We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do!”

Marlin Sailing Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Marlin Sailing Tours offers both open and private afternoon sailing tours on board a brand new 65 foot catamaran. View the Costa Rican coastline from the water. Watch for whales, dolphins and turtles. Open bar, light lunch, snorkeling and a Costa Rican sunset are included in the price. Great for the entire family.Daily departures from Playa Del Coco or visit our sister catamaran Marlin del Rey in Playa Tamarindo.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Must do!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My daughter (16) and I signed up for the Sunset Tour after being referred by another hotel goer. I'm so glad we did!. They picked us up right on time at our hotel, we drove to Coco Beach and were taken by a smaller boat out to the catamaran.

There were ~ 30 people on the boat. The crew members were nice and helpful (be sure to take a little cash to tip them on the way off). Open bar (with Absolute Vodka, etc.), homemade early dinner - all yummy. We snorkeled for a bit (didn't see much in that area); if snorkeling is not your cup of tea - you can sun bathe on the boat or swim over to an island. We met some great people on board - everyone had fun!

We were able to get some beautiful sunset shots on the way in and the captain turned the boat around and found dolphins! We arrived back to the beach on time and were shuttled back to our hotel.

Everyone that we spoke to said that this was their favorite excursion. I must agree. I recommended them to several other people at our hotel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chasity T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    34
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This was terrific”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I actually accidentally reviewed the other marlin del Rey. Anyway this is the one my husband and I went on. Jeffrey, Alan and Adam were great...they were fun and attentive. One woman was disappointed she didn't see any fish...Jeffrey took her out again to help her. The lunch was delicious and everyone had a great time. This is one of the highlights of our trip to Costa Rica. Highly, highly recommend it. Great day

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cookjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Time at Sea”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were on the boat May 31 / 2013 went on the Sunset Tour and enjoyed every minute of it. They say the boat holds 90 people but it would be very cramped if you went with a party this large. We had 12 people on our tour and it was amazing. Met great people from Canada and United States.
The staff was really nice and very hospitable and definatly made the trip worth while. You can drink while onboard and they include snacks and dinner for you. So for the price its a great evening to spend on a nice boat and get amazing pictures of sunsets.

So overall...take the trip, get onboard and enjoy !!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank chrisnchantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A trip highlight”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

While in coco beach we decided to spend an afternoon on a catamaran. Our 17 year old twins have many memories of traveling in the past with a catamaran trip as a highlight. This trip was no exception. The drink & food was plentiful. They were open to making any drink concoction we requested. The food could have had more variety. Plenty of chips, great guac & BBQ cold chicken. The snorkeling was poor due to cloudy weather. It poured on the return trio but we still had a memorable time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank foodme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Decided to take another catamaran trip on our last day in Costa Rica. So glad we did. Ken, Alex Taca and Mama Helen made us feel right at home. So friendly and accommodating. The perfect end to a perfect trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyT444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlin Sailing Tours also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Marlin Sailing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing