We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish ever”
Review of Soda Mediterranea

Soda Mediterranea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best fish ever”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you find yourself in Playa del Coc you have to eat at Soda Mediterannea and say hello to Ron for me. ROn will either cook your meal right next to your table or prepare your fish right in front of you. There is no menu as you eat whatever they got from the local fishermen that day. We ate twice during our visit and both meals were an absoute 10 out of 10.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank billsaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    46
    9
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Truly Italian.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fresh fish, lots of olive oil, home made limoncello and of course the great service of Alessandro and his staff. Must visit if in Playas del Coco.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scaramantica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Freshest Fish Ever!!!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This restaurant is amazing! We stayed at the complex behind this restaurant. It is a little open-air eatery that shares a courtyard with 2 other restaurants. We ate here 4 times on our 7 night trip! Night #1: Roy the waiter recommends parrot fish on the grill. We picked it out of the case where we had several choices of whole fresh fish on ice. He grilled it and then brought it to the table and took off all the meat so we had no bones,etc. It was wonderful as was the appetizer of shrimp and calamari in olive oil and garlic--we never tasted calamari so tender or fish so delicious. While we were eating, in walked Alessandro, the owner, carrying a red snapper that a fisherman had just caught and he plopped it in the case. He sat near us and we chatted about the fish and he shared some homemade lemoncello with us. His wife also joined him and our converation and it made for a very pleasant dinner. Night #2: Red snapper on the grill. Same delicious results. Night #3: lobster. We wanted lobster and Alessandro said he would do it up with homemade pasta. Since I have Celiacs disease we told him we would have to pass on the pasta and he added mussels, calamari, clams, crabs and shrimp in place of the pasta. Roy cooked it all at our table--delicious! Night #4: It was our final night in Costa Rica. We had gone on an all day trip--picked up at 5 am and we were just returning at 9pm. We were not sure what we wanted to do about dinner. As we walked into the courtyard, Alessandro and Roy met us with a package of gluten-free pasta!! He had gone out and bought it for me in case we came in for dinner again. He made the same lobster and seafood dish with the gluten-free pasta--perfect! My husband had homemade pasta (not gluten free)with a meat boulanaisse sauce which he said was amazing. This is definitely a stop you should make and have dinner if you are anywhere near Playas del Coco! You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a night out”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

we have been here now quit a few times and I love it! Not just for seafood , their ribeye is excellent as well. Brought many friends here and everyone is amazed :)
Some people say expensive? We had a tapas night last night, started with 6 pumpkin choyotte soup, 2 x fish carpaccio, 2 x clamp dishes, 2 fried calamari, 2 mozzarella from the oven served with fresh ciabata. Then we had 3 big plates of home made gnocchi, and we all shared a big Mahi mahi, too much food for a party of 6. We had 6 karafs of their home made Sangria, some water and coffee with limoncello; All this for $30 p.p (including tip)
Good deal and great service!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda_v_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“charming outdoor eating”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Friendly service. We chose our fresh fish from the closed glass case. Casual setting, with colorful tables and candles that meander through the outdoor patio. We will go back

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandVWtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Mediterranea also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Soda Mediterranea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing