We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Price, Location, and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Puerta del Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Leon, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Price, Location, and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I have stayed here several times, often for a week or more, and I can't speak highly enough about it. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate, the pool is magnificent, the rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. And the owners and staff will bend over backwards to accomodate your needs.

The location is superb-- a short walk directly to the beach, and a little jaunt to town. Utterly secure and pleasant. UNBEATABLE price, for the location and amenities.

Only one slight, small complaint...they could probably benefit from a new wifi router...the signal drops regularly, and the device needs to be reset.

This is a truly minor fault in a wonderful hotel. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_Malisow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    32
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
64
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed here from April 19th - 26th. The place is clean and well maintained. The grounds are beautiful. The rooms are large with plenty of electrical outlets to charge all my cameras and computers. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a delicious breakfast each morning. The price was reasonable. It really is a 3 minute walk to the beach and 5 to town. I enjoyed our stay a great deal.

Room Tip: We stayed in G, it was convenient to the pool and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We searched for some time before we chanced upon this lovely oasis of calm and green on a side road away from the beach itself.
The other local hotels did not have room ,but this nice place was empty except for us.
The grounds are delightfully planted, well watered , tended and full of flowers--a green oasis. Just calm and quiet!
The single storey rooms are large, well designed, a/c cooled , with fan, are spacious, have refrigerators, a safe and good Wifi.
They are set around the gardens and pool which has shade from trees and garden making it a good spot to enjoy a day of recovery or a welcome return from other vigorous activities.
The staff is very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast is full with fruit , eggs any style, juice and your choice of coffee or tea.
We spent two nights here , just to recover and relax, it was calm . peaceful and apart from the varied birdlife, very quiet.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel as excellent

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RAGGEDNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

we spent 1 night here, wanted to spend most of the time at the beach, but ended up staying more than half the day at the pool with a nice drink in the hand. the pool is gorgeous and most of the day protected by the shades of the trees (where you can watch parrots fly by) perfect for a hot day! the rooms are set in a beautiful garden. staff is super-friendly. liked the hotel more than coco beach itself. they also rent bikes for 5$ a day (which you don't need as the village is tiny). room was huge and very clean. definitely a recommendation!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabine20359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

very nice and quiet garden with pool. guarded parking lots. about 5 minutes walking to the centre and beach. we really enjoyed our stay and had good time. breakfast was good but not too much variety. we booked a package with deep blue diving.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank holzi45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at this very nice hotel. Lovely pool and gardens, great location and gracious owners/hosts. Located a few minutes walk from town and the beach, but far enough away to have a quiet, relaxing environment. Good breakfast, clean rooms and hot water. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigJude01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for New Year, total 4 nights, and it was very nice and quite, though it was full at that time, but we never saw more than couple people around. The territory is big and full of well kept flowers, trees with fruit and lovely bushes, all rooms with private porches facing this lovely garden. The room itself is big with enormous bed, a sofa with pillows, a convenient bathroom with lots of space, all in what seemed to me a lovely Costa Rican style. Breakfast of fruit, eggs, drinks is included in a reasonable (even during the holiday season) price and served at a cosy outside space. They don't work as a cafe, but you'll find plenty of eateries in less than 5min walk from the hotel, the beach is also 5min by foot. The hotel is situated on a side road, so it's very quite there, you don't hear any cars or other people on the street. Inside parking is also available at the hotel. We enjoyed our stay there a lot, if you want some privacy among the lush vegetation and a pool - it's your best choice at playa del coco!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
0.6 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chantel
Hotel Chantel
#2 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
#8 of 11 in Playas del Coco
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
5.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
6.2 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,052 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Puerta del Sol

Property: Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Address: La Chorrera | 200 mts. este del Lizard 75 sur, Playas del Coco 50503, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at 30 minutes from Liberia International airport, 100 meters of the beach.Our place is special for rest and relaxing,we are close to restaurants and shops.Swimming pool, gym, tropical garden, free parking, 24 hours security, Wi - fi connection. The rooms have small living room and private terrace, and are equipped with: Hot water, cable TV, Air conditioned, ceiling fan, safe box, refrigerator, Coffee maker. Only no smoking rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Puerta Del Sol Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing