We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT FISHING”

Dream On Sport Fishing
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,100.00*
and up
Half-Day Deep Water Fishing Charter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We work hard at making your day on the water the best it can be. I encourage you to read all our reviews then call us. Our fishing trips are the best there are in Costa Rica! The Dream On is a luxurious fishing vessel that has twin 300 hp Caterpillar diesel engines, live bait well, tuna tubes, Penn International and Shimano professional grade tackle and tons more lures than any boat. We almost always catch fish! Our crew is bi-lingual in spanish and english and work hard to provide every client on every trip, a fantastic fishing experience. Full day rate for 1-6 people is $1300, half day rate for 1-6 people is $800. We can take a maximum of 6 people on the Dream On, a 10m (33ft) Blackfin cabin cruiser. We pick up our clients on the beach, usually in front of their hotel, using our small skiff. We will pick up clients anywhere from just north of the Playa Flamingo Marina Beach to the 4 Seasons on the tip of the Papagayo Peninsula. If you are staying south of Playa Flamingo, we can arrange transportation at a reasonable cost. EVERYTHING IS INCLUDED IN OUR FISHING TRIP except for the tip for the crew. We provide fresh made lunches, snacks, fresh fruits, and beverages. We can try to provide for any special request if given at least one day notice and if there is any added cost, we'll let you know beforehand. Pura Vida! Over the past 5 years, we have had only excellent and very good reviews and a year ago, one terrible review from a lady on 3 different medications, who apparently got very sea sick. Her friends paid to fish a full day and refused to return early, so she gave us a nasty review. Had I known she was over medicated, I would have insisted she not board the boat. Your comfort and safety are the number one priority!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Fort Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT FISHING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

To find a boat that will take 6 people out is a chore. Dream On Sport Fishing not only took 6 people but the rates were great.
We had plenty of room and the crew was awesome.
We saw plenty of dolphins and whales, as well as turtles.
We caught fish too! Bonus.
A great time!
We highly recommend this adventure in lovely Costa Rica!
Thanks for a great time Randy and Crew.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SeidelS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyspate, Owner at Dream On Sport Fishing, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We're glad you chose us and thank you for taking time to let others know we're serious about being the best fishing option here in Costa Rica! We do everything we can to insure a great trip!

We'll be looking forward to seeing you again when you return in December!

Thanks again and Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    12
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho, Usa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time for the whole family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was our best day in Costa Rica! Fishing with the Dream On, great scenery, catching fish, tuna and dorado, seeing turtles and the best part- fresh tuna on board!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyspate, Owner at Dream On Sport Fishing, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
It was great to have your family fish with us and spend a beautiful day on the water here in paradise!

Fresh caught yellowfin tuna means you will get fresh shashimi on board!

We appreciate your compliments and look forward to seeing you soon again on the Dream On!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good fishing - quality trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had the pleasure of taking a half day trip on the Dream On. It was a highly productive trip because we landed a huge sail fish and a few good eaters too. Great crew. Plenty of beer and a very fair rate.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDYBROWNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyspate, Owner at Dream On Sport Fishing, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We're glad you were able to come fishing with us even if only for a half day! Catching sailfish or marlin are always a bonus to catching the mahi mahi and tuna.. Thanks again for spending time on the water with us here in paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wish I live again to fish 18 Good Size (AND DELICIOUS) Mahi Mahis in ONE DAY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My name is Mari Brenes and I live in Playas del Coco over 5 years. I have been lucky to be able to go fishing with many different people and boats in my area. It is always a nice experience! It was my good pleasure to meet Randy Spate and been on his Dream On boat. All the experience was more than great. Arriving in the morning to Playa Ocotal, meeting his great crew, been incredibly confortable and go deep sea. Fast boat, great people. great snanks! Great way to start the day. Suddenly... we have over 18 fish on the boat!!!!! 18 which I counted where good size Mahi Mahis. I will never forget. Delicious Mahi Mahis dinner and a lot of happy family with all the fish I brought home. :) It was a great fishing day. Just been on this super nice Dream boat with Randy and his crew makes an incredible day. But I have to say it was what it was meant to me.... an incredibly unforgettable GREAT FISHING DAY!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mari300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyspate, Owner at Dream On Sport Fishing, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Wow a great day to land 18 mahi mahi for only 2 people fishing ... Errol loves to make fresh ceviche on the boat when we catch the mahi early in the day. It was a pleasure having you on board the Dream On and we'll anxiously await your return to fish again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best fishing day ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Thanks to Randy and his fantastic crew, we had the best fishing day ever!! Caught Rooster fish, Dorado and several others. It's a great boat, comfortable for several anglers. Thanks!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DixieVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyspate, Owner at Dream On Sport Fishing, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for spending a day on the water with us! Glad to hear the fish were biting and Errol on the gaff had his work cut out for him bringing the fish on board. Looking forward to having you join us again whenever you're ready! Pura Vida and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dream On Sport Fishing also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Dream On Sport Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing