We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Dinner for Four”
Review of The Lookout

The Lookout
Reserve with OpenTable
The Lookout is not available through our online partner for your requested time.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 125 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Lookout is a seafood restaurant and oyster bar located in Playas Del Coco, Guanacaste. We are the first and only restaurant in town to stock live oysters, to be eaten raw on the half shell or prepared in a number of other ways. We are also the first and only place in town to serve Costa Rican craft beers on tap. The view from our establishment is truly priceless and the menu showcases the freshest seafood that the Pacific has to offer. We hope to see you soon!
Reviewed January 28, 2019

We went for dinner as two couples on the recommendation of a friend who used to run the kitchen there. Everyone we asked about the restaurant raved over its food, drinks, and LOCATION! As it was a short ride from the strip of playa del coco.

Fried avocado slices, wakame salad, lobster sandwich and the tacos!

10/10 would recommend

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank wendylittles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa P, Manager at The Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2019

Thank you so much to take the time a write such a nice review!! Hope to see you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 528 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2019 via mobile

Great staff & location. The menu and decor of the restaurant has been improved by the new management.

The vegetarian burger is just a veggie sandwich.... there should be a burger in it.

It killed me to see that the drinks are presented with plastic straws... this is bottom line unacceptable in the most ecologically friendly country in the world. Management needs to address this ASAP. There is plenty of options...

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank wanderlusting1823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2019

We stayed in the penthouse right under the restaurant. We had a brunch and a couple dinners there. Service was awesome, so was the food. We happened to be there New Year's Eve and the live music and view of Playa del Coco's fireworks was great! They also cooked our catch for us!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robzworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa P, Manager at The Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2019

Thank you so much to take the time and write us a review!! Hope to see you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2019

Surprisingly not busy for a Friday night which raised concerns. Concerns quickly negated by first course, drinks and service. We were 2 couples. Given a beautiful patio table overlooking Playa del Coco. All our entrees where excellent and abundant. I had the Octopus Tacos. One of us had the Nachos that could have easily been shared. We met
the manager who was very gracious and the service should be imported to the Canadian food service industry!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TimSurette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa P, Manager at The Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2019

Thank you so much to take the time and write us this nice review!! Hope that you will have the opportunity to come back and try more!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2019 via mobile

Went to see the sunset over the bay. Excellent views, great service, friendly staff. We tried the seafood bowls and they were great.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Cvandeusen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa P, Manager at The Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2019

Thank you so much!! It was a pleasure to have you here!! hope to see you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lookout also viewed

Playa Ocotal, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to The Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing