We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food with a View”
Review of Cafe de Playa

Cafe de Playa
Ranked #23 of 106 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Price range: $10 - $70
Cuisines: Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food with a View”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here. Fish and chips were very well prepared. Fish larger than expected, soft, fresh and fried lightly with a crunchy exterior. French fries are tasty. Pina colodas, frozen were fantastic. Chocolate souffle put the finishing touches on the meal. All this while gazing at the ocean and the bright blue sky.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    119
    37
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicius la llorona chocolate cake”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were there this week for a cofee and the sorprise was that the name of this place doesen't represent what they offer. There only have one type of coffe!!! Anyway, the coffee was good and the la llorona chokolate cake was absolut perfect.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pauchava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good drinks, good food, strong WiFi, a little pricey”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Café de Playa was a spot that our party of nine returned to several times during a weeklong stay in Playas del Coco. The atmosphere of the place is just fantastic. They will provide service from their dining area right out onto the beach itself. We got to know the bartenders and wait staff who are very friendly and do a nice job.

On our visits we sampled their hamburger and fries as well as their fish n' chips which were both very good. We were mainly buying food for the teenagers in our group, so we did not delve into the other parts of the menu. Various members of our party had a variety of drinks including mojitos, pina coladas, margaritas, mango daiquiris, and Imperial Silver beers. They have chilled glasses for the bottled beer which is something I always appreciate. For the minors, they carry the real sugar Coca Cola in glass bottles.

The food and drinks are priced similar to what you might find at a nice hotel in the U.S. which is the only reason I gave 4 instead of 5 stars. A pina colada is priced at 5500 Colones/11 dollars. Local beers are 2000/4 dollars. The hamburger was 5000 Colones/10 dollars. They seem to cater to a largely American clientele who are not strangers to those types of prices though.

We went back again and again despite the prices, so I would definitely recommend Café de Playa as a relaxing beach dining and drinking experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food right on the beach!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Walking in from the parking area, you feel like you just entered Shangri La! The restaurant and hotel are right on the beach and they've kept the natural Costa Rican look and feel.

Cafe de Playa is a great choice for lunch or dinner. I've eaten here many times and I am always impressed with the food and the presentation... Sometimes you'll even get an entertaining artist singing or playing on the little stage they set up on the beach. Prices are reasonable for such a great spot right on the beach in paradise!

Highly recommend as a must do place to eat here on the Gold Coast of Costa Rica!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandySpate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible smell!!!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The place looks really good, lounge chairs and white sofas on the beach. We decided to grab a bite and drink a couple of beers. It was all good until a terrible smell came out of nowhere and forced us to leave. They told us the septic system wasn't working. Please DO SOMETHING! It's a shame such a beautiful place is affected by this.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Playa also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Cafe de Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing