We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Place, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Monkey Bar

Monkey Bar
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: A quaint and cozy casual lunch and dining with most spectacular views in the area with swim up bar and fun and happy hour! High season special events like Thanksgiving & Superbowl!
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average Place, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stopped here for late dinner and drinks 1 night. Nicely placed in Flamingo. I can't say anything stuck with me when we left. Nice pool good view of Flamingo Bay. Not a sunset view. Would recommend checking it out just don't expect a huge "Bar" scene. Good drinks specials

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    56
    38
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average place with a great view of Flamingo Bay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

What a change!! The welcoming atmosphere of the past is gone. Still a great view but the service was lacking and the drinks are ridiculously priced:$7.50 for a 12oz smoothie with NO Actual fruit in it? Seriously? Didn't bother ordering food. In the past it was ordinary and slightly overpriced. It's been a couple of years since I was here and the familiar, friendly bartenders are gone. Replaced with slow, disinterested servers. They removed all the Tshirts that had decorated the thatched roof but left the monkeys. They filled in the largest pool and made it a sand soccer court! They also shut down the pretty and refreshing waterfall near the former large pool. Change can be good but not these changes.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary1383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford Hills, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ehhh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I was reading much more hype about this, but when we got there, the food wasn't all that great and the staff was ok. There are much better options around to choose from.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Afternoon delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We had late lunch and drinks in bar area. Food was good, but drinks were fabulous. Bartender made me great non-alcoholic iced tea( hard to find around here). Great view and pleasant evnvironment!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DorothyLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place to drink...not so much to eat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed right next door to the Monkey Bar in one of the condos so stopped in here twice during our weeklong stay. Stopped in for late night drinks after dinner at Angelina's one night and then enjoyed cocktails and a snack of wings during the NFC and AFC championship games.
The specialty drinks are resort area priced(a little high) and you can get a bucket of beer for a little under $3 per beer which isn't terrible(there are cheaper places in the area for a beer though).
The atmosphere is nice with the open air and thatched roof. The service is extremely good. As far as the food I can only report on the wings and what we noticed during our visit. The wings were only mediocre and from what we could see this is a place where folks come to drink but we didn't see a lot of people eating which I think says something. The bar was relatively crowded both times we were there so it is a popular spot and worth a try if in Playa Flamingo.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kurttj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Bar also viewed

Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Monkey Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing