We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Love!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playas del Coco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho Armadillo Estate
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“In Love!”
Reviewed April 6, 2006

I had the most amazing experience staying at Rancho Armadillo. The atmosphere is amazing. The owners, Rick and Debbie, as well as the staff are incredibly warm and friendly. There are hammocks and a very nice pool up on the hill with all the necessary vacation amenities:) the rooms are clean and comfortable. Definitely check out the stars at night around the pool—absolutely amazing!
I would recommend staying here--it made my Costa Rica experience!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
92
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 20, 2006

Rancho Armadillo was unbelievable!! The views from the pool area were magnificent, the rooms were beautiful, exceptionally clean and cozy. I would tell more about the rooms but between the rest of the stunning property and all the wonderful day trips Rick setup for us, the only time we spent in our room was sleep time! Rick and Debbie are fantastic people and know the local area exceptionally well. EVERY recomendation Rick gave us was right on the money, from restaurants (you can't beat restaurant advice from a retired chef!!) to remote beaches and fantastic day trips. Thanks for saving our vacation Rick and Debbie!!! (We were abandoned by our original hotel and they went out of our way to save our vaction. Rick and Debbie are some of the nicest people I've ever met)

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2006

My dear fellow travellers, if you're in Costa Rica don't miss this top rated inn. That is if you like a great view, a nice room, a pool and the most helpful, friendly owners you could hope to meet.Rick is a free trove of tourist advice as well. Debbie is also kind and helpful, they are both as laid back as it gets and lots of fun.
Not often you go tarantula hunting at midnight using a fishing line, with your host as the guide !!
We went to a few places and stayed, this was by far my favourite, don't miss it !

Helpful?
5 Thank Worldtreader1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2005

hard to imagine there's a better place in this part of Costa Rica.

it splits the difference (perfectly) between a large luxury resort and a B&B.

Rick is extremely helpful and will point you towards the worthwhile tours and restaurants and steer you away from rip-offs.

my only mistake was staying at another hotel thinking driving around would be impossible.

driving around Guanacaste, even in the wet season, was pretty easy.

you could easily make Rancho Armadillo a home base for day trips all over Guanacaste - diving, surfing, volcanoes, canopy tours, etc.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank atlmidtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2005

First of all, the owners Deb and Rick, couldn't be more gracious! The accomodations were exactly what I was looking for and then some. I needed a break from the cold and some serious downtime and I got it! The room was large and comfortable, the rain forest shower in the bathroom was a real treat, and the property tended beautifully. Demeta is the resident parrot and she was such fun to watch with all her antics. There were iguanas coming and going, beautiful birds and butterflies, and the driveway is lined with an archway of colorful bouganvilla. Rancho Armadillo is not a place to go to if you expect 24 hour room service and fellow guests running around with flourescent wrist bands. If you want friendliness, local knowledge, clean and comfortable accomodations, this would be the place for you. Also, if you're travelling solo as I was, Rick and Deb were most cognizant and kind. There is no hovering, no boring buffet, no overly enthusiastic social chairman, and no shortage of flora and fauna. Instead, one truly feels like a guest "in a really cool house" where you help yourself to beverages, books, games, a lovely little swimming pool, fantastic bird sounds, and as much rest and relaxation you can take. Rick and Deb are both very helpful in setting up trips like the canopy tours, snorkeling adventures, waterfall excursions, et al. If they don't know the answer, they take the time to find one. I'll only recommend this paradise to my best friends because I know they would take care to preserve this magic place and leave nothing but good memories for the family of Rancho Armadillo. Don't go there an be a brat. Pura Vida!

Helpful?
7 Thank akadga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 25, 2005

Best time I ever had. Will definitely be back. The view, the "insider secrets" for tours and trips made a stay here much better than an organized all inclusive resort.

You get all the luxury with the freddom to relax and enjoy paradise on your terms. You can use the commercial kitchen for persoanl use allowing you to cook for yourself and not rely on going out every night.

If you ask nicely you can turn out all the lights on the porperty to see more stars you have ever seen in your life.

With the opening of Liberia airport, there is no excuse not to get away and experience paradise... 4 days, 7 days, 10 days you can do it all now. (I highly advise NOT flying into San Jose...)

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 26, 2004

We loved it!!! We went to Rancho Armadillo two years ago and loved every minute of it. The owner is extremely helpful and even made our two children sandwiches when we arrived later than expected. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. We love the showerheads! There is a nice pool and open air room with books and comfortable chairs with views of the Pacific. Breakfasts were great: fresh fruits and pastries and coffee. Guests have access to a kitchen where you can make your own meals, or have the owner (a former chef) make dinner for you. This was excellent and very relaxing after a busy day. This was one our favorite places ever and we are going back in three months.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
0.0 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chantel
Hotel Chantel
#2 of 11 in Playas del Coco
151 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
#7 of 11 in Playas del Coco
276 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
4.8 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Armadillo Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Armadillo Estate

Property: Rancho Armadillo Estate
Address: Playas del Coco, Playas del Coco 5019, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Armadillo Estate, a small private mountainside estate overlooking the Gulf of Papagayo. The estate is perfect for couples, families or groups. Our guests feel like they're coming to visit friends who have a really nice place to stay. Our knowledge of Costa Rica ensures our guests experience the best Costa Rica has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancho Armadillo Estate Hotel Playas Del Coco
Rancho Armadillo Estate Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing