We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and a beachfront location.”
Review of Claudio y Gloria

Claudio y Gloria
Ranked #26 of 106 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Cuisines: Spanish, Central American, Costa Rican, Latin, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: I think it was in the Hotel Coco Mar
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food and a beachfront location.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hernon is such a dear man - very sincere and charming. The food was also fantastic - the consado is excellent!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    76
    29
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely manager and very good food”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our family of four thoroughly enjoyed our dinner there this August. The setting was on the beach and we were relieved to be away from the hustle and bustle of the main drag. The setting was quiet and peaceful and the skate boarders nearby were pleasant to watch. We thought the food was top notch for that area, much better than at other places we had eaten at. The manager was friendly and helpful and he helped us select choices of food that we really enjoyed. The arroz con pollo was excellent and the seafood dishes that the others in the family had we're also delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting but the food is not up to par”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The location is right on the beach in Playas del Coco. Such a great spot to eat but the restaurant needs a new chef or recipes before we would eat there again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandVWtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
304 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good place to have a cocktail and food”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We started of with the best mojito we ever had. While sipping the cocktail and enjoying the view, we decide to do an early dinner. We started with ceviche and tacos with guacamole. The ceviche was a bit acetic, but the guacamole was super fresh. Then we had the local speciality with fish or chicken, both were good. Our daughter had catch of the day and our son grilled chicken, both thought it was good. As a desert the children had an ice cream or cheese cake. My daughter thought that her own recipe is better. We had espresso, but that was clearly not their thing, though they had a fancy machine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MvdHoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Place in Town - Can't beat the view”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I frequent Claudia and Gloria's for their breakfast. My husband loves the Typical Costa Rican breakfast - the cook, she makes amazing Gallo Pinto. I like the Gringo breakfast. Be sure to try their orange juice which is fresh squeezed. The restaurant is right on the beach, bathrooms are clean, service is good and the breakfast menu has something for everyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claudio y Gloria also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Claudio y Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing