We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Mani Mahi

The crew was great, Tony and Dennis knew what they were doing. We caught 2 Mahi Mahis to keep. We... read more

Reviewed June 12, 2018
JLN8
,
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
via mobile
Top Notch Fishing With the Captain & the Kid (old song)

We have been fishing with Captain Tom and his crew, on the Las Brisas, on a few occasions. The... read more

Reviewed November 11, 2016
Larry O
Read all 41 reviews
  
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
31
7
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
7
2
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 40 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2018 via mobile

The crew was great, Tony and Dennis knew what they were doing. We caught 2 Mahi Mahis to keep. We had a sail fish on the line which was an incredible experience. Great time!!!

Thank JLN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2016

We have been fishing with Captain Tom and his crew, on the Las Brisas, on a few occasions. The Captain has lived many years in the area, and knows where to go to ensure you catch some fish, and don't go hungry that evening. Even before Costa Rica, he was a Captain and fisherman in the States. He and is crew are very knowledgeable, and run a first class operation. They made sure we had snacks, some refreshments, and a cooler of ice cold beer. I don't normally have a beer at 7:00AM, but by about 9:00--9:30AM, in the hot sun, on the ocean, it seemed like a very good idea. And a few more, even seemed like a better idea.
Though the much sought-after Rooster Fish, has eluded us time and again, I do know they are out there, and Captain Tom knows where to find them, because the next day after we were out last trip, the Las Brisas caught 3 good sized Roosters. We have caught numerous mahi-mahi, yellow-fin tuna ,Jack Cravelle, skip jacks ,and a couple of other species. Once, we literally saw the ocean "boil" with the schools of sardines going through. Amazing.
The Las Brisas, and the equipment, that the Captain uses, are all top notch. Many stories and tales (I'm sure) were told by Tom, and I'd expect a good portion of them to by true and factual : ) I had sore ribs, a couple of times, from the laughter caused by some of these stories. Almost worth the price of admittance, in itself. We were very well looked after, each time out. Oh ya, did I forget to mention, they always had a cooler full of ice cold beer.
Even if you aren't that much of a firshman, I would still highly recommend the Las Brisas, Captain Tom, and his crew for a fishing trip----if for nothing else than the entertainment. The fishing is a bonus.
Thanks Captain Tom. Cannot wait for our next outing.

Thank Larry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Owner at Las Brisas Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2016

Hey Larry, hurry back. We all had a great time with you as well. You bring out the best of us...never a dull moment.Thanks ! We will get you a Roosterfish this year. Capt. Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2016

Great trip. Capt. Tom and his crew were awesome. Half day trip was perfect for family. Our kids had a great time-ages 4, 8 and 10. Crew was great with the kids, very helpful and made sure everyone had fun. We caught a bunch of tuna and a Spanish Mackeral. We will definitely use Capt. Tom again

Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2016

Went fishing with Captain Tom and had a great time. Caught some skipjack and red snapper. Would definitely recommend.

Thank NancyEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2016

On March 6th, my husband and I went fishing with Captain Tom and his first mate, Willy. We are so impressed with with these guys; they know what their doing and because of it, we had an awesome trip!! They have great equipment, it's a comfortable boat, they were very professional AND the beer was ice cold!! We both caught fish and got some great pictures!! We were so lucky to find Captain Tom and the Las Brisas! We are already looking forward to our next trip and will definitely be going with Captain Tom again. Thanks to both of them for an excellent trip!! FISH ON!!!

Thank Sunflowers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2016

Captain Tom and Pat with William were awesome and made the half day trip a fun time for the four of us. The fish did not bite that great but we had plenty of beverages for the trip which kept the conversation lively. Afterwards William took us to a local fish market where we with some humility bought slabs of tuna for dinner grilling. No complaints other than to have better luck for us next time.

Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Owner at Las Brisas Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2016

They were for sure 5 star happy people on the boat, but they blamed the poor fishing conditions and knocked down our rating. Both beyond our control. We went out of our way to show them a great day. Capt. Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

My friend and I went out with Capt. Tom for a 1/2 day trip. We caught a variety of fish including a Dorado for dinner :) , 8 skipjack, a Jack Crevalle and a few others. Great time for sure. Excellent trip, will definitely be back for more

Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2015

"We went out with Capt.Tom and mate William for a half day. The boat and tackle were in fine condition. Very professional operation....could not ask for more. We caught a few yellowfin tuna, a Dorado, some bonitos and the three of us had a great time. Lot's of stories exchanged. We will return and fish again on the Las Brisas boat."

Thank piran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2015

We met Captain Tom and Pat at the marina where they took us out for a morning of fishing. It was a great day with some great people - Captain Tom and Pat ~really~ know there way around a boat and around the bay. They moved with the efficiency of motion that only years on a boat can impart, and they seemed to go a little above and beyond to get us the most out of our fishing trip. We'll be signing up for another trip the next time we head that way!

Thank Ryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2015

Took my girlfriend on a full day offshore. Tom picked us up at the Westin and dropped us off in Flamingo where we met Capt. Bernie and mate William. All very nice guys. Rocked and rolled a bit heading out but nothing too terrible and was greeted with dark black water. Not good. Trolled till after lunch with not even a look so decided to come inshore to the rocks. Finally scored bottom fishing with the one Bonita we had for bait with a nice snapper my girlfriend caught. Overall I was happy to not get skunked but was disappointed offshore.

Thank BrandtBoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews