We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and inviting hotel with the best staff - walking distance to the beach and main road”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Warm and inviting hotel with the best staff - walking distance to the beach and main road”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

My friend and I stayed at La Puerta del Sol during a bed/dive trip to Costa Rica. It is 5 min walking distance from the main road with all the restaurants and 2-3 minutes from Coco beach. The hotel itself offers very colorful and inviting rooms (we crashed in the Junior Suite, which was perfect for two people), as well as a refreshing salt water pool, which I made use of a few times during the hot summer evenings. Some of the nice amenities include a/c, free wireless internet, small fitness room, and free continental breakfast (fresh AWESOME fruit, bread/toast, and eggs prepared your way). You'll often wake up to the sounds of many diverse birds singing their songs, which I found really great. What I probably appreciated the most was the very warm and personal service we received by the staff, especially Elizabeth. She did everything feasible, and then some, to make our stay exceptional --- calling restaurants about vegetarian food options, calling physicians for traveler health related issues, connecting us with eco-tour guides. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    43
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
78
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2010

This hotel is a great spot if you are going to Playas del Coco. A little off the main strip
(a whopping 2 blocks), but nice quiet and comfortable. The owner is gracious and very helpful when looking for things to do (we went scuba diving and surfing). Breakfast was always fresh and tasty. We stayed there around the end of April. We were the only guest until the last day or so it was extra quite.

I would definitely stay here again if I return to Playas del Coco.

Side notes:
The owner has this great big dog that gets really hot so he hangs out in the pool. Really friendly pup.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronxLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We went to Playas del Coco mainly for scuba diving and ecotourism. In spite of the early beginning of the rainy season the sun showed up in the mornings, but sometimes in the afternoon we had a problem to remain dry. La Puerta del Sol proved to be an excellent base for our activities (a 200 m walk to climb in the scuba boat, and 400m from the main street of this little resort). Although there were not too many other hotel guests, the service was excellent, our junior room was cosy and very clean. We enjoyed the luxurious swimming pool and the Italian touch of the restaurant which, apart for breakfast, unfortunately was closed at that point in the rainy season. A colorful hotel, really recommendable ...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proftourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuss
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2009

This year we have been in Costa Rica for the fourth time
and we stayed even four times in the Hotel Puerta del Sol
In Playas del Coco (Guanaste). This Hotel is placed in a
beautiful tropical garden including a large und well kept
swimming pool and a small open-air-fitness center.
All rooms are large and pleasant with mediteranien interior.
It is worth to mention the very sophisticated open-air-restaurant
which serves outstanding italian food and selected wines.

Always when we come back to Costa Rica, we will visit La
Puerta del Sol and it is very much recommended.

Elke & Det, Germany

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElkeDet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

We were advised La Puerta del Sol by Deep Blue Diving and did not regret it for a second. The hotel was simply excellent. The rooms are located around a stunning garden that has a nice (salt water) pool and some sun beds.

The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, comfortable and kept clean very well. Breakfast is excellent with fresh fruit, fruit juice, eggs, toast etc.

The restaurant was closed during the two days we stayed there, but there are a lot of restaurants around the corner.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geertvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

I spent a week at La Puerta del Sol earlier this month and I thought it was really good value. I was doing a 'bed and dive' package through Deep Blue Diving and got a hotel room for a week and 5 days of diving for under $900.
The hotel isn't the Ritz but it is perfectly fine. The rooms are big, and they are well maintained.
The pool was nice, and there is an open air gym area, but it was the food at the restaurant that I thought was the best. I ate dinner there 6 nights out of the 7, usually having a drink with dinner, and at the end of my stay, my bill for the food was less than $100. And it was delicious food, probably the best food I have had in two trips to Costa Rica.

The staff are friendly, relaxed and professional. It's a real bargain and I would go back any time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastsideSpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

After a horrific stay at a place in San Jose the night before, we were looking forward to getting to the beach to start our vacation. We were booked into this hotel as part of a diving package through Deep Blue in Playas del Coco. When we checked in, the German girl was so friendly and accomodating. She showed us to our room, made sure the Air Conditioner was working and told us about the safe, the use of the waste paper basket (instead of flushing toilet paper) and other helpful hints. She recommended places in town where to get some good food and drinks at reasonable prices.

Later we met Alessandro, the owner, and were equally impressed with how friendly and accomodating he was. He ensured our stay there was comfortable.

The bed was large (King?) and very comfortable. The AC worked well after a long hot day outside.

There were a couple of long built-in couches and after looking thru the room, we determined you could fit 4 people easily into this room.

We enjoyed staying in this room and I believe we would return.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingPhool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
0.3 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
#7 of 11 in Playas del Coco
272 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Chantel
Hotel Chantel
#3 of 11 in Playas del Coco
151 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
328 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Puerta del Sol

Property: Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Address: La Chorrera | 200 mts. este del Lizard 75 sur, Playas del Coco 50503, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at 30 minutes from Liberia International airport, 100 meters of the beach.Our place is special for rest and relaxing,we are close to restaurants and shops.Swimming pool, gym, tropical garden, free parking, 24 hours security, Wi - fi connection. The rooms have small living room and private terrace, and are equipped with: Hot water, cable TV, Air conditioned, ceiling fan, safe box, refrigerator, Coffee maker. Only no smoking rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Puerta Del Sol Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing