We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Rooms are clean, wifi is good and the pool is small but sufficient. The resturant is good but a little pricey. We found it is better to eat at one of the numerous resturant/bars which are all in walking distance.

The hotel is located in the center of town which is great. You can walk to the beach in 2 minutes. At night, there are several good bars very close. We found it much cheaper to buy food and beer at the Super Compri which is less than a 1 minute walk.

We usualy stay at fancier all inclusive resorts becuase they are overall nicer and cheaper. But if you want to be in the center of Coco's, this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: The hotel is small so most rooms are good. We stayed on the first floor about 4 or 5 rooms down fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McTravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 290 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We just got back from a trip to Costa Rica with a group. We went down a day early and chose Coco Beach Hotel as the place to stay that night. When we drove up I had my doubts. It wasn't what I expected and didn't look exactly like the photos online.

I wasn't feeling well so I wanted to relax immediately. As soon as my head hit the pillow, hammers and drills were right outside our room and that idea went right out the window. I realize it was construction, so I won't fault the hotel for that. Instead we got up and went to the bar for some lunch and a cocktail.

That was the turning point. The food was very good and they feature 2 for 1 cocktails or a bucket of beer for $10 that also comes with a snack. Not bad. Overall, the staff was very nice and the hotel was relatively clean.

I would recommend this hotel. Remember, it's all about managing expectations. This is not a super luxurious hotel. If you want a clean, affordable, friendly place to stay while in the Coco Beach area, this will work.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leod10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed at Coco Beach for a week. The room is fine and the beds are comfortable. The AC works very well. The bathroom is too small and even though it is clean, it looks a bit dirty.

We liked to be close to the supermarket and all the restaurants. We spent most of our days away from Playas del Coco but it was a good base camp.

The included breakfast is good even though it is the same thing every morning. Earplugs are recommended because the street is very close and noisy.

It is a good choice for the price (we traveled during the low season) but I can't give it a 4/5 or 5/5 beacause there are more luxurious places out there. Depends what you are looking for!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura_MTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

While this isn't the best place in town, it is located in the heart of the dining and partying area. The rooms were clean, the air conditioning work fine, the casino is right in the building and breakfast is included, which was about average, but sufficient. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Ask for a room towards the far end of the pool (Past the reception desk) to be farther from the loud music from the bars closer to the beach.

Room Tip: The farther from the pool, the better...much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsnowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It is a renovated property in the heart of Playas del Coco. Rooms are just ok, bathrooms need a little more space, but I think is not possible as the original property was like that. Rooms have no terrace or outdoors space to relax. No Ocean View or direct beach access, but walking distance to beach. Restaurant is an average beach restaurant near a small pool. Pool area is very beautiful and has a little commercial area outside.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fcb-arq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed for a night at the Coco Beach Hotel after flying into Liberia airport on a late flight. We didn't want to drive far in the dark, so this was a nice distance- only about 30 minutes from the airport. When we got in, the receptionist had been waiting for us to check in and brought us to our room. The room was clean and not too hot. The bed was comfortable, AC worked well, and the locks on the doors used a modern keycard system (something you may not find everywhere in CR). The only thing we didn't like was the bathroom- needed some updating. We were also given a nice "welcome cocktail" at the bar. We ate dinner at the restaraunt which was good- just overpriced for what it was. The area of this hotel is OK if you want to party in a beach area. We were slightly annoyed by the constant pumping music coming from nearby bars until atleast 3 or 4 in the morning. The next morning we enjoyed our included free breakfast, and the hotel staff was also nice enough to lock our bags in the office after check out since we were taking a bus out of town at 2. Overall- a good hotel if youre looking to stay in a party town close to the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed in hotel Coco beach for a night last weekend and it was a great trip. The staff is very friendly, the restaurant's food was AMAZING, the pool was clean and the room was very nice and modern. Before we went I was a little worried about the noise I saw people complain about in other comments, but we were not bothered at all. We both slept fantastically in the very comfortable beds. The hotel is also really close to a lot of places to get food, bars and a supermarket as well as other stuff. People in el coco are friendly and almost everyone we met spoke english.

I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Dont choose room 109 or 108. They are the first rooms next to the reception area so there is less pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
#5 of 11 in Playas del Coco
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chantel Suites
Hotel Chantel Suites
#3 of 11 in Playas del Coco
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
347 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
#1 of 2 in Playa Ocotal
133 reviews
8.8 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coco Beach & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Beach & Casino

Address: Main St., Playas del Coco, Costa Rica (Formerly Coco Verde Hotel, Spa and Casino)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range: $80 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coco Beach & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coco Beach hotel is located in Playas del Coco, the area of largest touristic growth in the Golfo de Papagayo and one of the most popular vacation destinations for locals and tourists alike. This growing touristic community is located 40km from Liberia, the capital of Guanacaste at 20 minutes from the International Daniel Oduber Airport. Coco Beach hotel offers a fresh environment filled with tropical air and surrounded by fun and adventure. Our hotel brings together a variety of services that include hotel, restaurant, sports bar, casino and a small mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Coco Beach & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel Playas Del Coco
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing