We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Euro beach dining experience”
Review of Cafe de Playa

Cafe de Playa
Ranked #25 of 125 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $70
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: An elegant beachfront retreat Café de Playa is a slice of the Pacific Paradise, with welcoming accommodations and luxurious living. Indulge in the bounties of the sea, the fruits of Costa Rica and beverages from around the globe. A world unto itself, Café de Playa is the ideal beach front venue for lodging, entertainment, romantic dinners, weddings, private events and activities for every mood.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I give them 5 stars.

The venue, music, menu selections, service, people, food and wine, and view of the ocean combined to create a total experience worth going back for... which we did 2 more times, for dinner and another afternoon.

Oscar, the General Manager, and Roberto were exceptionally helpful in selecting tasty/reasonably priced wines and specially drinks. Roberto even created a specialty drink for me while resting on the chaise lounge at the beach.

Try it...

Jim B

Date of visit: February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 271 of 483 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

Nice spot on the beach.
Over priced beer and food, tried the burger it was homemade but frozen fries, plus side you can use the loungers for the day!

Date of visit: January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

First off: location, location, location! Right on the beach. It's a great stretch of beach too! Plenty to see and do in the area. They even have an outdoor sound system for a little background ambiance while enjoying the sun.

The room was decent size and clean. My only complaint (admittedly trivial sounding) about the room was inadequate lighting - it was sooooo dark and it was difficult to see what you were doing and I often bumped the walls. It would be fine if I left the window blinds open but I couldn't because I was in a first floor room next to the bar.

I was handed a "questionnaire" upon checkin.....i thought that was a little odd - it asked about my income, marital status, etc. Since when is that info something that a hotel guest needs to provide? I recognized it immediately as a pre-qualify survey for timeshare sales. It all became clear the next morning when I was surrounded at breakfast by parties of 3 at the breakfast tables with timeshare salesmen doing their best to sell "interval ownership" to guests. It was a bit annoying to listen to the sales pitches all around while I tried to relax, eat and enjoy the morning ocean view.

We saw the hotel manager several times during our stay. The only time he stopped to greet us was when he said, "hello" and then requested that we leave a 5-star Trip Advisor review because the resort was working hard to move up the ratings list.

In summary, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this resort again. It's a little pricey for what you get, but as I said, a lot boils down to location. We loved the staff and the resort is very clean. Noise at night was not an issue, and we were right next to the bar/restaurant. I'm just not interested in listening to a sales pitch on vacation. This would be a 4-star rating if it wasn't for the salesmanship!

Date of visit: December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bottombet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Great terrace with bar / restaurant right on the beach . The rooms were well equipped and comfortable . Only few rooms all around the pool , very private but with the option of being social by the sea side joining the private area of sunbeds right on the ocean . We spent new year there and was perfect . Also great to go there only for drinks or food.

Date of visit: December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lauraanjali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Cafe de Playa is the nicest, most upscale beach bar and resto right on the beach in Coco. The frozen drinks, spanish-focused wine list and especially their ceviche were excellent. We enjoyed a reserve Verdejo wine, which was superb with seafood. The staff is warm and courteous. They will place comfy lounges wherever you wish and ply you with lunch and delicious beverages all day.

Days, the scene consists mostly of condo occupants from across the street who apparently have rights to beach chairs here, and visits by various real estate salespeople taking clients there for lunch, presumably to romance them into buying a share of some sort of real estate. As night approaches, conversations become less feasible with the techno beat pounding ever-louder. Each night, one can watch the older-demographic crowd depart at dinner time to avoid the noise.

We stayed there two nights last February, and three nights in January 2014. Our most recent stay cost over US $1,200.00, an unreasonable amount. We were charged $250 a night plus tax and service for a "Suite" consisting of a rather conventional guestroom with a large bathroom.

As far as we know, we were the only overnight guests around during both stays. There is good reason for this. We should have learned last time that there is no regard for guests' sleep at all. Even though the bar area does not get busy, the incessant pounding of techno beats and the voices of the jubilant staff and their cronies carry on until 2 a.m., making sleep before that time impossible. The cheerfully raucous morning breakfast staff is thoughtless about their occasionally loud voices.

Friends who live about a mile away up in the hills complained to us about this techno-beat noise. On our last night, we informed the staff that we were leaving at 4:45 a.m. to travel to Nicaragua. This did not change the noisy bar agenda until all hours. So we got two hours sleep.

The manager appears to have boundless energy and confidence in his concept of a "nightclub hotel", while some claims seem implausible. For example, says he has been the chef at three, three-star Michelin restaurants in France. The "special" dinner he cooked us did not reflect that. Assorted seafood with various sauces and cardboard-like "puff" pastry was, ahem,... unappealing.

He is the force behind the pounding "music" and an absurd laser light show beginning at dusk, consisting of erratic broadcasts of bright green light beams into the trees and sky. (We went sailing and could see this light pollution from offshore.)

So, we tried to embrace Cafe de Playa as a hostelry, and wound up liking it as a daytime beach bar.

Date of visit: January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank westlakeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Playa also viewed

Playa Ocotal, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Cafe de Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing