We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot for a Refreshing Drink or Coffee”

Congo Cafe, Arte & Diseno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $13
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Where art meets fine eating, Congo coffee, art & design Costa Rica opens from 8am until 8pm Monday thru Saturday, Sunday from 8am until 6pm. Everything is made locally with fresh ingredients bringing you great coffee selections, healthy salads, sandwiches, desserts and much more. Come and join us, we are the meeting place of Costa Rican traditions, great food, art and design.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Spot for a Refreshing Drink or Coffee”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We've stopped at Congo Cafe twice for a cold drink when walking in Coco. Both times we have had excellent service and were surprised by the drinks that we got. The first time I ordered juice and expected a glass of fruit juice. It was pineapple ginger, and I watched them cut up the pineapple, slice up some ginger, add it to ice and water and blend it up like a smoothie. It was very refreshing and cheap! The second time we ordered the spearmint lemonade which was prepared in a similar fashion. It was refreshing as well. What most impressed us was the young woman who told us lots of things about her lovely country. It was so nice to talk to someone local who has such pride and joy in their country. It makes us want to go back to Congo just to chat with her.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    48
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, slow service!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Hello everyone!
I truly recommend this perfectly situated coffee shop for breakfast/brunch, family and meetings. Great food, good prices, good portions and amazing drinks.
Only warning... Don't go there when you are in a hurry or very hungry. The cook takes FOR EVER!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samnlyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“I go there for espresso coffee”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Since they open only at 8 am, I come there for their espresso, for me that I like them very strong and slightly over roasted , the coffee there is perfect. i have tried the breakfast too there and also was good. For the internet unconditional, it works for email but not so much for other things. A great place for espressos

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank pdnirc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quitman, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Small dining venue within gift/art shop”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We had visited this art and gift shop several times in the past few weeks and loved the unique Costa Rican items available for sale. This morning we decided to try the small restaurant bar located within the boutique. Small menu which includes breakfast and sandwich selections. We both had banana pancakes, which consisted of two large, fluffy pancakes each, filled with pieces of ripe banana - quite yummy! Hubby had American coffee con leche - very rich and flavorful - while I had tea. Prices were reasonable, food was delicious, service was nothing to brag about.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasStarshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellant service,loved the artwork”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

the lady that handled our sale of two paintings was very knowledgeable about the artist,and so polite.we thouroughly enjoyed our shopping experience and will go back

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank sperley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Congo Cafe, Arte & Diseno also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Congo Cafe, Arte & Diseno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing