We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Villa Del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Del Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

A group of us had rented the entire house for ourselves. Everything was provided for us and the place was wonderful. The owners were very nice and always around and more than happy to help us out. It is guarded 24 hours a day and is very secure at night. The a/c in each room was wonderful and needed.
Its located close to all the major attractions around Playa del coco and steps from the beach. We didnt pay for our rooms individually so i cant comment on the price of it. If i felt it was a true bargin I would have rated it 5 stars but I have no idea what a nights stay costs or includes.
Villa del coco appeared to be one of the nicer places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erice759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 88 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were a bit anxious wether to go or not to Playa del coco. A friend tipped us this hotel. We stayed in a room. Spacious well mantained, friendly staff , lovely swimming pool and only less than 100 meters from the quiet part of the beach on 15 min walk from the vibrant night centre with all the action ! Well done. We loved it

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GerritOus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a studio at Villa del Sol. As it's away from the town center it's very quiet. But you have only 3 minutes to the beach. The studios are very big and have a fully equipped kitchen. We always prepared our meals there. There is a fridge and also a TV in the room. The Villa has a nice pool where you can relax and the kids can play. The place is safe and they have a big parking lot inside the compound. All in all a very nice place to relax for a few days. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

A very nice place to stay at Playa del Coco.

Just a few steps from the beach, near Cafe del Playa, a good quiet and charming place to eat, drink and enjoy the Coco Beach. A 30min walk from downtown or a 3min taxi ride.

Serge, the owner, was very attention and polite, helping us with all our questions.

A very quiet place, where you wake up hearing the sounds of the waves and birds. Also a good swimming pool and breakfast.

Thanks Serge.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielJunqueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We've stayed 4 nights at Villa Del Sol. Everything was perfect. The studio was clean, we had A/C in the room and we had everything we need in the room. Serge, the owner, is very sweet and give you greats advices about the region and things to do!!! The breakfast was georgeous and all the staff was polite and seem happy to be there for you!!! It's very close to the beach and the village.

If you go to Playa Del Coco, go there you will have a great time!!!

Room Tip: The Studio with kitchen is perfect!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I went here this summer with a group of my friends! We had the greatest time! The breakfast was great; lots of fresh fruit! The rooms were really comfy! The pool was amazing! The staff was the greatest! They always had a smile on their faces, and they tried their very best to give us everything we needed/wanted :) Overall, best experience & will come back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are the best! You have a great view of the sunrise & sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperFutureMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

we had 13 family stay in the house at villa del sol for 10 days.its beautiful grounds, pool,rustic style home were perfect for our needs.the kitchen was well equipped which was great as we ate in most of the time.there was more than enough room.my husband and i stayed in the back of the house and enjoyed our own private garden.the employees bend over backwards for you and serge the owner is so pleasant.he helped us with all our transportation needs,sometimes with very little notice.i recommend this villa,but if your looking for the ritz this isnt the place for you.the house was clean and well decorated.it had a telephone,internet and pool.good times had by all.my grandchildren loved it too.thanks serge

Room Tip: great family home
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sperley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
0.8 mi away
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
#7 of 11 in Playas del Coco
283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
189 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Chantel Suites
Hotel Chantel Suites
#3 of 11 in Playas del Coco
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
#5 of 11 in Playas del Coco
155 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Sol

Address: | Barrio La Chorrera, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Playas del Coco
Price Range: $53 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Del Sol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel B&B and studios rentals in Playa del Coco just 150 meters from the beach, secluded yet close to all services in Coco. We have a pool, private parking, night guard, WI-FI. All bedrooms have air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Sol Hotel Playas Del Coco
Villa Del Sol Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing