We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ocotal Beach Resort(Playa Ocotal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Riu Guanacaste(Playa Matapalo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marina Loft Apart-Hotel(Playas del Coco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cabinas Coco Azul(Playas del Coco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Coco Palms(Playas del Coco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino(Playas del Coco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Savannah(Playas del Coco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Chantel Suites(Playas del Coco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
110
17
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
17
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachinfinity poolvilla gingervilla toucanthree bedroomcosta ricablack sandlaundry roomgets hotthe upper levelfamilies or coupleshermit crabsgrounds are stunningocean fronthowler monkeyswell equipped kitchenocotal beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 133 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We loved our accommodations at Bahia Pez Vela. We had a 3 bedroom condo which made us feel like we had our own house. Everything was clean and decorated beautifully. You can open the windows in your bedroom and hear the sounds of the ocean while you sleep. The pool was fantastic as was the service the bartender Caesar provided us. The only downfall to this property is that is is about a 15 minute drive from town. You cannot possibly walk to the restaurants and bars which forces you to drive in everyday for dinner and drinks. There is also no fitness center but that seems typical in this area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpartyGirl888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We rented a three bedroom unit in this complex, and shared it with another couple. We like being able to cook a few times when we are on vacation, and we love the space that a condo affords.
The view from our unit was amazing. We were entertained by several forms of wildlife.
Beautiful blue birds stopped by looking for handouts, as did a cute little raccoon. We were entertained by howler monkeys (don't worry, they won't bother your sleep).
The beach was beautiful. It wasn't heavily trafficked, so was great for relaxing. Sometimes we had waves that allowed for a bit of body surfing, and other times the water was calm for swimming. At all times, it was lovely.
If you don't want to go into the ocean, try the saline pool. The water temperature is very comfortable.
The food and drinks at the restaurant are truly outstanding.
Service throughout the resort was topnotch. Allyson, in the office, was so very helpful, suggesting several restaurants (all good) and attractions for us to try.
We loved our stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kc1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent five nights at Villa Toucan, and loved every minute. The beach and natural surroundings are exquisite; the Villa is extremely comfortable, roomy, and well-stocked; and the activities are amazing. It was truly extraordinary.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I can't say enough about this place.

We stayed in one of their Beach Front Villa's and it was Spectacular. These 3 bedroom 2 1/2 bath villas are very roomy. The Bedrooms are spacious and comfortable and the kitchen and living room are huge. As far as the facilities go everything worked perfect including the A/C which worked very well. Our villa had an incredible beach front Ocean view that I would Highly recommend. The layout of the Villa's in the landscape gives this place their own Private Beach.

The Grounds are kept immaculate and are very beautiful and the Beach is Very Clean. There is a central restaurant with an infinity pool as well. The food in the restaurant is very good if you don't feel like venturing out or cooking at the villa. We took advantage of this a few times during our stay. Usually I don't like to eat where I stay b/c usually its not that good but I would recommend eating there. There food and staff are both Great!!

One of the things that we loved so much about this place is the Beach. The layout is perfect !! It offers both a full sun section as well as shade if you sit back among the palm trees. The villa's are so close that every morning we would walk out back and sit on the edge of the beach drinking our coffee while we planned our day and enjoyed the surf. In the afternoon we would do the same as we watched the kids snorkel around the far reef.

This place was so good that I will be returning. The Front office staff are very friendly and great at helping out in planning your adventures if need be.

If this is the area you are considering I would definitely choose this place. My wife is already planning our return :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acwild70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This place truly was paradise!! We booked a beach front villa, but we were upgraded to a beach-front villa with a private pool. It was beyond our imagination! It was just the two of us for a house that could have *easily* fit 2 more couples. While the property has a fantastic restaurant on premises, we found ourselves making most of our meals in the villa so that we could enjoy eating outside on our patio. However, we did go to the bar a couple of times to get local advice from the very helpful bartender. We only stayed for a couple of nights because we were worried we would get bored. We were very wrong. When we go back we will book for much longer.

The staff was extremely helpful during our stay. One word of warning, though: If you hear from the locals, "Oh, you have a 4-wheel drive car so you should take this road" don't take that option. Take the option for 2-wheel drive cars. My definition of a passable road is a bit narrower than theirs. :-) (Some of the roads can be an adventure!)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews