We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day of fishing”

Dream On Sport Fishing
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,100.00*
and up
Half-Day Deep Water Fishing Charter
More Info
$1,500.00*
and up
All-Inclusive Deep Sea Fishing Day Trip in Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We work hard at making your day on the water the best it can be. I encourage you to read all our reviews then call us. Our fishing trips are the best there are in Costa Rica! The Dream On is a luxurious fishing vessel that has twin 300 hp Caterpillar diesel engines, live bait well, tuna tubes, Penn International and Shimano professional grade tackle and tons more lures than any boat. We almost always catch fish! Our crew is bi-lingual in spanish and english and work hard to provide every client on every trip, a fantastic fishing experience. Full day rate for 1-6 people is $1300, half day rate for 1-6 people is $800. We can take a maximum of 6 people on the Dream On, a 10m (33ft) Blackfin cabin cruiser. We pick up our clients on the beach, usually in front of their hotel, using our small skiff. We will pick up clients anywhere from just north of the Playa Flamingo Marina Beach to the 4 Seasons on the tip of the Papagayo Peninsula. If you are staying south of Playa Flamingo, we can arrange transportation at a reasonable cost. EVERYTHING IS INCLUDED IN OUR FISHING TRIP except for the tip for the crew. We provide fresh made lunches, snacks, fresh fruits, and beverages. We can try to provide for any special request if given at least one day notice and if there is any added cost, we'll let you know beforehand. Pura Vida! Over the past 5 years, we have had only excellent and very good reviews and a year ago, one terrible review from a lady on 3 different medications, who apparently got very sea sick. Her friends paid to fish a full day and refused to return early, so she gave us a nasty review. Had I known she was over medicated, I would have insisted she not board the boat. Your comfort and safety are the number one priority!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great day of fishing”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nice boat, captain and crew. We caught several sails, some tuna and mahi mahi. Hooked quite a few that didn't make it all the way in (our rookie fisherman...lol),
Would highly recommend this boat and crew.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cpstaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyspate, Owner at Dream On Sport Fishing, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Hola Curt,

We're always glad to hear the boat, the crew and the fishing were top notch! Thanks for taking time to give us an excellent review and sharing your experience!

Thanks again for fishing with us and we'll look forward to seeing you again here in the pura vida land of Costa Rica!

Pura vida and thanks to all in your group,
Randy, Adelso & Errol (the owner & crew)
Dream On SportFishing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    12
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, Usa
1 review
“Great time!!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Highly recommend this boat!! Randy and his crew were great and many fish were caught, including a sailfish!! The crew took great pictures. They cleaned and prepped the fish which we cooked on the grill that night. Loved it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyspate, Owner at Dream On Sport Fishing, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hola Susan!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience here on trip advisor. We were glad to hear your boys had a great time on the Dream On.

We do all we can to bring the fish to the boat and they did awesome for a half day! Nothing like having fresh fillets for dinner the same day the fish were caught!

We'll look forward to seeing you here in paradise again real soon and thanks again for fishing with us!

Pura vida!
Randy, Adelso and Errol
Dream On Sportfishing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deland, Florida, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rockin' on the Dream On!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was undoubtedly the best fishing trip I have ever been on! I'm a Floridian and do a LOT of fishing - have been on a lot of charter boats. The captain and mate were the best I have ever seen. Their knowledge of the waters and their expertise in working the lines were awesome. Yes, we were in a location known as some of the best fishing in the world, but captain Adelso and mate Errol made the magic happen! A great boat with very nice equipment - all top of the line Penns and Shimanos. I highly recommend this charter. Our tip was so good (6 sails, all between 150 - 200 pounds, and some Mahi) we booked them again a few days later.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnRussellCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyspate, Owner at Dream On Sport Fishing, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks for fishing with us for 2 full days John!

We work hard for every group on every trip to make sure we do all we can to put the big ones (and some little ones) on board to make your trip one to remember.

Thanks for taking the time to give us an excellent review and we'll keep the lines tight and the tackle in top shape waiting for your return to paradise!

Thanks again and pura vida!
Randy, Adelso and Errol
Dream On Sportfishing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fish with the Pros in Costa Rica”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a top-notch trip. I've fished all over the Carribean and in Mexico on the Pacific coast on many different boats. Adelso and Errol are the most knowledgeable and aggressive team that I've had the pleasure to work with...6 big Pacific sails on our first trip with them. Really nice boat, new tackle...all Penn International and Shimano TLD's...highly recommended!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FarleyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyspate, Owner at Dream On Sport Fishing, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hola Farley!

Thank you and the guys for fishing with us and taking the time to give us an excellent review!

We love hearing our well oiled team work hard for our clients and that their skills and our equipment are top notch!

Costa Rican waters are filled with a huge variety of gamefish and to catch 6 big sail fish and 1 nice mahi mahi on a 1 day charter is a great day fishing!

Thanks for fishing with us on 2 separate full day trips and we'll look forward to seeing you and the guys back in paradise soon!

Thank you and pura vida!
Randy, Adelso and Errol
Dream On Sportfishing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas, Usa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“costa rica fishing at its finest”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and friends went in march 2013. They r still reliving the experience. Crew, excursion and fish were awesome :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Autumn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyspate, Owner at Dream On Sport Fishing, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hello Autumn and thank you for taking the time to give us an excellent review!

We're glad you were able to make memories that are still being talked about and re-lived months later!

Thanks again for fishing with us back in March and for giving us an excellent review! We'll look forward to seeing your group again soon here in paradise!

Thank you and pura vida,
Randy, Adelso and Errol
Owner and the Crew of the Dream On
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dream On Sport Fishing also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Gulf of Papagayo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Dream On Sport Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing