We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My overall review is a 4. I would rate the overall facility as a 5 and our individual villa as a 3.

The villas at Bahia Pez Vela are individually owned so the contents and decorating in the inside of each unit is individual to the unit. We stayed in Unit #18 - which was very spartan and the kitchen equipment, mattresses and linens were very basic but adequate. However, the view from the villa was spectacular, both from the bottom floor patio and from the bedroom balcony. The villa was very spacious and well maintained. The construction of the villa provided very good soundproofing and while sleeping in a bedroom, we could not hear anything happening in the rest of the villa. The only noise that we heard from outside was the howler monkeys, which was a very welcome sound. The air conditioning worked very well and the bedrooms were always cool. It was nice to have a carport to keep the rental car cool.

At the end of our stay, one of the office staff took me to see two other units, both of which appeared very comfortable and well equipped - so keep in mind that the individual units will vary. When making reservations directly through the hotel, guests can request a specific unit pending availability.

The beach was private and beautiful. The infinity pool that fronted the beach was beautiful with spectacular views and was never busy so lots of privacy and opportunity to relax. Howler monkeys entertained us, sometimes in the trees right at the beachfront and sometimes howling from nearby in the early mornings - one of the highlights of the trip.

The staff at Bahia Pez Vela (main office, restaurant, and housekeeping) were a treat to deal with - excellent English and unfailingly polite and helpful.

We booked several trips through the hotel and the hotel was very helpful in doing so. The Nicaragua trip was excellent value and provided exposure to a different culture and landscape. The arenal volcano trip was very long over rough roads so a good trip to an area with a different landscape but perhaps not as good for young children, older adults, or those who get car-sick. The trip to the Heliconias Rain Forest and particularly the walk on the suspension bridges was beautiful but perhaps better to drive their independently as the trip was not good value for the money and the guide did not offer much information. Our kids really enjoyed the river trip where they were able to feed white-faced monkeys and the sunset sail trip was a great way to get perspective of the area from the water.

This hotel is in a beautiful area of Costa Rica where we always felt safe. We ate out for our meals and the best places that we found for food were: the hotel restaurant, Father Rooster's and Papagayo Seafood. Nearby Coco Beach offered lots of options for food.

Overall, we recommend this property whole-heartedly. We intend to return for another holiday, this time to stay in a beach-front villa.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FamilyTraveller_2x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 123 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We loved our accommodations at Bahia Pez Vela. We had a 3 bedroom condo which made us feel like we had our own house. Everything was clean and decorated beautifully. You can open the windows in your bedroom and hear the sounds of the ocean while you sleep. The pool was fantastic as was the service the bartender Caesar provided us. The only downfall to this property is that is is about a 15 minute drive from town. You cannot possibly walk to the restaurants and bars which forces you to drive in everyday for dinner and drinks. There is also no fitness center but that seems typical in this area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpartyGirl888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We rented a three bedroom unit in this complex, and shared it with another couple. We like being able to cook a few times when we are on vacation, and we love the space that a condo affords.
The view from our unit was amazing. We were entertained by several forms of wildlife.
Beautiful blue birds stopped by looking for handouts, as did a cute little raccoon. We were entertained by howler monkeys (don't worry, they won't bother your sleep).
The beach was beautiful. It wasn't heavily trafficked, so was great for relaxing. Sometimes we had waves that allowed for a bit of body surfing, and other times the water was calm for swimming. At all times, it was lovely.
If you don't want to go into the ocean, try the saline pool. The water temperature is very comfortable.
The food and drinks at the restaurant are truly outstanding.
Service throughout the resort was topnotch. Allyson, in the office, was so very helpful, suggesting several restaurants (all good) and attractions for us to try.
We loved our stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kc1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent five nights at Villa Toucan, and loved every minute. The beach and natural surroundings are exquisite; the Villa is extremely comfortable, roomy, and well-stocked; and the activities are amazing. It was truly extraordinary.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I can't say enough about this place.

We stayed in one of their Beach Front Villa's and it was Spectacular. These 3 bedroom 2 1/2 bath villas are very roomy. The Bedrooms are spacious and comfortable and the kitchen and living room are huge. As far as the facilities go everything worked perfect including the A/C which worked very well. Our villa had an incredible beach front Ocean view that I would Highly recommend. The layout of the Villa's in the landscape gives this place their own Private Beach.

The Grounds are kept immaculate and are very beautiful and the Beach is Very Clean. There is a central restaurant with an infinity pool as well. The food in the restaurant is very good if you don't feel like venturing out or cooking at the villa. We took advantage of this a few times during our stay. Usually I don't like to eat where I stay b/c usually its not that good but I would recommend eating there. There food and staff are both Great!!

One of the things that we loved so much about this place is the Beach. The layout is perfect !! It offers both a full sun section as well as shade if you sit back among the palm trees. The villa's are so close that every morning we would walk out back and sit on the edge of the beach drinking our coffee while we planned our day and enjoyed the surf. In the afternoon we would do the same as we watched the kids snorkel around the far reef.

This place was so good that I will be returning. The Front office staff are very friendly and great at helping out in planning your adventures if need be.

If this is the area you are considering I would definitely choose this place. My wife is already planning our return :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acwild70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This place truly was paradise!! We booked a beach front villa, but we were upgraded to a beach-front villa with a private pool. It was beyond our imagination! It was just the two of us for a house that could have *easily* fit 2 more couples. While the property has a fantastic restaurant on premises, we found ourselves making most of our meals in the villa so that we could enjoy eating outside on our patio. However, we did go to the bar a couple of times to get local advice from the very helpful bartender. We only stayed for a couple of nights because we were worried we would get bored. We were very wrong. When we go back we will book for much longer.

The staff was extremely helpful during our stay. One word of warning, though: If you hear from the locals, "Oh, you have a 4-wheel drive car so you should take this road" don't take that option. Take the option for 2-wheel drive cars. My definition of a passable road is a bit narrower than theirs. :-) (Some of the roads can be an adventure!)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had looked at a ton of properties, but this one seemed to offer it all - near town, an onsite restaurant, plenty of room, but right by the beach. The house was just what we wanted. The beach was steps away, exceptionally clean, and there was NO ONE there. (Definitely recommend going during the start of the rainy season.) The beds were super comfortable, there were plenty of ceiling fans, and air conditioning if we wanted it. The view from the master bedroom and the large guest bedroom were of the beach and the ocean. The kitchen is well stocked and huge, plus there is a gas grill on the patio. The patio is covered so you can enjoy the afternoon rains without getting soaked. We had another couple staying with us, and we all sat on the patio enjoying the sound of the ocean, the birds, and the monkeys. There is nothing better than waking up to howlers at 5am! They hang out in the trees adjacent to the beach. The pool is just steps away from the house, and it is gorgeous. The on-site restaurant serves good food, but be brave and venture out. There are some great local places, like the soda across from the police station by the dive shop in Coco, and the soda on the beach in Playa Hermosa (take the primero entrance and follow it down to the beach - the soda will be left of where you park. It isn't cheap, but we had some awesome whole red snapper there.) For margaritas head to Father Rooster's just down the road. Snorkeling is really good there too - our friends saw eagle rays, spotted eels, puffer fish, and many others. The great thing about this house is that it is near a lot of things. (Check out zip lining at Witch's Rock Canopy Tour and have Memo from http://www.memo-adventures.com/ take you on a horseback ride off the beaten path at Buena Vista.)

The service was wonderful - the air conditioning went out in the lower level of the house, and they had someone out to look at it right away. This was the weekend and they determined it couldn't be fixed, and by Monday we had a new air conditioner. I can't say enough about this house and Kelsey was great. Maybe I'm sabotaging myself with this review, because now everyone will want to stay here. Kelsey, save us a week next year!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennyv1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
8.1 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,618 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
2.9 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
729 reviews
6.2 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Pez Vela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Pez Vela Resort

Address: Playa Ocotal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range: $275 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Pez Vela Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Pez Vela Resort is located on a secluded bay on the Papagayo Gulf near Playa Ocotal, only 3 miles from Playas del Coco and about 30 minutes from the Liberia Airport.Our Resort has 40 privately owned Villas that are used for vacation rentals. We have both beach front and ocean view Villas, all are 3 bedroom, 21/2 bath, fully furnished with full kitchen plus laundry facilities. The Villa prices range from $240 to $750 depending on location, season, and amenities.Our Picante Restaurant is next to 3 of our 4 swimming pools that overlook the black sand beach and the bay. It is available for weddings, meetings and other special events.Bahia Pez Vela Resort features snorkeling in our bay, easy pick up for fishing tours and a convenient location for enjoying Guanacaste area attractions and tours.We are sure that our Resort is a perfect resource for you, your family & friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Bahia Pez Vela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Pez Vela Hotel Playas Del Coco
Bahia Pez Vela Resort Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing