We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michelin stars now!”
Review of Restaurante La Farola - CLOSED

Restaurante La Farola
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Abierto de 5pm a 10pm de Lunes a Sabado. Domingos cerrado. Open from 5pm to 10pm Monday to Saturday. Sundays closed.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Michelin stars now!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We are a family of chefs and had a superb experience here worthy of the finest restaurants worldwide.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jannabelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A V, Propietario at Restaurante La Farola, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you very much.

It have been a honor to share two evenings in your company.

We hope to see you soon.

Best regards

Carlos Viloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    17
    5
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Five Stars: a complete surprise to find in El Coco”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Located away from downtown in Las Palmas (beach road North), behind other restaurants, La Farola turned out to serve a fantastic dinner, one that would have been a treat in NY, San Francisco or in Spain. Excellent regional Spanish cuisine cooked and served perfectly in a beautifully-furnished small restaurant. The gaspacho was world class, and I loved the octopus. The Russian Salad was a treat, and my friends loved the meatballs with green sauce. This is a family restaurant with heart and soul. If you are nearby, don't miss it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Other1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A V, Propietario at Restaurante La Farola, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for your comments.
Our goal is to make you feel as you are in Spain and make you feel as part of our family.

We are glad for have shared that evening with you.

Best regards

Carlos Viloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“AWESOME family owned and operated restaurant!!!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

thank you very much for making us feel at home to your restaurant!!! thanks you for making my daughter's 14th birthday such a memorable experience! even though we are far away from home, you made us feel like part of your family! muchas gracias senora concha, daniel, and carlos!!!

here is a link to a video when we are being served by the owner/chef herself:
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10201584188667765&set=vb.1269382236&type=2&theater

sincerely,
raphael maglonzo

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raphael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A V, Propietario at Restaurante La Farola, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks a lot for this amazing comment.
Sharing those moments with you and your family was also a great experience for all of us.
We will keep in contact.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
1 review
“First class in El Coco”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have had dinner at the restaurant twice in the last month. Both times we had great food and service. The restaurant is the best in town and would be a great restaurant anywhere in the world. It is a bit expensive for everyday dining but well worth the expense for a fine meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A V, Propietario at Restaurante La Farola, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment.
We really enjoy the moments that all of you spend with us.
We can not wait until your next visit.
Thanks again.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Hermosa, Cartago, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my best dining experiences!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a wonderful dinner we had tonight at La Farola! My husband and I live in the area and are always looking for new places to dine. We went to La Farola tonight with good friends and are so happy that we did. This family owned restaurant is pretty new, having opened in May 2013. The owners came from Spain and are serving up traditional Spanish meals. They have imported most of the decorations and serving pieces from Spain. Incredible service was given by Daniel, one of the sons of the chef/owner who also came to our table to make sure that we enjoyed her cooking. The sangria was the best that I have had and we are looking forward to a return visit and ordering the lobster paella (word of caution - if you want paella and are somewhat in a hurry it is best to call ahead and order as it takes 45 minutes to prepare) and spending another relaxing evening. They strive to make you feel as if you are part of their family!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A V, Propietario at Restaurante La Farola, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks a lot for your comment, and also about the Paella information.
We hope to see you back soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante La Farola also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing