We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice find!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Perched on a small secluded black sand and shell beach. Although no beaches in Costa Rica are private, this one comes close. Great little hidden secret.

The beach is clean and the snorkeling is great, as are the tide pools.

We stayed in Villa 1 right next to the restaurant and pool. Very convenient and right on the ocean. The villa was large, modern inside, and had everything we needed including wifi.

The staff was great and had lots of ideas for activities in the area.

Thanks for a great time!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffR303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We arrived at Bahia Pez Vela quite a bit later at night than we expected, but luckily the management had dropped a key and directions off with the security personnel at the front gate. I did appreciate that as I was worried we wouldn't be able to get in after hours and hadn't called beforehand because of not having cell phone service.
Our villa was huge and much more space than we needed for two people. But the price was right and we did enjoy feeling at home there.
The location has its pros and cons. A big plus is the nice little black sand beach right at the foot of the villas that is only accessible at the development or by boat. It was great to roll out of bed in the morning and hike along the beach. At lower tide, you can actually make pretty far around the rock outcropping and we walked across a water covered point to a nearby cay. Most of the time, we didn't even encounter another person. But it is a little drive into town and definitely not walkable to any eateries, stores, attractions or much of anything at all beyond the onsite restaurant.
This seclusion also makes it difficult for those of us - (raises hand) - who didn't have the foresight to plan ahead. We came in exhausted after a multi-hour drive on windy, curvy roads and so hadn't had a chance to pick up anything for dinner on our way in expecting to grab a bit at the restaurant but it had already closed for the night. We were too tired to drive out so we went to bed completely hungry.
We enjoyed dining outside our villa but be aware the Magpie-Jays are a little out of control in the annoyance factor. We also had a raccoon pester us - quite creepily - for food in the outdoor dining at the restaurant. One morning we saw a coati sniffing around our villa and I was thrilled as I'd never seen one before. I also enjoyed hearing the holler monkeys in the morning.
An overnight storm knocked out the Internet and all WiFi connectivity on our first night there and it wasn't fixed until our last day. But we'd been traveling long before the 'net so we just made due the old fashioned way.
All in all a very memorable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank truffle731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinsville, nj
Level Contributor
296 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The resort is starting to show its age. It was nicer when I stayed three years ago. The villa I stayed in need updating and sprucing up. There was mold in grout between bathroom tyle floor and bathtub. Beds were uncomfortable. The master bedroom had a mattress over a sheet of plywood that was not screwded in. Anytime you moved the bed would rock and sqeak.
There was garbage floating in the ocean which wshed up on beach.
The resort is layed out nicely with pool area and beach and bar in close proximity to most villas.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertmaster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is the second year I have stayed at Bahia Pez Vela, and just like last year it was amazing. My parents retired to Costa Rica in November of 2012 and chose Pez Vela as their temporary home. Having stayed in Villa #22 and #29, the quality and care of the villas is clearly consistent throughout the entire community. The large, comfortable, furnished villas have 3 bedrooms and can accommodate up to 8 people comfortably.

The beach on the property is also lovely with it's unique black volcanic sand and surprisingly good snorkeling around the rocks on the right side of the property. The restaurant, although not owned by the property, is wonderful with a great selection of food and amazing staff. Make sure to ask for Caesar or Laura :)

The accomodations are all privately owned, but about 80% are available to rent through the owners or the office on site. Make sure to have a car if you stay here; although not far from town or Ocotal Beach it is not in comfortable walking distance. Also, for those with mobility issues or dissapibilites (particularly wheelchairs) the hills are quite steep and the villa style are a split style from the front door (down to the living room & kitchen and up to the bedroom).

It is my home away from home and going back every year is a true joy for me.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msalexisgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed in villa #31 for 5 days in December 2013. The villa had everything we needed - washer, dryer, cooking range, utensils, enough towels for beach and daily use, even a great collection of CD's and books. Our villa was little far from the beach but we had an awesome 270 degree ocean view from the rooms and the garden. Jackie at the reception was excellent at helping us arrange tours. Zaser at Picante was always smiling and helpful. Food at Picante is reasonably good as well. There are a lot of restaurants in town which have good food. Town is only 10 minutes drive away.

The private beach sand is black and so soft. The beach never had more than 10 or more people there. Excellent place for people looking for privacy, roominess, fantastic views, absolutely spotless villa and do not want to be in a place which is bombarded with tourists. We went into Playa del Coco couple of times to buy groceries and ate many meals in the villa itself.

All villas have their own wireless for the internet addicted.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaBeach_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodega Bay, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a long overdue posting. My wife, daughter and I stayed at this resort in December 2012. I believe our villa was #11, which had a gorgeous view of the cove that fronts the resort. The villa was well appointed and quite comfortable. Cesar, the resort manager, was wonderful at handling the reservation process, lining up a rental car, and setting up some of our excursions during our visit. We also enjoyed the restaurant and pool area and became friendly with the restaurant wait staff.

One day trip not to miss are the beaches at the Santa Rosa National Park. The road out there is quite rugged, but it was fun and interesting to see a dry forest and then spend some time on the beach near Witch's Rock.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_Bodega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finlayson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We just returned home from another stay at Bahia Pez Vela. This time we stayed in Villa 4, which is beachfront, has a truly lovely and large jetted private infinity pool, and is next to the forest so very private. It is very well appointed -- beautiful new linens on every bed, abundant fluffy white towels, good array of adult and kid beach towels, cable TV in every bedroom so the kids can escape to their spaces, very completely equipped kitchen, good assortment of adult and child DVDs, and an assortment of boogie boards, water shoes, and snorkel masks. There's a nice shaded lawn in front of the villa for kids to play on and for sitting in chairs and catching the ocean breezes. As always, this was a great experience. We usually come in high season -- March -- which is unfailingly sunny, hot and dry. We decided we like the "green" season (September) even more. While you have to put up with an occasional rain storm, the lush verdant forest really comes alive and watching the storms roll in over the ocean is a special treat. AND, we saw humpback whales breaching and spouting as we sat on the patio drinking our morning coffee -- something we never see in March. Cesar in reception is offering even more tours and better services than before. Great value! NOTE: While there is no spa on site, I was able to book the most wonderful massage I've every had. Ask Cesar if Betty is available. She'll set up right on the villa patio, so you can relax to the sound of the ocean waves. A group called Angel Hands also sets up on the beach at the resort, but I didn't try them. Betty did fantastic work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minnetrista G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
8.1 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,513 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
326 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
664 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,175 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Pez Vela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Pez Vela Resort

Property: Bahia Pez Vela Resort
Address: Playa Ocotal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Pez Vela Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Pez Vela Resort is located on a secluded bay on the Papagayo Gulf near Playa Ocotal, only 3 miles from Playas del Coco and about 30 minutes from the Liberia Airport.Our Resort has 40 privately owned Villas that are used for vacation rentals. We have both beach front and ocean view Villas, all are 3 bedroom, 21/2 bath, fully furnished with full kitchen plus laundry facilities. The Villa prices range from $240 to $750 depending on location, season, and amenities.Our Picante Restaurant is next to 3 of our 4 swimming pools that overlook the black sand beach and the bay. It is available for weddings, meetings and other special events.Bahia Pez Vela Resort features snorkeling in our bay, easy pick up for fishing tours and a convenient location for enjoying Guanacaste area attractions and tours.We are sure that our Resort is a perfect resource for you, your family & friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bahia Pez Vela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Pez Vela Hotel Playas Del Coco
Bahia Pez Vela Resort Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing