We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Papagayo Seafood

Papagayo Seafood
Ranked #17 of 104 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, Costa Rican, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Loved Papagayo seafood!!!! Had the best seafood! Waiter was not the best! Not friendly at all which was very unusual for Coco! Prices more like US prices but not bad! Will definitely return! No wifi

Helpful?
1 Thank Lazyp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    222
    96
    66
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere in MD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious Fresh Catch of the Day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Husband and I stopped in here after wandering up and down the streets of Playas del Coco in search of food. We sat upstairs and had the catch of the day - mahi mahi. There are different ways the fish can be prepared ... my husband opted for a way which included pineapples and I opted for one with peppers. Pineapple won!!! Tuna sashimi was delicious and plentiful! Imperial cervezas were ice cold.

For four Imperials, a tuna sashimi appetizer, and two fresh catch mahi mahi's we spent about $50. Somewhat expensive but the food was very, very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caremanager99
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really great place!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

After driving from Tamarindo, the restaurant we wanted to go to in Playa Coco was closed so we ended up in Papagayo Seafood. Our meal was very good. The mahi mahi ceviche was an excellent recommendation, the whole red snapper was exceptional and the sautéed chicken breast was moist and flavorful.
Our waiter, Mauricio, was very friendly and attentive as was Jeniffer, the hostess. Jennifer came over to our table and we had a great conversation. She was so very helpful as seems to be true with just about everyone in Costa Rica.
Papagayo Seafood turned out to be an unexpected gem!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caremanager99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“FULL TO THE TOP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were walking by and you could smell the charbroil steaks in the air. I got steak and lobster, she got steak and shrimp. both came with soup/salad. The plates were over the edge ...ever bite was better than the first ! I did'nt want to eat it all , but I did'nt want to waste it either ! I skipped dinner. AND breakfast the next ady !!! The male servers were on top of it every second. The prices were reasonable too !

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Drinks were so so, the food was good but many others to choose from. I had whole fried snapper, Nothing special, boring, Seafood salad was lettuce and seafood, not extras, Its okay to eat, just better places to eat at for the same price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papagayo Seafood also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Papagayo Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing