We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Americano”
Review of Hotel Coco Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Coco Palms
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach VA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast Americano”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

The North American breakfast here is sure to make Canadians & Americans sing it's praises. I've lived in Coco for nearly 5 months, and there are a load of restaurants that do a American style Breakfast -- Most of whom are just, well-- crap. Not so at Coco Palms.

The Americano breakfast, has 3 pancakes, 2 eggs any style, choice of bacon, or pork sausage, and hash browns. All served on an outdoor patio, in the shade, with plenty of fans circulating air. It's about 10$ with a bottled Coke, but worth every penny.

Best I've had here in 5 months.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Christiandv8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCocoPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coco Palms, responded to this review, September 23, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Hotel Coco Palms. We are glad you got to enjoy our great location and welcoming staff . Thank you for your recommendations to future travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    49
    19
    11
    10
See reviews for
32
72
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed at Coco Palms 2 nights in Dec, while waiting for family to arrive. Was a good stay, comfortable room and decent breakfast. Staff was friendly and helpful. Nice pool and patio.

We again were there for 2 nights at the end of our stay. The first night we were in a tiny upstairs room. Loud music from a private yard back of the hotel kept us up most of the night. Staff explained that it was a private party, not usual, and switched us to the much larger room downstairs. The next night was fine. I would not recommend the upstairs room for that reason. I am not sure how often this occurs, but we were not compensated for a sleepless night.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs are larger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCocoPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coco Palms, responded to this review, September 23, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Hotel Coco Palms. We are glad you got to enjoy our great location and welcoming staff . Thank you for your recommendations to future travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We wound up staying at the Hotel Coco Palms after Laura's Guest House refused to honor our reservation and deposit (see my review of Laura's for more on her reprehensible behavior). Coco Palms is an older hotel and the rooms show their age. But they are clean and comfortable. The hotel has a great pool and patio which my kids really enjoyed. The location is great, both close to the beach and off the main (and quite noisy) drag. The owners are very helpful and gave us a great recommendation on a beach - Bahia Pez Vela, about a $10 cab ride away is much prettier than Playas del Coco, has a tiny fraction of the people and also offers decent snorkeling (you'll need to rent equipment in Coco). We were happy with the Hotel Coco Palms and I suspect you will be as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BianchiDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCocoPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coco Palms, responded to this review, September 23, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Hotel Coco Palms. We are glad you got to enjoy our great location and welcoming staff . Thank you for your recommendations to future travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Arrived at playa del coco in the afternoon looking for a place to stay that night. Upon our arrival we met Kevin, who I can't say enough nice things about. Not only did Kevin give us a great deal on a newly renovated room near the pool, he was an overall great guy. Hotel is really close to the beach and the bars/restaurant life. Fyi - playa del coco seems to get a little rough after dark, just use some common sense.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrittSchlimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCocoPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coco Palms, responded to this review, September 23, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Hotel Coco Palms. We are glad you got to enjoy our great location and welcoming staff . Thank you for your recommendations to future travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had business in Playa del Coco and arrived at Hotel Coco Palms looking for a couple of rooms. The staff was very friendly and located two perfect rooms to accommodate our business and comfort needs. The room was very comfortable right off the Patio/restaurant. The food was excellent and even cooked the Mai Mai we caught. We had a lot of stress involved in our business dealings and the staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Thank you again!
James and Jean

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tueriste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCocoPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coco Palms, responded to this review, September 23, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Hotel Coco Palms. We are glad you got to enjoy our great location and welcoming staff . Thank you for your recommendations to future travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

It is only a block away from the beach. Near a small strip of restaurants, shops, and a supermarket. There's a convenience store adjacent to the hotel as well. The room was small but clean and had a tv, mini fridge, and free wifi. The pool was nice and the pool bar had good food. The hotel breakfast was good as well. The owner was very friendly and even told us about a private beach that the locals only know how to get to however we went to a different beach nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BK0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCocoPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coco Palms, responded to this review, September 23, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Hotel Coco Palms. We are glad you got to enjoy our great location and welcoming staff . Thank you for your recommendations to future travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

1. Warm and friendly staff (very accommodating)
2. Clean ( rooms, pool, bar, ect)
3. Quiet , neat, and exclusive in nice little jungle like setting
4. Dead center of everything ( restaurants, bars/ clubs, shopping, and beach) all walking distance!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCocoPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Coco Palms, responded to this review, September 23, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Hotel Coco Palms. We are glad you got to enjoy our great location and welcoming staff . Thank you for your recommendations to future travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
#7 of 11 in Playas del Coco
272 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Chantel
Hotel Chantel
#2 of 11 in Playas del Coco
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
2.4 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
357 reviews
4.2 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coco Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Palms

Property: Hotel Coco Palms
Address: Downtown Coco | across from Soccer Field, off the Beach, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coco Palms 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Palms Hotel and Restaurant located in Playas del Coco one of the fastest growing tourist areas of the Gulf of Papagayo and one of the most popular holiday destinations for Costa Rican and foreign tourists. This growing resort community is located 30 km from Daniel Oduber International Airport. Coco Palms features a cool environment surrounded by a tropical garden with outdoor seating by the pool with the soothing sound of the decorative fountains. This place brings variety of services including hotel, restaurant, 24-hour Market and 2 function rooms. In the restaurant Coco Palms can enjoy your meals around the pool surrounded by a beautiful garden enlivened music. Enjoy international cuisine with specialties Sushi and Thai food. In the bar you can find a variety of national and international spirits, cocktails of tropical fruits and natural beverages. It has 49 comfortable rooms in different Standard, Suite, Studios, Apartments categories (equipped), all properly equipped with queen or king beds, pelol dryer (to request), coffee maker, Minirefri, air conditioning, telephone, hot water, facilities that will provide total comfort in your room. We have single occupancy rooms, double and triple. We have a small library if you do not bring your book or share one already finished. We offer FREE Wireless Internet Calls to USA & CANADA FREE (from Reception) Rates do not include breakfast. We have special packages for groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Coco Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Palms Hotel
Hotel Coco Palms Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing