We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zi Lounge Restaurant

Zi Lounge Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, South American, Central American, Costa Rican, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Zi lounge is a bar/restaurant in the heart of Coco. It was founded in 2008 and is now widely regarded as Coco's best spot for food, drinks, and entertainment. Zi lounge features the longest happy hour in town, multiple flat screens to watch all your favorite sporting events, live music weekly, and Coco's top djs every night. Zi lounge is also famous for its theme parties and events, from it's incredible fireworks show on the 4th of July, to its unforgettable Super Bowl parties. The next time you're in Costa Rica, come visit us for an amazing time. Outdoor seating, VIP Lounge, lunch, dinner and late night menu
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A place full of energy for a good evening

Music, festive atmosphere, good cocktails, good service ....

We are even returned the next day for happy hour, it was a little bit quieter but always good.

Zi is a the good choice on the main street whatever time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    178
    59
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Frozen Drinks in Playa del Coco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I decided to try this bar/restaurant for the great prices on tropical drinks. We came back 4 more times because the drinks were the best in town. They have very large drinks for just $3.00 during happy hour which is from 11 AM until 7 PM. These must be around 18 to 20 ounce drinks, but we did not ask for large ones. The waitress that waited on us each time remembered what we ordered the last time and asked if we wanted the same thing or would we like to try something new. The bar tenders were always looking over to see if we were happy with their latest creation. We always got a big smile from them when we gave them a big thumbs up.

Another thing I liked about this bar was the way they price everything on the menu. They include the full 13% tax and 10% service in the price. Most restaurants do not include either or only include the tax. This restaurant included everything. We always offered a small additional tip because the service was so quick and the quality of the drinks was just awesome.

We only ate one meal at Zi Lounge. It was a single order of chicken burritos which were excellent and included 2 large burritos with a 4 dishes of condiments for topping off the already complete burritos. We had plenty with just the one order.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobsoilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Zi Lounge Best Time In Costa Rica Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Have been going Costa Rica 10yrs and this place is responsible for the best times of my life! Great food and drinks, friendly staff, and the night life is life is insane. If you can make it in on "Ladies Night" thursday and get ready for the most outrageous time if your life.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AMG506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not awesome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Nothing special here. Typical drinks. No great deals. Did not eat there because atmosphere was boring. Too many other better places to from which to choose.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank BoomersOffshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a real disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Had my first meal of the vacation here and it was awful. So glad everywhere i've gone since has been better. I had a traditional costa rican meal of steak, rice, beans, and plantains. The rice was really undercooked. The beans were cold which is hard to pull off when it's 90 degrees out and you are eating outside. The plantains were greasy. Most importantly the steak was probably not steak...i'm not sure what it was but I doubt it came from a cow.

Aside from the food being terrible, the waitress was busy trying to get a commission off of me by trying to convince me to use her friends tour company.

If you are looking for overpriced crap, this is the way to go.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caa03d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zi Lounge Restaurant also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Zi Lounge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing