We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fishing experience”

Dream On Sport Fishing
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,500.00*
and up
All-Inclusive Deep Sea Fishing Day Trip in Costa...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We work hard at making your day on the water the best it can be. I encourage you to read all our reviews then call us. Our fishing trips are the best there are in Costa Rica! The Dream On is a luxurious fishing vessel that has twin 300 hp Caterpillar diesel engines, live bait well, tuna tubes, Penn International and Shimano professional grade tackle and tons more lures than any boat. We almost always catch fish! Our crew is bi-lingual in spanish and english and work hard to provide every client on every trip, a fantastic fishing experience. Full day rate for 1-6 people is $1300, half day rate for 1-6 people is $800. We can take a maximum of 6 people on the Dream On, a 10m (33ft) Blackfin cabin cruiser. We pick up our clients on the beach, usually in front of their hotel, using our small skiff. We will pick up clients anywhere from just north of the Playa Flamingo Marina Beach to the 4 Seasons on the tip of the Papagayo Peninsula. If you are staying south of Playa Flamingo, we can arrange transportation at a reasonable cost. EVERYTHING IS INCLUDED IN OUR FISHING TRIP except for the tip for the crew. We provide fresh made lunches, snacks, fresh fruits, and beverages. We can try to provide for any special request if given at least one day notice and if there is any added cost, we'll let you know beforehand. Pura Vida! Over the past 5 years, we have had only excellent and very good reviews and a year ago, one terrible review from a lady on 3 different medications, who apparently got very sea sick. Her friends paid to fish a full day and refused to return early, so she gave us a nasty review. Had I known she was over medicated, I would have insisted she not board the boat. Your comfort and safety are the number one priority!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The boat and crew were very professional and had everything we needed.
We had an excellent time during our 4 hour half-day trip and caught 3 Mahi Mahi. They dressed out at over 20 lbs and feed another 3 people for two meals.
This was my 17 yr old son's first fishing trip and he is ready for more. He caught two of the fish and the deck hand helped him bring in the big one.
We were staying at my sister's above the Riu resorts and the Dream On met us on the beach in front of the hotels. We were served fresh fruit and drinks were available.
I would recommend this charter to anyone wanting to fish in the Playa del Coco area

3  Thank CRFishingFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyspate, Owner at Dream On Sport Fishing, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Hola John,

Glad to hear your son's first fishing trip was with us and that the fish were biting so he also got to do some catching as well!

We work hard to provide the best experience possible and love hearing about how the fish you caught feed a few people a couple of tasty meals.

We'll be waiting for your return to fish another day on the Dream On and thank you for taking time to share your experience with others.

Thanks again and pura vida,
Randy, Adelso and Errol
Owner and Crew of the Dream On

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"blue marlin"
in 16 reviews
"captain angel"
in 11 reviews
"fish"
in 113 reviews
"these guys"
in 27 reviews
"mahi mahi"
in 34 reviews
"yellowfin"
in 4 reviews
"top notch"
in 18 reviews
"deck hand"
in 6 reviews
"costa rica"
in 47 reviews
"great boat"
in 10 reviews
"great trip"
in 14 reviews
"hard working crew"
in 3 reviews
"bucket list"
in 6 reviews
"sashimi"
in 5 reviews
"knew what they were doing"
in 3 reviews
"fresh fruit"
in 9 reviews
"red snapper"
in 5 reviews
Filter

193 - 197 of 253 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

Spent two days on the water with the Dream On fishing team. Had great success landing 12 sailfish, mahi mahi, wahoo, tuna and blue runners. Fishing was steady. Crew was excellent. It was obvious that they took their job of putting us on fish very seriously, and I believe that was a big part of our success! Thanks guys for a great couple of days of fishing!

3  Thank Tyler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyspate, Owner at Dream On Sport Fishing, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Hola Tyler and thank you for taking time to give us an excellent review!

We're glad to hear the fishing here keeps living up to expectations and that your group had 2 really great days on the water here in paradise!

We're always ready to do all we can to put our clients on fish and then work hard to make sure that you get them to the boat.

We'll look forward to seeing you here in on the water in paradise and the Dream On and our team will be ready to do it all over again!

Pura vida and thanks again,
Randy, Adelso and Errol
Owner and Crew of the Dream On

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have fished two times with this boat and what can I say other than excellent! The crew is amazing and very professional. If you whant to try real big game fishing, this is the boat you should go with.

2  Thank PhilipJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyspate, Owner at Dream On Sport Fishing, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Hola Philip!

Thanks for fishing with us 2 days while you were here from Sweden... We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with trip advisor readers from around the world!

We love hearing our clients tell us they had a great time and then fish with us again for a second day on the water on the Dream On.

Adelso and Errol work hard with all of our clients to make sure you day or days with us are very memorable and enjoyable. The bonus is the fresh fish on the table for dinner that same night!

Safe travels on your way back to Sweden and will look forward to seeing you here again in paradise soon!

Thank you and pura vida,
Randy, Adelso and Errol,
Owner and Crew of the
Dream On

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Dream on Sport fishing charter was the best fishing trip I’ve ever been on. The owner was awesome to work with and even went out of his way to book us on one if their days off because of our schedule availability. The boat was exceptionally clean compared to other fishing boats I’ve been on and has plenty of room for walking around and lounging. The food that was packed for our lunch was delicious and fresh. The captain and crew were very professional and polite. They are also highly experienced, which could be seen when they were luring fish in and getting them to take the bait. We caught 2 huge Mahi Mahi and had 2 Blue Marlins on the line. Overall the day was a great success! I highly recommend this charter to anyone that wants to have an awesome day of catching fish in Costa Rica.

2  Thank FingerLakesNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyspate, Owner at Dream On Sport Fishing, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Hola and thank you!

We work hard to make sure we can fish when are clients are available and knowing your group was short on time, Sunday was ok with us.

I saw the bags of fillets from the mahi mahi and know you enjoyed a great dinner later that night!

I'm equally glad to hear you were impressed with the cleanliness of the boat and how hard Adelso and Errol work to make sure your time on the Dream On is a very memorable experience.

Give us call anytime you're ready to fish again and thanks for taking the time to give us an excellent review.

Thank you and pura vida,
Randy, Adelso and Errol
Owner and Crew of the
Dream On

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The Dream On was a great boat with friendly staff. We had a family of 6 with kids ages ranging from 17 to 6 y/o. Everyone caught fish including 3 beautiful sail fish. We saw dolphins, turtles, leaping sting rays, flying fish, and manta rays. The crew made sure that we caught a smaller Bonita for my 6 y/o daughter. Great memories in Costa Rica.
I was a bit nervous about paying a deposit in advance, but everything was legitimate and exceeded my expectations.

2  Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyspate, Owner at Dream On Sport Fishing, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Hi Aaron!

Thanks again for fishing with us and taking time to give us an excellent review. We love hearing about families having a wonderful time on the water while fishing with us.

We work hard to make sure all the details are taken care of and that everyone has fun.

We almost always see the dolphins, turtles and manta rays and they just add to the fun of catching fish.

We'll look forward to seeing you again in the land of pura vida and will keep the lines tight and the light on!

Thank you and pura vida,
Randy, Adelso and Errol
Owner and Crew of the
Dream On

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dream On Sport Fishing also viewed

Gulf of Papagayo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Dream On Sport Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing