotel is located on the beach. There are vendors on the beach, but only at the entrance. There were several people offering massages on the beach. We took advantage of this because of the price. There were two groups of massage “therapists”. We used the group who were further out on the beach. We paid $35/hour per person (based on 2 people) + 2000 colones for tip. They did a wonderful job! It was so enjoyable getting a massage on the beach. The sea breeze and hearing the sound of waves as you relaxed.

Overall, the Flamingo Resort is a nice property. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. The location is more remote especially if you wanted to eat somewhere other than the hotel. Normally, most restaurants offer a free pickup, but since we were there during low season, very few restaurants offered this. The exception was the Golden Shrimp (in Brasilito). They were located about 10 minutes away. The restaurant is located literally on the beach. It’s the best view you’ll ever have during dinner. Additionally, many restaurants (Mar y Sol and Carlos & Carlos) were closed due to the season. If you do rent a car, there are several small towns close by, including Tamarindo, which is about 20 minutes away. The Flamingo Resort is a good value and beautiful property compared to others in the area.

Room Tip: Be vocal (but nice) if you don't like your room. There are no elevators to the rooms. So, if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wants2TravelMore_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you so very much for sharing your views on your recent stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. Yours is the first review from a guest who experienced the Sept 5th earthquake in the area. We truly appreciate your telling the Trip Advisor audience how calm, competent and helpful our staff were during that crisis. While staff members were understandably worried about their own loved ones living nearby in the surrounding small towns throughout Guanacaste, they put our guests' safety and well-being ahead of anything else and were truly professional and courageous.
We apologize that your room was not up to the standard it should have been. While it is true that we are very eco-conscious, we do not intend for it to disrupt our guests' pleasure or comfort, so we are working on the water pressure issue. It is a regional problem, but we are working on solutions and will be renovating all of our bathrooms over the next two years. While we personally do not recommend the beach massages due to hygiene and training concerns, and totally prefer the professional staff and creature comforts of our (indoor) spa, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My friend and I had an amazing time here! The pool is very clean and warm, beach is beautiful and the staff so friendly! The concierge, Marian was so helpful and very sweet. She made our time at the hotel better. All the waiters and waitresses were very nice as well. It is more of a relaxing hotel. We did the all inclusive plan and I think it's so worth it. If you want some good shots see Elias! Snorkelling at the hotel is so much fun, see Julio! The rooms were very spacious and comfy beds. Shower pressure isn't the best, but I will definielty be back at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thanks for reaffirming to us that at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa that we provide great value and an overall amazing vacation experience. You are so wonderful for sharing these kind words on Trip Advisor; we truly appreciate it. Also, it was very nice of you to give a few shout-outs to some extraordinary staff members, they deserve and appreciate it. Please do come back and see us, and tell everyone you know! Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Flamingo Beach Resort was overall okay, Beach was beautiful and not over run with tourist, you did have to pass local merchants, since it was a public beach but overall secluded and clean, the room was cool the pool was clean, the only draw back is that the drinks are very overpriced and if you went with the allinclusive the food choices got old, We ate in the local "SODAS" which is very inexpensive most dishes are under $5 USD and portions are good the fish is awesome, my favorite part of this stay was the beach, everything else seemed to be pricey at the Hotel.

Room Tip: We had the family suite that sleeps 6 with a kitchenette (Timeshre) my brothers had a regular room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank onAmission5628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thanks for your recent stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. We regret that you found our hotel to be pricey. We are never going to compete with the little "sodas" (the best translation I can come up with in English is snack bar or diner), because they mostly owner-operated, very small operations and do not have the cost structure that we have in a resort. At the same time, we strive to be competitive with the other hotels and restaurants in the local area, and feel that we do provide a good value for the service, food quality and variety that we offer. However, we are always open to constructive criticism and appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
1.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
10.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,557 reviews
11.2 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa

Address: Playa Flamingo Santa Cruz | Guanacaste, Playa Flamingo 50308, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range: $111 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once you've experienced a Pacific Ocean sunset from the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, you may never want to leave. Located in the vacation province of Guancaste, you’ll be perfectly-positioned to explore Costa Rica's natural beauty and limitless adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing