We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
145
56
16
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
145
56
16
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden bar the main street dive shop dirt road under new ownership deep blue divers movie night costa rica enjoyed our stay owners and staff mango rooms are large decent pool eggs and sausage maintained garden special events spring rolls
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 223 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2019 via mobile

We have always been a bit hesitant to stay in Playa del Coco do to the party town reputation we were always told about ( we have been traveling to Costa Rica for 10 years) . Well after staying here my attitude has changed, the La Puerta del Sol is great. The staff is friendly and helpful the breakfast was great, the bar was excellent. This hotel is also pet friendly and as we rescued a puppy on this trip we actually picked this hotel out of necessity but immediately changed our tune upon arrival. We were greeted with a smile and the gentleman checking us in helped with our luggage. Our next trip in January will definitely include a stay here. We also liked that it was only a short walk to the strip on coco.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank redsox_dave09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

Nice hotel, great pool that we used every night. Garden is also nice, hotel is quite close to walk to the beach and the main strip but far enough away to relax!!! All the hotel staff were very friendly. Choices were provided for breakfast. Overall the look and feel is a bit dated but well maintained and in good working order.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank je581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

We stayed there the first night of our ten week stay in Coco Beach.
Del Sol became our go to place.
Seven day Happy Hour from 2 until 6.
Great entertainment almost every night of the week.
Most importantly amazing bar staff so friendly and professional.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank waynesE8237SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2019

Three of us went on a dive trip here and got a package through Deep Blue Divers. The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. The TV had a few English channels. There's a nice pool, a good bar, and a good restaurant.

The hotel's about a five minute walk to the beach.

We flew to Liberia and it was less than a 30 minute drive to the hotel.

One of my friends got a call from home that his wife was in the hospital. The staff helped him book a flight back home and were very concerned. They asked me several times how his wife was doing. (I didn't know because he had more important things to attend to.)

The food at the restaurant was more than I was expecting. They have tuna tartare and two kinds of ceviche. There's a nice selection of local beer, a wide selection of liquor.

There were even a couple of friendly cats. Pet them or ignore them as you wish.

Room tip: Ask the desk for the type of room that you want.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rick_in_Alexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019

We stayed two nights at the beginning of our visit and one night at the end, as it is reasonably close to the airport and easy to pick up or drop off a rental car. (Adobe Rental Car delivered our car to us at the hotel, which was very convenient.)

The location is close to Playa del Coco's small downtown, and while there are no sidewalks, you can walk to restaurants, stores, and the beach. The hotel is quiet at night, surrounded by residences and well off the main drag.

The grounds are beautiful, with different trees and shrubs, a decent pool with lounge chairs, and a nice open-air bar by the pool. They also have a covered dining area for meals or drinks. The complimentary breakfast was great - a choice of eggs, bacon, fruit, toast, or pancakes, or the traditional breakfast of rice, black beans, and eggs. They cook it when you order, and there is good coffee and different juices available.

The staff is outstanding - everyone we talked to there was friendly, helpful, and happy to be there.

The rooms were clean and the A/C worked great, but it is obvious that there is still some work to be done. Apparently the hotel is under new ownership as of mid-2018, and they have done a lot, but in one room the mirror in the bathroom was clouded and hard to use, while the bathroom door wouldn't shut. We had small fridges in both rooms, which was very handy for drinks and leftovers.

The first stay happened to be when they were having Trivia Night, and they welcomed anyone and everyone to play. On our second visit, they had two Cuban musicians playing and singing in the bar area, and quite a crowd of local ex-pats was gathered to listen. They have a super-energetic Director of Activities who is apparently doing quite a job of attracting people to events.

We would happily stay again, and recommend it highly for those who do not want a cookie-cutter American-style hotel (which are available right by the airport for those wanting that experience).

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews