We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awesome customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coco Beach & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

These guys really know how to care for people. Jorge the manager is great and will take care of you for sure. This is a great place to stay. I will stay again. The beds were by far the best I've slept on in Coco. Was very happy to have a real mattress.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rchernish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Rchernish, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Coco Beach Hotel. We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations… We are glad to hear that our staff helped efficiency and great service.
Thanks again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    93
    57
    19
    23
See reviews for
39
89
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

hotel had worst smelling toilets ever, had to keep bathroom door closed at all time so smell would not infiltrate room, also water pressure was literally a dribble if wanted a warm shower. in the first room given to us, the toilet was leaking all over the floor and shower walls covered with mildew. towels were the most worn out I have ever seen, location is on main street, so loud music until 3 am at night heard through doors. find another hotel unless you want to be on main street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Vim , let me start by apologizing for the feeling that was caused to you in during your experience with us, we sorry that your stay was not what you expected. As you might have read in some of our responses or reviews, we are under new management and these problems you mentioned have been brought to attention.
We know our shortcomings and we're working to bring the property up to par
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playas del Coco hotels

Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed at Coco Beach in early July and the hotel and staff were awesome. The food is great and the service is very good.
Mariela and Erick at the front desk were great and helped when asked ( with a smile )
Luis was great at arranging tours
It is a five minute walk to the beach and within close walking distance to the shops, other cafe's and the supermarket.
A WONDERFUL COZY HOTEL WITH GREAT SERVICE. Worth every penny spent !!!!

Brian

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Brian R ,

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Coco Beach Hotel. We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations… We are glad to hear that our staff helped efficiency and great service.

Thanks again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My friend and I stayed here from June 30th, 2014 to Jul 7th 2014. The staff was always very friendly, accommodating, polite & personable. Most of them speak english almost fluently. They were always happy to help if we had questions or needed advice. This is not a resort which was even better. Our rooms and the entire vicinity was always clean and well kept. It's a beautiful cozy little hotel smack dab in the middle of town and only a 5 minute walk to the beach. As far as non resort hotels in Coco Beach go, I'd have to say this is probably the nicest! I could go on and on about the hotel, but I think I'll end with the hotel manager...We only ever got one person's name which was Luis one of the concierge's (Not a fan) but the hotel manager, we saw him almost every day and not just at the hotel, in the local shops and restaurants. He always said hi and made sure we had everything we needed and made sure we were always taken care of.
Thank you to the staff of Coco Beach hotel for being part of our best vacation so far!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105. It was somewhat close to the lobby and far enough from the casino. The only t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hishoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Hishoelle , thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Coco Beach Hotel . We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.
Hopefully if we get a chance to serve you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Do not stay here if you are traveling with anything of value. The safe malfunctioned upon our arrival. Their repair man picked the lock to reset it, but it still didn't work. We considered locking valuables in our car, but the hotel parking was open to the main street and another car in the lot had its back window smashed in, so we opted to put the camera in a nightstand drawer while we were snorkeling and hid other valuables elsewhere. The camera was stolen from the room by staff. We notified the manager the day it disappeared but he was incapable of recovering it. We gave him 24 hours to interview staff and return the camera, but he only gave us excuses and said it was not there. The camera was expensive, but replaceable. The pictures of our daughter's first siting of a two-toed sloth, her captivation with the playful behavior of wild monkeys in trees overhead, her face lit up by the joy of having a hummingbird land on her finger - these images and many more are irreplaceable. They were on the memory chip stolen with the camera. Please do not reward the blatant dishonesty of this hotel with your business or your valuable belongings.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Virginia , thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Coco Beach Hotel. …As you might have read in some of our responses or reviews, we are under new management and these problems you mentioned have been brought to attention. We know our shortcomings and we're working to bring the property up to par .
We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

el lugar es muy comodo y sobre todo muy bonito. El restaurante tiene buena seleccion de comida y contiene una bar para unas bebidas ricas. El servicio fue muy agradable.
This place is very small and cozy. It has a restaurant with great food and a bar with awesome drinks. The staff/service was very friendly.

Room Tip: El lugar esta cerca de la playa y tambien tiene una piscina, ay lugares para baile a caminadas. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Google Translation
Saludos Patty P,

Es un gusto escuchar que tuvo una excelente estadía .
Apreciamos sus comentarios .Esperamos que nos viste próximamente .

Muchas Gracias por escoger Coco Beach para sus vacaciones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here with my wife and daughter (17) in March.
Was ok, not super, not bad. Clean, comfortable, great price. A little noisy, but not bad at night.
Staff was helpful. Atmosphere was relaxed.
Pick a room at the end away from the casino for more privacy and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claynotmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias Clay N, por tomarse el tiempo para comentar sobre su estadía con nosotros. Apreciamos recibir noticias de nuestros clientes, ya que sus comentarios son vitales para nosotros para seguir mejorando nuestros alojamientos. Pedimos disculpas por las molestias que tuvo durante su estadia. Gracias de nuevo por sus comentarios. Esperamos que usted nos dará otra oportunidad de servirle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#4 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chantel
Hotel Chantel
#2 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
4.0 of 5 stars 5,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coco Beach & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Beach & Casino

Property: Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Address: Main St., Playas del Coco, Costa Rica (Formerly Coco Verde Hotel, Spa and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coco Beach & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coco Beach hotel is located in Playas del Coco, the area of largest touristic growth in the Golfo de Papagayo and one of the most popular vacation destinations for locals and tourists alike. This growing touristic community is located 40km from Liberia, the capital of Guanacaste at 20 minutes from the International Daniel Oduber Airport. Coco Beach hotel offers a fresh environment filled with tropical air and surrounded by fun and adventure. Our hotel brings together a variety of services that include hotel, restaurant, sports bar, casino and a small mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Coco Beach & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel Playas Del Coco
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing