We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Papagayo Seafood

Papagayo Seafood
Ranked #18 of 107 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The grilled lobster was excellent and the price was very reasonable. The service was friendly and the vegetables are fresh.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank McTravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    226
    96
    67
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GREAT service and excellent sushi”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We loved this place. We ate there twice on our visit. They have a shuttle that will come get you and take you back --saving the taxi cab fare. Plus, the sushi chef will come out and make the sushi you request that is not on the menu. The outdoor seating is so nice because of the fresh air and breeze.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenniferDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dont be fooled by everyone rerecommending this place!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I went there on 7/19/13. Because of the recommendation from the tour guide. Best seafood place...etc..etc. No, it wasn't the best seafood place and it wasn't fresh. This place is loaded with flies and other flying creatures. So bring something to cover your food or else become a victim of the flying creatures. Within 30 seconds of pouring my water in a glass there was a fly in it. Waiter brought me a new glass. Fine. My food came next...30 seconds later some huge beetle looking creatue decided it was hungrier than I was and decided to make his way onto my plate. Decided that he wanted to stay there and eat up. Pointed this out to my waiter...he brought me a napkin to remove the beetle/creature and then the waiter expected me to continue to eat from that plate. He said "its fine its ok" Nooo!!!! Its not fine or ok. That is not acceptable in any dining establisment. I was digusted and ready to go after that. So he took the plate after hesitating for a min or two and told me he was going to make another one. From the looks of the second plate I'm almost positive that it was the same plate from the first time. I know one place I won't be going if I come back to this part of Costa Rica.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank nobles717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love this place, except...”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I come to this place all the time!! The men who wait on our tables are great!! It is in a wonderful location! The food is very fresh! Except... do not order food to go because the woman working as receptionist is awful! She doesn't represent this restaurant! We waited 45 minutes and went to pick up our food and she never put in the order! Get rid of her and all is great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spice”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

customer service was good and the atmosphere was very cozy I did not enjoy my food I order the Louisiana style sea food combo the food was needed spice and seasoning I would not go back there

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andres357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papagayo Seafood also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Papagayo Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing