We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian Food”
Review of Pizzeria La Caveja

Pizzeria La Caveja
Ranked #11 of 107 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a family runned typical Italian restaurant. All our dishes are home made, with fresh products on a daily base. Check out our daily specials. Our pizzas are prepared in an original wood oven which gives them the original flavor.We are open for suggestions and special reguest. Cannot find your pizza on our you menu? Ask and together we can see if we can make one that you prefer. Here you find: -Italian food and dishes -Emilia-Romagna's food and dishes -pizza -vegetarian dishes -vegan dishes -free gluten dishes We hope to see you soon! Romina e Alessandro
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Located on the way to Ocotal, La Caveja serves up awesome food and very good prices. This place is a must.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BoomersOffshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    82
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real italian!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Went there twice. They special made us chicken parmiaggano not on the menu. The pizza is great if you like thin crust. Very nice, service is a bit slow when busy because the owner is the only server but the food was worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cotrvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

If you are in Playa del Coco and want a real Italian pizza by real Italians, then look no further

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KDahmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

So we stopped in here for dinner while watching it monsoon outside! The owner was so friendly and endured my pathetic attempt at Spanish. The food was outstanding. 2 large mushroom pizzas for 4 adults and 1 order of spaghetti split between my 11 and 8 year old and we left full and extremely happy. I will definitely go back this week. And I would recommend it to anyone! One word of note they do not open until 5 pm.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharleyB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All over Costa Rica
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Italian Eatery”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Went with friends for a few drinks, we ordered 4 pizzas and they where just wonderful, great crust, good portions and great value. This is the place to stop for some comfort italian food while in vacation.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mao_Costa_Rica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria La Caveja also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Pizzeria La Caveja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing