We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing boat trip!”

Almaco Diving & Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Almaco's private customized boat tours are a great way to experience Costa Rica from the ocean’s point of view. For almost a decade we have been designing dynamic tours for small groups and families who want a little bit of everything while out on the water. We offer snorkeling, sport fishing, scuba diving (and instruction), surf trips (and instruction), standup paddling, sunset tours, and unforgettable full day beach barbeque tours with delicious gourmet food.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing boat trip!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were party of 6 and we were all very happy with this tour. We were picked up by Miguel, Alex and Devon and from the start we were treated like royalty. We were lucky enough to spot dolphins and turtles. We were taken to some amazing locations to snorkel. Devon and Miguel made an amazing BBQ for us on a beautiful beach where we rested and paddle boarded and even hydro slide. We tried some fishing and were taken to some amazing areas around the coast. We recommend this boat tour to everyone that visits Playa Ocotal.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cccristy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Incredible Sunset Snorkel Boat Tour!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Almaco Diving & Tours was an incredible experience!! We will be booking again with Almaco on our next trip to Costa Rica! It is always nice to get out on a boat when you stay by the ocean, but Almaco goes above and beyond to make sure you see everything and are well taken care of. Our group of 6 friends had the best guide, Ernst, and a great Captain! They both kept their eyes open to show us anything and everything. Ernst was very knowledgable and was always teaching and explaining! We started off by seeing dolphins and even saw 5 humpback whales!! Then we went into the mangroves and saw different birds, even some parrots. After the mangroves, we went snorkeling and explored a secluded beach. On the way back from snorkeling and the tour, we enjoyed some ceviche, other appetizers and drinks during sunset. It was just amazing and so relaxing! Thanks so much to Ernst, our Captain and Almaco Tours for such a great experience! :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CoryK1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular Day”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

From start to finish it was an amazing day. If you have the opportunity to book this tour – do it. Our party met up with Nicki and Alex right on the beach in Playa Ocotal as instructed. Within minutes of boarding the Alcyone, Alex had us in a great position to view a mother humpback whale and calf, to the delight of everyone in our group. Nicki let us know that the day was ours to plan; what activities to do and when to move on to the next. A few people in our group wanted to fish. We were lucky enough to come upon a large school of black fin tunas. Grandpa and the boys caught several and were thrilled. Alex took us to a great snorkeling spot, where we saw lots of interesting fish. There were plenty of drinks and fresh fruit on the boat. When we arrived at the beach, a great BBQ was set up for us in the shade; a table and chair for lunch and hammocks to relax in afterwards. The food was spectacular, fresh “beach tacos” with chicken, fresh swordfish and lobster and the most delicious mango salsa and guacamole. We had a great afternoon, with lots of snorkeling from the beach, tubing, stand up paddling and relaxing on the beach; just what we wanted. We had people in our group ages 17 – 77. It was the perfect tour for our diverse group, not everyone snorkeled, not everyone fished, not everyone water tubed, but everyone did the activities they wanted and we spent a wonderful day together. Nicki, Alex and the staff on the beach, attended to our every need and made sure we had a spectacular day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The Best Day Trip!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our group of ten was picked up by Miguel and his assustant right near the home we were staying in Peninsula Papagayo. The day was action packed with activities, fun and great food. First, we were fortunate enough to track a number of dolphins including a large group of ten. On the way, we also spotted some turtles and some skipjack tuna. We tried a little fishing but didn't catch anything and decided to head to the bay for water actvities and ultimately a great barbeque lunch. We started off with some snorkeling - which was decent - albeit it a lttle cloudy. A number of the kids went on paddleboards which they really enjoyed. Two other crew members met us by boat for a remote beach barbeque in a beautiful spot. And what a lunch! An amazing bean salad, homemade guacamole and then grilled chicken, swordfish and lobsters with tortillas and all the fillings. We were stuffed and took the boat for a ride thru some mangroves and then did some fun water tubing on the way back. We had built up our appetite for some amazing chocolate chip banana bread for dessert. The entire Almaco crew couldn't have been more accommodating - setting up the day based on our own interests. If you want a special day on your vacation, you can't go wrong with Michael and his team at Almaco!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank beatroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic diving- why go to Bats?”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I booked Almaco for our family diving - 4 adults but varying levels of experience for 2 days. Ronald was our dm and took great care of us. First day was up near monkey rock. Really great. Lots of rays - mantas, spotted, round and devil!! Schools of fish, eels, you name it. 2nd day was at Argentina and the wreck right close by - OMG. I thought yesterday was spectacular but this was amazing. We all agreed this was our best dive and I would have been happy to do it again as I filled my memory card within 25 minutes!! 2nd dive saw 3 white tip sharks, clown shrimp, more rays, etc etc. now silly me, I thought we had to go to Bats or Catalina to see anything like this but I believe the only time it's really worth going all that way is in January for the manta season. Ask Bari and I'm sure they can explain this better than I can but I think the local diving is 5 star and I'd easily dive here for 4-5 days no problem. We just dove 2 days off Cano island - drake Bay and we have to say this was better. Much more variety here. Was colder. I dove in a 5 ml. Others in 3. Gee and I still haven't mentioned watching the mama and baby whales and jumping-spinning devil rays from the boat - thanks captain!!! We'll be back! Best tshirts as well. Be sure to buy one!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BMWgirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almaco Diving & Tours also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Almaco Diving & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing