We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Nearby Hotels
Guanacaste Lodge(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
$79
$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Flamingo Beach(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Brasilito(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
$59
$46
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nany(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
$83
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conchal Hotel(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamingo Marina Resort(Playa Flamingo)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,263)
Filter reviews
2,263 results
Traveler rating
1,076
796
256
86
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,076
796
256
86
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barflamingo beach resortacross the streetall inclusive planall inclusive packagecosta ricabreakfast planping pongsunset loungepool viewarenas restaurantpura vidawater aerobicsnight lifelounge chairssmall casinodestination wedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,450 - 1,455 of 2,263 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Stayed here in late November, rooms were clean and nice. Used the all inclusive package food was great. It should be noted there is only one restaurant and two bars one is the swim up bar. This is not a party area, and it can get a little annoying when the large groups show up to party. This is not why we went to Costa Rica, we went to fish, go on the zip lines, ride ATV’s, and see the monkeys, jungle, snorkel, sail and all the other adventures the Guanacaste region has to offer. The resort has a wonderful beach and amazing sunsets every afternoon, the staff was really friendly and super helpful. I have already recommended this resort to many friends. I have traveled to many countries and stayed in all types of hotels, the 5 star systems does not always apply. For the price and location this is a great package. I would try for the third floor to view the sunsets from the balcony after a great day of exploring or adventuring. I would go back or recommend this resort without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for second or third floor, for a sunset view.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfsalot45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamrod305, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2012

We really appreciate your taking the time to write a nice review of your stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. And thanks so much for recommending us to others, that is very kind, and very encouraging to our family and staff. We agree, the sunsets are spectacular!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We got married at the Flamingo Beach Resort in November and had a wonderful time. The staff was very accommodating and we couldn’t have had a better day. We would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone looking to have a destination wedding in Costa Rica or those who want a relaxing stay by the beach.

WEDDING
Juan Carlos, the wedding planner, did a fabulous job. He was very responsive throughout the entire process. Instead of the cookie-cutter packages most hotels offer, Juan Carlos (and the resort) enabled us to customize our ceremony and reception and make it our own. We had a beach ceremony, following by a cocktail on the beach, and a reception/party in the Sunset Lounge. With the lounge, you get a private area for dinner, the reception and dancing, which most hotels don’t offer.

We did the hair and make-up at Famous Point Beauty Salon, the on-site salon, and Victoria was great too. During the hair trial, we ended up totally changing my hair-do and her suggestion was much better than what I had originally envisioned.

We’d also like to send a very special thank you to Oscar and his team of bartenders. Our entire wedding party was treated to fantastic drinks and hospitality by their awesome work during the reception.
For photography, we hired Fernando Carcamo from Lifetime Digital Imaging. Fernando was recommended to me in a forum on Trip Advisor and we are happy we trusted the review! He was very flexible and responded to emails quickly. We haven’t seen the official photos yet but from what we saw on his camera viewfinder, they look very professional.

LOCATION
The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa is a smaller hotel with one restaurant, a swim-up bar, a lounge, a large pool and a smaller pool with a volleyball net. There is a small casino, a gym, and a family room. It is step away from the beach across a small road, and across from the Plaza which houses two restaurants (Marie’s and Angelina’s) and two tour operators (EcoTrans and Flamingo Adventures). The famous Mar-y-sol restaurant is up the street but was closed for the low season when we visited. It opens the first week of December. There is also a small convenience store by the Plaza, which is useful to purchase drinks and snacks.

We went to Tamarindo for 3 days after the wedding and wished we had stayed in Playa Flamingo. The Playa Flamingo hotel and the location are un-beatable, especially in that price range.

ROOMS
The rooms were spacious and very clean. We had the ocean view suite and you can hear the waves throughout the night. We strongly recommend you request a room on the main or upper floor. We were told by some of our guest that rooms on the lower level (starting with number 11 or 21) weren’t nearly as nice. While we initially requested that our guests be accommodated on the main or upper floor, not everyone was (until we discussed the matter with the front desk staff [who were nice about it] and got the room situation corrected) so make sure you double check your guests’ accommodations when you check in.

ALL INCLUSIVE
We all did all-inclusive for the first three days and then switched to the breakfast package. If you do plan to drink, all-inclusive is a no-brainer. The drinks are about $10 a piece and the all-inclusive option is only $50/person/day. So 2 drinks and 3 meals and you’ve got your money back. You can also get a pool scuba diving initiation with the all-inclusive.

TRANPORTATION
If you fly from Liberia, we recommend contacting EcoTrans for a transfer. It’s $20/person if you have two people, $40 otherwise. The hotel charges $80. If you fly to San Jose, Interbus is a great shuttle service.

EXCURSIONS
Our guests did a variety of excursions with EcoTrans (Palo Verde), Flamingo Adventures (ATV), Lazy Lizard Sailing (Sunset Cruise) and Adventours with Jonas (Buena Vista). Overall, most folks were very happy. There are a wide variety of options around the hotel, but you can also just lay by the pool and on the beach, waiting for the great sunset to appear!

Room Tip: We strongly recommend you request a room on the main or upper floor. We were told by some of our guest that rooms on the lower level (starting with number 11 or 21) weren’t nearly as nice.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Speedyfroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamrod305, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent wedding at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. We are so glad that it was a big success and that you and your guests were very happy. We wish you all the best and are grateful and humbled to be part of your memories. Come back and see us on one of your anniversaries, our arms and hearts are wide open!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Absolutely loved this hotel and would definitely go back.

Location- Perfect. Beach is absolutely beautiful, walk right for a more secluded/serene experience. I actually enjoyed the more quiet atmosphere of Playa Flamingo. My days were so busy and full of sun that I was asleep by 9PM every night so I didn't need (or want) any crazy nightlife. Nearby restaurants (Maries, Angelinas) were delicious and affordable and a short (less than 5 min) walk from the hotel entrance.

Amenities- Used the gym 3 days and loved it - they have everything - treadmills, bikes, ellipticals, weight machines, dumbells, mats. Pool was fabulous - never too crowded, always enough chairs, swim up bar was fun. Loved the filtered water stations throughout the resort to stay cool & hydrated. They had cone cups at each one but I recommend brining or re-using full size water bottles. Oh and there is FREE WIFI! It worked well on the balcony, in the lobby, and at the pool, was a little spottier in the rooms but it is FREE!

Food- didn't do the all-inclusive option but enjoyed the Arenas restaurant for breakfast every day included in our rate. Amazing fresh fruit, nice assortment of yogurt/cereal/toast/pastries/juices/hot items and a made to order egg station! Also ate there for dinner one night and found food to be tasty and reasonably priced. I live in Manhattan and am used to sky high drink prices so I found the $3-4 beers and $7-8 cocktails reasonable. Over the week the bar bill for two was about $100 so we were happy we didn't do the all-inclusive option ($65/pp per day).

Rooms- Nice and comfortable, not much wear or tear. We had a room with a balcony and could see both the beach and pool. Bathroom needed the most improvement - sentimental toilet and a shower that didn't keep the water temperature consistent or drain very well. These are the only negative things I can say and in no way made a dent in how I feel about my overall vacation. I feel like a lot of tropical resorts have some issues like this, it is just how it is.

Service- nothing but friendly and helpful people from check in to check out. We had questions about getting a cab to Playa Danta and they called a few people and then called the name of someone we had for us. They arranged free pick up/return to a nearby restaurant in Brasilito one night.

I am more of a been there/done that traveler but I wouldn't hesitate to come back to this resort. It was a wonderful week.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnytropic84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamrod305, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. It is very rewarding to read your very positive, yet honest, comments, because obviously, you "get" what a tropical vacation in a less-developed country is all about!! Unfortunately many people from more developed countries expect to get everything dirt cheap, and then when the reality is otherwise, they forget to enjoy themselves and do nothing but grouse about prices. They don't realize just how many items to keep our business running need to be imported, requiring big transportation fees, customs duties and import taxes, not to mention transportation out to our relatively remote vacation. This makes many of the products we buy far more expensive than the item costs in the U.S., Canada or Europe! But as you so kindly point out, we still provide excellent value when compared to many of the top resort places in the world: New York, Miami, San Francisco, Montreal, Vancouver, London, Paris, Amsterdam, most of the Caribbean Islands, etc. We offer good value and an experience that is different from the United States. Our goal is to always be friendly and offer excellent customer service. You rightly point out that our rooms are comfortable, but our hotel is not brand new (and yes, our bathrooms are showing the wear and tear of salt, sand and humidity.) To address this we have extensive renovations and redecorations planned over the next two years. We are a family owned hotel, so we have to do what we can afford when we can afford it, but our goal is to continually re-invest to make the hotel better and better. Thank you so much for the encouragement, it's what keeps us all going through all the day-to-day difficulties of running a full-service resort!! Please come back in a couple of years and see all of the wonderful changes we'll be doing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Nice local resort. Great location. great breakfast included...nice people, Would sta there again....its not a 5 star resort by U.S, standards but a great location, clean room, nice pool, good food, great weather...what more could you ask for:)

Really nice experience.

Room Tip: Pool view room had great view of the beach too.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJG07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamrod305, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Thank you for your recent stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. We are glad that you enjoyed it and took the time to write a positive review. While we don't pretend to be a Four Seasons Hotel, we pride ourselves on being a quality family-stye resort at a great value. We aim to consistently provide excellent customer service in an environmentally-friendly manner. We are privileged to be the only hotel on beautiful white-sand Playa Flamingo, Guanacaste's premier beach. Thanks again for your kind feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This was our fourth trip to Costa Rica and we were looking forward to the beach, but what we found was Florida, condos, Americans and Canadians and generally unhelpful staff of the hotel. We had gone on a Groupon, and got a musty basement room wtih a "patio" below ground. They wouldn't let us in the room until after 3 pm although we arrived at 2 on the bus from San Jose and they could have gone ahead and made up the room they were sending us to, or sent us to a different room, as happens in the States. Instead they left us sitting in the lobby exhausted, hot and frustrated.
We asked for more than the 2 small pillows on the king sized bed four times before they were delivered. We asked for information from the front desk and were misdirected a couple of times. We chose not to go on the meal plan ($70/day) but bought one scoop of ice cream one evening and they charged us $8 (4000 colones!). It was a heavy bar scene till late at night with music and loud people hanging out around the pool which is in the center of all the rooms.
The town is really just for tourists. If you want to see Costa Rica, you need to go to one of the nearby towns. We went to Brazelito where there were several local restaurants. The one bright light in the hotel was the concierge, Denise, who gave good service, spoke good English and did her job well. The man at the excursions desk seemed bored and disinterested in inviting us to do anything. We bought our tour from a kiosk in the plaza where they seemed more interested in our business.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank contradancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamrod305, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. Some of the issues you mention are surprising and frustrating, and we are calling them to the staff's attention as to not have another disappointed customer. Our apologies and regrets that your stay in Guanacaste was not what you had hoped for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews