We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view and great food”
Review of Mar Y Sol Restaurant - CLOSED

Mar Y Sol Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome view and great food”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I hiked up the hill which was well worth it! The view is amazing! Food is delicious too. We ate in bar and my swordfish was heavenly and her stuffed lobster was delish! The lobster came out in an awesome presentation! A must visit place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari_Colo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    44
    16
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great views Y horrible overpriced food.”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Do not order the stuffed lobster with rissotto. No bueno!!!! Big portion of crap. That is not rissotto to begin with. And the lobster was overcooked and not good quality. I also had the beef skewers which were seasoned well. Unfortunately they came out charred on the outside and raw in the middle. When they came back a second time they were charred and medium rare. I had originally ordered them medium well. The desert of mo;ten chocolate was ok. Probably the best thing I ate. Very disappointing from all the reviews. Not a high-end place for the price. After all, IT IS A RESTAURANT!!! Yes the views are nice & you can enjoy a great sunset, but for my money I would also like to have a good meal for over $100 US. No? Skip this place if you are in Flamingo. There are other options.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYC_Travelin_Band
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and a sunset view!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Walking onto the second floor of Mar Y Sol restaurant took my breath away. The view looking out over Playa Flamingo is unsurpassed by any other location in the area. And when the sun set the world around us glowed.
The food and drinks were very good as was the service. I enjoyed the house moijito;made with passion fruit, along with three flavours of ceviche before eating an entree of Coconut and the Sea, a meal made up of mussels, shrimp, lobster and fish cooked in coconut milk.
If the food and view were not enough a duo from Montreal Canada played guitar throughout the evening adding to the ambiance.
I would encourage anyone looking for drinks and appetizers, or a romantic dinner for two to visit Mar Y Sol as soon as possible.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sunset View Spectacular and Food to Match!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We walked up the hill from our hotel and were warmly welcomed by the staff at the Mar Y Sol Restaurant. The view is spectacular! We'd recommend enjoying a drink as you watch the sunset and then order dinner. The service was excellent and the food first class! We enjoyed a wonderful salad, lobster and their red snapper special. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscerningTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best food and view”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

While in Flamingo you cannot miss this spot. It is simply lovely.
Either the restaurant or the bar are fabulous. Go to the upstairs bar to watch the sunset..then return for a wonderful meal. The best in town

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank 21504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mar Y Sol Restaurant also viewed

Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing