We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here and really enjoyed the property. The beach and restaurant are beautiful. The team that works there, especially Ceasar were awesome!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephaniew387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laMachona, Director de Recepción at Bahia Pez Vela Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your coment. We really apreciate it. We are glad to know you had a great time here at our Hotel. See you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Bahia Pez Vela Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 122 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

This is our fourth trip to Costa Rica. Each time we have chosen to base ourselves out of a villa at Bahia Pez Vela. This trip we were traveling in a group of 5 - my wife and I, our 3 year old and my parents. We booked a different unit via VRBO this trip (#2) then in the past. We have typically stayed in Villa Mariposa (#10), which is adjacent to the pool and had spectacular views. This time we were once again beachfront, but had the advantage of a big "lawn" for our 3 year old to play in with the neighbors children.

The units all vary in types of beds in each. Villa #2 had a queen in the master, ocean-facing bedroom had two singles with trundle slide outs, and the street-facing had two single beds. The unit was clean and well-equipped. The owners had stashed a bunch of baby gear: high chair, pack & play and tons of children's books and toys. It was very well-received by our little one. In addition, they had sit-top kayaks available for us which were a neat perk over past trips to paddle the coastline.

The restaurant on site, Picantes, next to the pool, has seen better days. Mostly from lack of use. It is the end of the road and few people are coming out from the other resorts. On this trip, they no longer serve breakfast and open at noon. We ate one night there and it was fine. For families staying in other units (being on the ridge), not having to leave for lunch is a nice perk. Plus adult beverages make basking in the pool quite nice.

Our nearly two weeks of constant sun and warmth was good as always.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kingcoparamedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We had a beautiful time. We'll be back. it's a comfortable and carefree spot to spend a week or two, an ideal base for any kind of adventure, and perfect for a family vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chorinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Our villa at Bahia Pez Vela was more than we could have asked for. The accomodations were very comfortable, the staff went out of their way to help us and make our stay as relaxing as possible. Their assistance in tour planning, local business and restaurant referrals, and overall welcoming made a difference. All of the employees from the gate attendants to the gardening staff were pleasant and friendly. We were very pleased with the Bahia Pez Vela experience!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We booked a 3 bedroom villa at Bahia pez vela. We asked ahead of time if we could get a villa closer to the beach & the pool & they accommodated us. We stayed for a week. The house was beautiful & well equipped. The kitchen, bedrooms & bathrooms were clean. The house had 2 1/2 bathrooms. We had to get our beach towels from the office & turn them in to get clean ones again. Cesar in the office was very helpful with giving us ideas for day trips & helped arrange them or get in touch with the right people for cabs etc. We took a snorkeling trip & we were recommended to take a sail boat "Sea Bird" which was amazing. Cesar also helped book a trip to Rincon de la Vieja where we did Zip lining, tubing, horse back riding etc. The cab driver stopped on our way back at the supermarket so we could get milk, bread, eggs etc. The restaurant at the resort was very good & would improvise the menu to our needs. Danny & Alyson were very helpful. The restaurant opens at 12 & closes at 8pm. So, we are on our own for breakfast & snacks. We ended up bringing a few things & ended up cooking a few meals. The resort was amazing & we had the beach & pool to ourselves a lot of the times. Villa # 5 is a minute to the beach, pool & the restaurant. We would highly recommend this place as a great get away.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mtvmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I stayed at Playa Ocotal in October. The place is a few only a few minutes out from the city.
Overall, the place has all you need for a relaxing vacation. The pool is very nice, and fits very nicely into the view from the rooms. The bay is also a big attraction. It is a bit small an closed off, but it is calm and nice for swimming, and i even saw dolphins in it once. Furthermore, there are a few nice walks between the beaches (the nearby bays).
Beyond that the Villas themselves are very nice. The upper floor contains the bedrooms, which are all very nice, and the bottom floor has a well furnished kitchen, and a porch.
Bottom line, i would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ronny_Israel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

I am just finishing up a 4 night stay in Villa Mariposa (Villa 10), which is one of the houses right on the beach (a quick walk down about twenty steps and you are a few yards from the sand). We have had a great time and have only left the resort for a trip to the grocery store in town. We are here for Easter week and it still not very crowded.

The house is amazing! Beautiful ocean view (slightly elevated), has every convenience of home, great two zone air conditioning, washer dryer, towels provided, includes plenty of quality snorkel gear, beautiful patio with ample seating and a hammock. As far as locations go we felt that this house had one of the best locations in the resort. It was very nice to be able to walk down to the beach and pool and only have a short walk back to the house for sunscreen, a hat, or a cold drink. I also liked the keyless access to the front door. My wife also commented that there were almost zero bugs inside or out. The internet connection was fast and had great range.

One recommendation for the owners would to be provide a simple stereo system that would allow a I-pod and other MP3/smart phone music systems to connect. I have a set of travel speakers, but didn't bring them assuming there would be something like that (my mistake).

The resort itself is very nicely kept. The pools are clean and overlook the beach. There were ample lounge chairs, but as others have noted it would be nice to have more shade umbrellas around the pool. There are only a few shady spots available. Luckily the house did provide a beach umbrella which we brought down to the beach. The restuarant is open for lunch and dinner and the food was good and reasonably priced $6 to $9 for most lunch items. A Pilsen beer was about $3 (comparalbe to $1.25 at the grocery store). The service was great and staff very friendly. For non-Spanish speakers most of the staff spoke English.

We were very happy that many of the guests staying at the resort were Costa Rican. There were plenty of Americans there, but it did not feel like you were in a resort where your only exposure to the people and culture of the region was through the staff. It may be because it was Easter week, but we enjoyed the different groups of people.

We would highly reccommend this location for couples and families. We felt very safe with our kids (6 and 9) walking to and from the beach and pool back to our villa. If we were going to stay for a full week we would have needed to do some tours and check out different areas, but I know that there are plenty of opportunities for that here and the owners provide a bunch of information about tours when you book the house.

The kids enjoyed the pool and beach, drinking frozen lemonades, checking out the tide pools, seeing howler monkeys in the trees, and meeting new friends.

For those concerned about driving in Costa Rica, don't be. It is perfectly safe and there are ample signs for most places. If you have any concerns rent a GPS with your car. The owners of Villa 10 provide great step by step directions on how to get to Bahia Pez Villa.

Highly recommended, owners were great to work with and I hope to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NonRevTravelerX4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playas del Coco
8.1 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,601 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
334 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
187 reviews
6.3 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
723 reviews
6.2 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Pez Vela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Pez Vela Resort

Address: Playa Ocotal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range: $277 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Pez Vela Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Pez Vela Resort is located on a secluded bay on the Papagayo Gulf near Playa Ocotal, only 3 miles from Playas del Coco and about 30 minutes from the Liberia Airport.Our Resort has 40 privately owned Villas that are used for vacation rentals. We have both beach front and ocean view Villas, all are 3 bedroom, 21/2 bath, fully furnished with full kitchen plus laundry facilities. The Villa prices range from $240 to $750 depending on location, season, and amenities.Our Picante Restaurant is next to 3 of our 4 swimming pools that overlook the black sand beach and the bay. It is available for weddings, meetings and other special events.Bahia Pez Vela Resort features snorkeling in our bay, easy pick up for fishing tours and a convenient location for enjoying Guanacaste area attractions and tours.We are sure that our Resort is a perfect resource for you, your family & friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bahia Pez Vela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Pez Vela Hotel Playas Del Coco
Bahia Pez Vela Resort Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing