We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience with a certified tour guide!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shaman Tours

Shaman Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Shaman tours is dedicated to provide not only private transportation and guided land tours, but also bring to the tourist the culture and natural history about the unique places which Costa Rica is famous for. Travel privately, quite and unhurried with us!
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great experience with a certified tour guide!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was our second visit to Costa Rica and we have to visit Palo Verde National Park again. Randall from Shaman tours made our trip unforgettable showing Us not only the park and the animals during the boat trip, but also He makes the tour very cultural as well since on the way tells you a lot of history of the region. Randall is one of the few independent tour guides that is certified by the Costarican Tourism Board and shows professionalism in many aspects for example explaing you why wild animals shouldn't be fed and how important is to follow national parks regulations to practice a low impact tourism.

Definetly if want to learn and see more go with www.shamantourscostarica.com/en Highly recommended!!

Maia & Gerry

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Experience of a Lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My spouse and I recently had our first trip to Costa Rica (Feb 2013). We are avid photographers and were very excited to see as many birds and animals as possible during our one week vacation. Shaman Tours came recommended to us by some friends who had traveled to Costa Rica before, so we booked with them.

Our guide Randall was nothing short of amazing - from start until finish. He was very punctual with picking us up and was always prepared with lots of drinks. During our drive, he didn't hesitate to stop if he sensed that we were interested in something. He would also point out local sights, wildlife, and provide interesting historical facts. He even stopped at a sugar cane plantation, machete in hand, so we could taste one of the country's main exports! Travelling with Randall is like touring the countryside with a good friend.

We did two excursions with Randall. The first was a one-day trip. We went on a river boat cruise in Palo Verde National Park, followed by some of the most incredible local cuisine I've ever had, then a visit to a local potter. The second was an overnight trip in Arenal. We had a night walk in the rainforest, where we saw 11 different frogs, numerous insects, and an eyelash pit viper! Then, the next day, we went for a short horseback ride to La Fortuna waterfall, followed by an afternoon in a nature reserve. Lots of birds and animals. Randall was extremely patient. He did not rush us at all, and believe me....waiting for bird photographers can be painful!

I can't say enough about our experience with Shaman Tours. We highly recommend Randall and hope to visit him in Costa Rica again one day! ~Jeanette and Jeff

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette_and_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

He was very knowledgeable about everything. You can tell he is very passionate about his country and his culture, and made our trip one we will never forget. He was always willing to answer our questions and stop so we could take pictures. We went on a river boat cruise, a night walk in the rainforest, to La Fortuna waterfall and again into the rainforest during the day.You could tell he really did want our trip to be unforgettable, and he definitely did that! Thanks Randall! If I ever go back to Costa Rica (and I will) he will be the first person I'm calling. So, if you're looking to see Costa Rica and all its beauty, this is who you should call. Thanks again Randall, from Nathan and Shannon, we had an amazing trip!

Helpful?
2 Thank NathanBattigelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My Wife, baby (6month), 3.5 year old and myself met Randell, the very nice and attentive owner of Shaman Tours in Playa Coco. We went on his river tour, he arrived early to pick us up and delivered what was advertised... reliable service, great experience viewing wildlife and wonderful introduction to local culture and food.

We were so impressed with his reliability we hired Randall to provide a private 3 day tour of San Jose and drive us to southern Costa Rica (Uvita). He really pulled out all the extra care and effort to take care of me and my family.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank stanleynoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST TOUR EVER !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our first tour with Randall of Shaman Tours and we have already booked our second tour with his company. He picked us up at our condo 5 minutes early (impressive) and brought us back home exactly at the time he had planned for. He is extremely knowledgeable in very many areas and expresses himself with excellent English and enthusiasm for what he has planned in his excursions (plus he's just a very nice guy). He has a very comfortable tour bus and lots of different beverages for the ride and in between.
Our tour we went on today was Miravalles, Volcanic Activity Center and Canopy Tour. This was our first experience with Zip Lining and will not be our last!! Also, we had a wonderful lunch included in our tour. We had chicken, and others had the fish lunch, prepared with Costa Rican side dishes. Also, freshly squeezed passion fruit or mango juice and tastey ice cream to finish. So delicious and served to us with friendly smiles ! We were also impressed with the mud baths and magnificent waterfalls. The scenery was breathtaking. We climbed up a very steep hill in a large tractor and that was part of the fun and the adventure. We also saw many interesting animals and birds today that we had not viewed before. Also, we have many beautiful photos for memories and Randall and other staff we met volunteered to take photos for us.
If you are in the Co Co Beach area, and want a great tour, we highly recommend Shaman Tours and Randall as your guide. The Murray Family

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zumbajasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaman Tours also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Shaman Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing