We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for a local feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Fresno
2 reviews
“Good location for a local feel”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good location to night life and restaurants. The beach is a 5 minute walk but there is nicer 25 minute drive away at Playa Hermosa. The bed sheets were very thin and scratchy but that is only complaint.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coco Beach H, Asistente at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Google Translation
Hola Nevpalm:

Agradecemos tus comentarios hacia el hotel. Este tipo de comentarios hace que crezcamos como hotel y servicio para que su estadía sea de gran satisfacción y nos vuelva a visitar en su tiempo libre. Le contamos que estamos haciendo unas mejoras en el hotel para que se dé unas merecidas vacaciones.

Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    110
    64
    26
    28
See reviews for
50
105
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spotsylvania, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I enjoyed my time at this hotel. The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The location is right in the middle of all the action. Only issue I had was with air conditioning, but management took care of it immediately. I will probably be going back and staying here again next year. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: The second story rooms have good views...the ones toward the right wing (facing street) are closest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coco Beach H, Asistente at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Google Translation
Hola Ronnie M:

Gracias por tus comentarios positivos hacia nosotros. Te contamos que estamos haciendo algunos cambios en el hotel para que la próxima vez que vayas a visitarnos te encuentres con grandes sorpresas y nos comentes de nuevo como fue tu estadía.

Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is far from the four seasons but we loved that it was in the heart of Playa deCoco. We got to interact with many locals and feel like we were a part of the town.

Downside... The shower went every direction but down with low pressure, and we were there for three days and never were able to connect to wifi. They kept promising to get it up and running within the hour. That hour became 3hrs... Then 3days, and never happened..

Will we come back? Yes, in love with the location. We will just be sure to voice our concerns more adamently.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beccataylor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coco Beach H, Asistente at Hotel Coco Beach & Casino, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Google Translation
Hola Beccataylor3:

Le contamos que estamos en varias remodelaciones a nivel de servicio y tenemos programadas a nivel de hotel, cambios que van a ser impresionantes. Además, queremos ofrecerle una mejor atención para que su visita sea más placentera.

Lo invitamos a que para su próxima visita nos comente nuevamente cómo fue su estadía.

Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Rooms are clean, wifi is good and the pool is small but sufficient. The resturant is good but a little pricey. We found it is better to eat at one of the numerous resturant/bars which are all in walking distance.

The hotel is located in the center of town which is great. You can walk to the beach in 2 minutes. At night, there are several good bars very close. We found it much cheaper to buy food and beer at the Super Compri which is less than a 1 minute walk.

We usualy stay at fancier all inclusive resorts becuase they are overall nicer and cheaper. But if you want to be in the center of Coco's, this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: The hotel is small so most rooms are good. We stayed on the first floor about 4 or 5 rooms down fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McTravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We just got back from a trip to Costa Rica with a group. We went down a day early and chose Coco Beach Hotel as the place to stay that night. When we drove up I had my doubts. It wasn't what I expected and didn't look exactly like the photos online.

I wasn't feeling well so I wanted to relax immediately. As soon as my head hit the pillow, hammers and drills were right outside our room and that idea went right out the window. I realize it was construction, so I won't fault the hotel for that. Instead we got up and went to the bar for some lunch and a cocktail.

That was the turning point. The food was very good and they feature 2 for 1 cocktails or a bucket of beer for $10 that also comes with a snack. Not bad. Overall, the staff was very nice and the hotel was relatively clean.

I would recommend this hotel. Remember, it's all about managing expectations. This is not a super luxurious hotel. If you want a clean, affordable, friendly place to stay while in the Coco Beach area, this will work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leod10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed at Coco Beach for a week. The room is fine and the beds are comfortable. The AC works very well. The bathroom is too small and even though it is clean, it looks a bit dirty.

We liked to be close to the supermarket and all the restaurants. We spent most of our days away from Playas del Coco but it was a good base camp.

The included breakfast is good even though it is the same thing every morning. Earplugs are recommended because the street is very close and noisy.

It is a good choice for the price (we traveled during the low season) but I can't give it a 4/5 or 5/5 beacause there are more luxurious places out there. Depends what you are looking for!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura_MTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanport, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

While this isn't the best place in town, it is located in the heart of the dining and partying area. The rooms were clean, the air conditioning work fine, the casino is right in the building and breakfast is included, which was about average, but sufficient. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Ask for a room towards the far end of the pool (Past the reception desk) to be farther from the loud music from the bars closer to the beach.

Room Tip: The farther from the pool, the better...much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsnowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chantel
Hotel Chantel
#2 of 11 in Playas del Coco
151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savannah
Hotel Savannah
#9 of 11 in Playas del Coco
15 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
362 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coco Beach & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Beach & Casino

Property: Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Address: Main St., Playas del Coco, Costa Rica (Formerly Coco Verde Hotel, Spa and Casino)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coco Beach & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coco Beach hotel is located in Playas del Coco, the area of largest touristic growth in the Golfo de Papagayo and one of the most popular vacation destinations for locals and tourists alike. This growing touristic community is located 40km from Liberia, the capital of Guanacaste at 20 minutes from the International Daniel Oduber Airport. Coco Beach hotel offers a fresh environment filled with tropical air and surrounded by fun and adventure. Our hotel brings together a variety of services that include hotel, restaurant, sports bar, casino and a small mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Coco Beach & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel Playas Del Coco
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing