We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful setting on beach!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe De Playa

Cafe De Playa
Ranked #22 of 101 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Price range: $10 - $70
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Atlanta, GA USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautiful setting on beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We loved this cafe - while we did not eat, this was a great little stopping point for us on the way to Coco Beach for a late afternoon swim. The wait staff was very friendly and accomodating, and the drinks were delicious!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank etatum65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    117
    37
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food and great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We used the beach lounge chairs here quite often. We only had to buy a drink, but we often had luch, too. The staff was friendly and the food very good. Good spot to watch the sun set!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great spot to relax and dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place is directly at the beach and the service is fast and friendly. They have real coffee and lounge music. Great place to visit!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food too bad they are keeping our 8 month old up with the annoying loud music after 11 pm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

my wife and i had a great meal here the seafood special for $70 (i had written a rave review about a week ago and it never got posted - glad it didn't), i have to say we are living across the road for a couple of months and the loud pumping bass after 11pm is keeping our 8 month old daughter up and for that reason we will NOT be visiting this restaurant again - too bad the food was great as was service, but not worth the up all night with a crying baby... we were going to return after new years for the special again but will go down into town to Papagayo Seafood instead...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice beach setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled upon this restaurant, and were really glad we did. We had lunch, and afterward, were able to lounge in their beach chairs.

Helpful?
Thank WineGirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe De Playa also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Cafe De Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing