We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service and smiling faces”
Review of Pato Loco Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playas del Coco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pato Loco Inn
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We live in Coco. The owners are gone for a few weeks in the States, for a well deserved vaca.

We were MORE than pleasantly surprised to find our hostess of the bar, more than happy, engaging and on top of everything. Such great service you'll never find better than here. :)

Although the restaurant is closed, D'Anne still made our evening! The Inn is still open with great prices during this low season. D'Anne will be more than happy to greet you and take care of you while you visit Playas del Coco.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 36 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed at Pato Loco Inn in mid September, Mary is very nice, always giving you a nice greeting no matter what she is doing or who she is talking to you when you walk in the main bar area. She know good places to eat, see, and any thing that was upcoming. Very helpful when making reservations. Room was comfy, clean enjoyed the Wild West theme and the temperature in the pool was great. The 24 hour security ( and watch dog) was a plus also when coming back from dinner at night. Overall area was not too touristy, an easy walk to the beach, good places to eat, ocean was the best out of my 3 beach stops in CR, and diving was spectacular there also.

Room Tip: No worries about noise, it was quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmcal027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

First of all, if you take to bus to get to playa del coco ans and pull into the pumitan station; don't take a taxi because pato loco was right next to it. Anyway, this is a tranquill, cozy place with nice, clean A/C rooms. Mary and Richy are very cool and will go out of there way to make your stay better. the food (breakfast burrito) was great, but it all closes down at sunset. the beach is a 10 minute walk along the main, busy, dusty, or rainy road, I recommend a pancho for the stroll. The owners glady let me borrow there bike which was very cool. Evenmore, they let me borrow a blue cooler for the beach. I even bought and donated a burnt orange chair which made hanging out at the beach an Imperial beach party. I recommend pato loco and if you come here, consider borrowing the chair and cooler. Since pato loco has apartments to rent as well, I would recommend to Mary and Richy to consider adding an outside grill ( charcoal would work) in case guest would like a beach BBQ.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mario7054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Ok, the place is really really cute, Mary Ramona the owner is SO friendly and helpful!
The Inn is located in walking distance to Playas de Coco has a very good price and the
best for us was that we were allow to bring our dogs on holiday with us :) so if you have dogs I highly recommend this place! :)

I recommend that when making your reservation tell them that you are planning to bring your pet, that way she coordinates so that your room is comfortable for your pet too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jojocr07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We started our Costa Rica/Nicaragua vacation at the Pato Loco Inn in Playas del Coco, Costa Rica. Mary and Richie have a great location (about a 5 minute walk to the town and beach, and close to several supermarkets.) Mary is great responding to emails for booking rooms and providing transportation to and from Liberia airport. Thanks Ray!

The rooms are cozy with decent AC. The pool is cool and refreshing. The bartender is very quick. (The bartender is Mary unless it is at 4:30 in the morning. Then its Richie). The food is also very good.

We were made to feel right at home and had a couple fun nights sitting in the restaurant with other vacationers and made some good friends.

We will definitely be back to the Pato Loco!

Room Tip: We had a standard room which served us very well. They also have apartments with extra ammenities if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AtlantaMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We were between hotels and remembered some good reviews from friends for this cute hotel, so we found it and grabbed a room for the night. We were welcomed with open arms and made to feel like one of the gang after we settled into our room. We met some awesome people there, especially Mary and Richie, the owners. It was a memorable night we spent and we even came back for the wonderful breakfast two days later! A great atmosphere and a great place to stay if you are in Playa del Coco!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crazeecat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

What a great stay at the Pato Loco Inn !

The Inn is hosted by Mary and Richie and they are two of the nicest people you'll ever meet !

The Inn is located in walking distance to the Playas de Coco beach and there are many beaches closeby which offer the visitor variety ., such as Octocal, Panama and Playa Hermosa ! There are many attractions closeby including Rincon de la Vieja National Park , Palo Verde National Park , Santa Rosa National Park , and Las Baulas National Park !

The hotel is clean and friendly and you can get one of the best breakfasts on the beach !
Rooms are reasonably priced and offers great value !

I would recommend this hotel and will be staying there again on my next trip.,

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenpojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playas del Coco hotels
0 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
346 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
#7 of 11 in Playas del Coco
287 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Villa Del Sol
Villa Del Sol
#2 of 15 in Playas del Coco
88 reviews
0 mi away
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
#3 of 11 in Playas del Coco
126 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
#5 of 11 in Playas del Coco
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pato Loco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pato Loco Inn

Address: Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Playas del Coco
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Pato Loco Inn Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing