We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing villa!”
House back view of pool and outside sitting area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House back view of pool and outside sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
House back view of pool and outside sitting area
Master bedroom suite
Living room area
Front courtyard garden with waterfall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
baltodeni...
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing villa!”
Reviewed November 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

It's an incredible property. The house and grounds are simply amazing. The house has everything that you could want. Wonderful restaurants are just a short drive away but you may just want to stay at the house and enjoy the pool and the view. Our only surprise were the two scorpions that greeted us our first morning that apparently were guests before we arrived. Thanks to google we learned that none of the 12 species of Costa Rican are dangerous. So...no worries!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quelopher
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Villa”
Reviewed October 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The house is beautiful and big with a cozy feeling. Sound system was awesome. The beach was very close. You can cut through Oceanica. Makes the trek a little less straining. Not much. Don't need to turn the AC on. Just open all the doors when you wake up in the morning. The ocean breeze keeps the house cool all day. The only time we turned the AC on was in our room for bedtime. The toilets are a bit finicky. Had to call maintenance twice. There was also construction going on. You could hear them banging away behind us and directly next to us. This would start everyday around 8AM. We were never visited by monkeys or coatis. Instead visited by a skunk twice!! All in all this house is spectacular. The views are amazing and concierge service is at the highest level. Oh yeah, good luck with figuring out which light switch does what.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: house, pool, sound system, location
Liked least: going up and down the hill to the beach
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K
Duluth, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Trip of a Lifetime”
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We traveled with our adult children (20-26). Everyone loved the house and the views out to Flamingo Beach. We felt like millionaires! Phem from Special Places was very easy to deal with during the booking process. The house has loads of charm and is so unique. There are so many architectural details and decor details to absorb. From the front entrance's sunken courtyard with waterfall, to the palms framing the magical view over the infinity pool down to Flamingo Beach, we were spoiled rotten. We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather, and enjoyed excursions to Playa Grande, Playa Danta (Las Catalinas), Playa Conchal, and a great charter sail on Serendipity Charter out of Flamingo. We loved Coco Loco, and had our first night's dinner there, after a champagne toast at villa (thanks again to Phem for having our fridge stocked and champagne on ice). The Surf Box is an awesome spot for foodies, everything is delish. We fell in love with Costa Rica. We will never forget our splurge vacation at this house. It was worth every penny to have this experience at this gorgeous, one-of-a-kind property. Thank you again to Phem and Special Places for helping us select and enjoy our time at this amazing property! ps, we hired Chef Hugo of PrivateChefCostaRica and he made us a meal to die for. Gracias from the bottom of our hearts!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolfDiva7...
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best vacation EVER!”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This house is absolutely amazing! It is private (surrounded by locked gate), quite and well appointed. We traveled here as 4 couples and we all had our own private wing. My husband & I booked this house bc of the outdoor shower outside of our room which is surrounded by a partial concrete wall for privacy. I showered out there every night watching the sunset. The dining table was large enough for us all to sit at and the open living/kitchen area was spacious. I loved that the entire back of the house opened up to the outside. We spent all day by the pool listening to music via the sound system and had lots of laughs dancing. At night sitting on the porch we were visited by Coati which was a treat. Iguanas & monkeys everywhere. This place was a GREAT value at only about $1050 per couple for 7 days!!! We will definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieBee1...
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home With Perfect Ocean Views”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We rented this house with a group of friends. It was exactly what we were hoping for and beyond. The entire time we stayed at the home we would always point out a new detail that we'd found in the meticulous design of the home. The view is absolutely amazing of Flamingo Beach. You can hear the waves crashing against the shore. However, as other reviewers have noted the walk down and back up to Playa Flamingo is very daunting. Unless you are in amazing shape and can handle extreme heat I would strongly advise getting a rental car. The town of Flamingo and the surrounding areas are easily accessible and it's easy to find your way around after the first day or so of exploring.

All of us had our own en suite bathrooms and everyone was really happy with our rooms. We spent a lot of time in the pool and relaxing outside looking at the ocean.

When you rent this house you go through a booking agency called Special Places. I highly recommend this agency since their concierge services were top notch. They helped hook our group up with multiple excursions as well as airport transport, rental cars, and were on hand to help with any special requests. They also booked massages for some in our group after we arrived. Their services were very welcome since none of us had been to Costa Rica before and were uncertain what to do there or how to get around. It was great to have their company handle it all for us. So, when you book this house you are really signing up for the peace of mind that there are people there who help with all aspects of your vacation.

Overall, this house is really a dream home. I would highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the overall details of the house design
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
live4wknd...
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great view and open concept living”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I agree with the other reviewers, this house is all about the view. We were thrilled when we walked in. The main living space (kitchen, dining room, living room) has high ceilings and have doors that open the living room and dining room to the outdoor patio and infinity pool. Special Spaces recommended a chef - Juan - from Let Me Cook for You that I also recommend. Juan was very nice, the food was great, and it was nice to not have to eat out after a full day outdoors. Know before you go:

Configuration: The house was almost perfect for our family of 4 (we have a 10 and 8 year old). Our kids shared the bed in the second bedroom. However, this house is not configured for every family. Only two of the four bedrooms are connected inside the house. The third bedroom has an outside entrance from the front court yard and the owners suite (4th bedroom) is up a set of stairs outside by the pool. Even though the courtyard and back patio are secured by gates and motion-sensored alarm system, we weren't comfortable having one of our kids sleep in the third bedroom.

Location: Because it has elevated water views, it's not on the beach. Just a 10 minute walk down the hill to the beach, but I couldn't see us all walking back up the hill at the end of the day with all of the stuff. We drove down. We were there the week of Easter and it was a little hectic and congested down at the beach and not a lot of waves. We ended up spending the next two days at Playa Grande for the waves for boogie boarding and surfing and the fact that it's a beautiful big beach.

Special Places: The staff were extremely helpful leading up to this trip. They answered all my emails within hours. They arranged to have groceries at the house when we got there and as I mentioned, they recommended a great chef, and made dinner reservations. We had one rental/scheduling snafu. I mention it so you know to try and avoid when you book. We were looking for a partial week rental which is really hard to find, especially the week of Easter. We were lucky that this house was available Tuesday-Saturday. However, they said they required a minimum of a 5 night stay, even though we only needed 4. I understood and was willing to pay it. When I booked it I had asked them to let me know if they were able to find another renter and never heard anything back. We were surprised when a Special Places staff member showed up at our door Saturday morning saying they needed to start cleaning for the renter arriving later that afternoon. They never told us, they are getting paid twice for the same night, and I didn't appreciate being rushed out early when I had paid for the additional 24 hours.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, living space, and patio/pool
Liked least: The Beach
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jess_krat...
West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Absolute Best Place in Costa Rica”
Reviewed September 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This house was amazing, so much more than we could ever have asked for. I will always remember that feeling when we walked in the doors and saw the view. We were all speechless. Gorgeous property with perfect up keep. We are already planning our next trip back to it. We went with a group of 6 adults, if you are debating on a house or a resort RENT A HOUSE!!! It was perfect.

You can walk to the beach from this house but it is a workout! We choose to drive and park. About a 2 minute drive. No biggie. The view, the house, the property management is top notch!

Favorite vacation I have ever been on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: Wish we would have stayed longer.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing