We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and ugly ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flamingo Marina Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Going to flamingo it's a great decision, it's a beautiful beach, but the Marina Hotel it's not that good.
The hotel hotel it's very well located, and has an amazing view of the beach, but the infrastructure and the furniture are very old, and looks like they haven't had much maintenance.
The rooms are very spacious to fit a family of four but it's not a comfortable place.
The breakfast it's ok.

Stayed: April 2014
5  Thank camigarces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Flamingo Marina Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 123 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very well located in flamingo beach, The view of the rooms are amazing, and there is a lot of space. But the building and the furniture look like they belong in the 70's and they haven't had maintenance since. It's very old.

The service wasn't good, wasn't bad.. They didn't paid us much attention.

Stayed: April 2014
4  Thank Carlos Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I'm guest at this hotel for Eastern week being the first time I was visiting Flamingo. When we arrived the room it was dirty. The microwave, kitchen and bathrooms dirty as if they were not cleaned after the last guest checked out. Besides that, I specifically asked for a futon for my kids and they didn't prepare it. The outside corridors were full of trash bags and even empty liquor bottles. Don't ever come if your family members cannot use stairs, because access from the reception, to the rooms are way uncomfortable for major citizens. Besides that, parking lot for double room is outside of the hotel area. Don't believe on the nice beach pictures attached, this hotel does not have access to the nice Flamingo beach, only to 50 meters of private beach full of rocks. Of course it is annoying, but if they at least publish constraints and special needs I wouldn't ever stayed here. Too bad for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The location of unit #603 Flamingo Marina Resort on the beautiful bay side beach was great but the condo was in need of a serious upgrade and the lawn chairs were terrible. The area was quieter and much classier than Tamarindo but someone could have told us that it was 30km away from Tamarindo.
We had 3 coffee mugs and a frying pan without a handle and a lumpy mattress in the smaller bedroom. The hot water heater was small, so showers had to be short and 4 people taking consecutive showers was not possible.
Tropical Homes of Costa Rica was not very helpful at first after our flight was cancelled because of snow.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thetwoofus278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We rented a condo at the Flamingo Marina resort from Special Places, Costa Rica property management company. It was so easy. I sent an email, they responded with details on how to rent it and I followed the instructions. We had room 205 which had a private balcony with an unobstructed view of the ocean; no rooms or buildings looked in on our room or balcony which afforded us the utmost privacy. We kept the sliding glass doors to the living room and the bedroom wide open the whole time we were there to enjoy the wind. We used the fans but had no need for the air conditioner. We went from January 6th to 20th and had the best stay. We went out every day and enjoyed deciding where we would have breakfast or lunch. We recommend The Shack in surfside for any and all meals, but we branched out and also enjoyed La Tublar (Italian), The Beach House, La Pearla's, Maxwell's.....and so many more. Good work Special Places!

Room Tip: Room 205 is very private and has a great view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We discovered the FMR via a search for Costa Rica condos on VRBO. Unit 411 popped up and instantly fit the bill. While in the same complex as FMR it is managed privately through SeaView Rentals, who we highly recommend working with on your trip.

The Unit: Unit 411 is an upstairs, beach view unit with 2 average sized bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen and a great deck that we spent many evenings enjoying the sound of the waves on. Don't expect luxury, in fact, things were very basic and relatively dated, but everything worked as advertised. With multiple cooling units, it was easy to stay comfortable. Having a kitchen was a highlight. We shopped at local markets and fruit stands and made two out of three meals each day at home. This not only saved us a ton of money, it allowed us to experience great local meat, vegetables and fruits, something most travelers will miss out on. The highlight of the unit was the deck. A large area with room for all and a table that we enjoyed meals on had a great view of the ocean, less than 50 meters away. Our complaints with the unit were few but should be mentioned. Water pressure was lacking and inconsistant, the hot water heater was small, so showers had to be short and 3-4 people taking consecutive showers wasn't an option. The fridge smelled like fish, something that needs to be dealt with. Beds were at the low end of comfortable, and supplies that should have been provided were not. In the week, we ran out of soap, paper towels and toilet paper. Mind you, our rate for the rental was less than $100/night for 4 people. factor in meals made at home and it's basically free lodging in a great location. All the negatives were easily overlooked.

The Beach: The black sand of the beach in front of the resort was awesome and the protection of the cove provided great protection. Sharp rocks were prevalent, but easy to avoid. The highlight of the beach was the views across the bay and the privacy. There were almost never other people present, making for a romantic setting in late nights. I highly recommend hiking to the left (when looking at the water) and around the corner. There you will find a completely private, romantic beach. Bring a picnic and a bottle of wine for a good evening, but be careful of the tide. You could very well be stuck there!

The Resort: While not technically part of the resort, we still had access to it's amenities. The Monkey Bar (see my review) was a good hangout and we enjoyed talking to Lily, one of the servers. The people at the front desk were always available, however almost no one working there speaks English. The resort is gated and guarded 24/7 and we always felt safe.

If looking for a low cost place for a family or a group of friends, we would definately recommend contacting SeaView rentals and asking about Unit 411 at the FMR.

Room Tip: Contact SeaView rentals and ask about condos at FMR.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jonharis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNOTravels, Manager at Flamingo Marina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

We thank you for your comments about Flamingo Marina Resort. We will let the staff at Sea View Rentals about your unit and the few issues you addressed. We too are working on the Front Desk Staff and their English. We are striving to improve each and every day. We hope to have you back real soon!
Pura Vida,
The Management Staff @ Flamingo Marina Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We arrived Oct. 18 - 25 with our Interval Exchange. It was dark when we arrived at 7pm and Louis was at the reception. He acted like we ruined his day by showing up, I made reservations 8 months ago! He sent us off to a room with a very nice guy that spoke NO English. The whole place was dark, no lights anywhere. He had a flashlight and we schlupped our luggage down steps and corridors, past raccoons and spiders. The first room was a cave with only one bed. There were four adults in our group. The next room had two bedrooms but nothing worked, fridge, lights, fans, hot water (the lamp shade fell off onto my daughters face when she tried the fan and shattered on the floor next to the dead cockroaches). The third room was a smaller two bedroom with tiny kitchen appliances and one tiny tv but they worked. It was their best bay view room they said. There was no restaurant or bar and the pool area was pitch black. I asked for lights to be turned on and extra towels and pillows and nothing happened that night. I called Interval and informed them of our situation and they said spend the night and call tomorrow. Things looked a little better in the daylight, the bay was beautiful and our fridge was finally starting to cool down. Our beds were hard, linens were worn and wrinkled, had to have toilet and drain in tub fixed. We tried to talk to management then I tried Interval again and they contacted the resort which said they were fully operational except the restaurant so interval said too bad. Come ON, I spent thousands of dollars for this trip only to find out that this area is closed in the slow season. Why didn't Interval know this??? Thank goodness for our car and the kitchen. We demanded maids and the pool area to be cleaned up and by the time we left the place was looking much better and a few more families had showed up. Weird being the only guests. Really missed the bar as that is what everyone talked about. Wireless only in lobby and pool area.

Marie's down the street had a great breakfast and the best fresh juices. Flamingo Beach Resort, the casino on the ocean side was very nice with a beautiful, long public beach, great for sunsets. They freaked out if you didn't have a wrist band on though, even when we were using their spa and bar. Made me feel like a trespasser. On the bright side, no traffic, pristine beaches literally to ourselves and a central location between Grand, Chonchal, Tamarindo and Coco Beach. Best secret beach was Danta just past Protrero and best bar was Maxwells in Protrero, cheap good food at Don Brasilitos too.

Loved our maid Vanessa but we never warmed up to the rest of the staff. We were just a bunch of spoiled Americans to them.

Room Tip: We ended up in room 207, lots of AC noise.
Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank jancd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
1.3 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
3.0 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
2.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
2,119 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Marina Resort

Address: | Santa Cruz, Playa Flamingo 321-1002, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range: $104 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Flamingo Marina Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamingo Marina Resort is located in Flamingo Beach Guanacaste, one of the most famous and beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flamingo Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Marina Hotel Province Of Guanacaste
Flamingo Marina Resort Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing