We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall, an excellent property.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Puerta del Sol

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overall, an excellent property.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

The hotel is great. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. They spent a fair amount of time tracking down tour information, and even calling a doctor when I got sick. The breakfast is good, the grounds are beautiful. The only thing that is not perfect is the walk to town, which only seems long because I am from Florida, and we do not walk anywhere, but on the flipside, it is nice to be a little away from town. The rooms are lovely, AC works great, mini-fridge, safe. I cannot think of anything I can add to make the hotel better.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmtscubaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    39
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
73
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

We stayed here during June 10-16th with our teenage son. Hotel is located on a dirt road within walking distance of town and probably 200 yards from the beach. There is free covered parking for rental cars. The grounds are well kept and everything is well maintained. Occupancy was low, and in general, the economy had things slow for the entire town. I think we may have been the only guests one night. The rooms are clean with a/c and wireless internet. There is a front porch overlooking the courtyard where the pool is. The showers and toilets were a little quirky but were excellent by Central American standards. The beds were comfortable and there was a coffee pot and dorm size refrigerator in the room. Breakfast was served at the restaraunt which is now only open for that purpose. There is fresh fruit, eggs, ham and pinto. It was good but got a little old as its the same every day. We were told the restaraunt used to have awesome Italian food but Alex, the owner, said he had closed it as he was having some neck problems causing him to have to go to the states alot. He did an excellent job as host and Elizabeth did also. The maids kept the rooms clean daily also. Also the owners had two dogs on that is very large. We let them come lay down in our room, etc but if you are allergic to dogs or don't like them around you may want to think about this. They are very friendly and dogs seem to be common in Play del Coco anyway. We dove daily and it was a nice short walk to the boat from the resort. We dove with Deep Blue thru the resort and they came and got our gear, etc. Definitely not a place to go if you want spa service, a party, etc. but if you want a nice quiet bed/breakfast type atmosphere this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank briankinley2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gypsum, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

Clean rooms, lovely grounds, clean pool in lush setting. Competent staff that is very attentive, helpful and friendly.
Miss the restaurant, that is presently closed

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainHealthNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

My friend and I stayed at La Puerta del Sol during a bed/dive trip to Costa Rica. It is 5 min walking distance from the main road with all the restaurants and 2-3 minutes from Coco beach. The hotel itself offers very colorful and inviting rooms (we crashed in the Junior Suite, which was perfect for two people), as well as a refreshing salt water pool, which I made use of a few times during the hot summer evenings. Some of the nice amenities include a/c, free wireless internet, small fitness room, and free continental breakfast (fresh AWESOME fruit, bread/toast, and eggs prepared your way). You'll often wake up to the sounds of many diverse birds singing their songs, which I found really great. What I probably appreciated the most was the very warm and personal service we received by the staff, especially Elizabeth. She did everything feasible, and then some, to make our stay exceptional --- calling restaurants about vegetarian food options, calling physicians for traveler health related issues, connecting us with eco-tour guides. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

This hotel is a great spot if you are going to Playas del Coco. A little off the main strip
(a whopping 2 blocks), but nice quiet and comfortable. The owner is gracious and very helpful when looking for things to do (we went scuba diving and surfing). Breakfast was always fresh and tasty. We stayed there around the end of April. We were the only guest until the last day or so it was extra quite.

I would definitely stay here again if I return to Playas del Coco.

Side notes:
The owner has this great big dog that gets really hot so he hangs out in the pool. Really friendly pup.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronxLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

We went to Playas del Coco mainly for scuba diving and ecotourism. In spite of the early beginning of the rainy season the sun showed up in the mornings, but sometimes in the afternoon we had a problem to remain dry. La Puerta del Sol proved to be an excellent base for our activities (a 200 m walk to climb in the scuba boat, and 400m from the main street of this little resort). Although there were not too many other hotel guests, the service was excellent, our junior room was cosy and very clean. We enjoyed the luxurious swimming pool and the Italian touch of the restaurant which, apart for breakfast, unfortunately was closed at that point in the rainy season. A colorful hotel, really recommendable ...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank proftourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuss
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2009

This year we have been in Costa Rica for the fourth time
and we stayed even four times in the Hotel Puerta del Sol
In Playas del Coco (Guanaste). This Hotel is placed in a
beautiful tropical garden including a large und well kept
swimming pool and a small open-air-fitness center.
All rooms are large and pleasant with mediteranien interior.
It is worth to mention the very sophisticated open-air-restaurant
which serves outstanding italian food and selected wines.

Always when we come back to Costa Rica, we will visit La
Puerta del Sol and it is very much recommended.

Elke & Det, Germany

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElkeDet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
0.3 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Chantel
Hotel Chantel
#2 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
#7 of 11 in Playas del Coco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
4.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Puerta del Sol

Property: Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Address: La Chorrera | 200 mts. este del Lizard 75 sur, Playas del Coco 50503, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at 30 minutes from Liberia International airport, 100 meters of the beach.Our place is special for rest and relaxing,we are close to restaurants and shops.Swimming pool, gym, tropical garden, free parking, 24 hours security, Wi - fi connection. The rooms have small living room and private terrace, and are equipped with: Hot water, cable TV, Air conditioned, ceiling fan, safe box, refrigerator, Coffee maker. Only no smoking rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Puerta Del Sol Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing