We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Italian Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizzeria La Caveja

Pizzeria La Caveja
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family runned typical Italian restaurant. All our dishes are home made, with fresh products on a daily base. Check out our daily specials. Our pizzas are prepared in an original wood oven which gives them the original flavor.We are open for suggestions and special reguest. Cannot find your pizza on our you menu? Ask and together we can see if we can make one that you prefer.WE hope to see you soon!Patrizia & Franco
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Located on the way to Ocotal, La Caveja serves up awesome food and very good prices. This place is a must.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BoomersOffshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    73
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real italian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Went there twice. They special made us chicken parmiaggano not on the menu. The pizza is great if you like thin crust. Very nice, service is a bit slow when busy because the owner is the only server but the food was worth it.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cotrvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

If you are in Playa del Coco and want a real Italian pizza by real Italians, then look no further

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KDahmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

So we stopped in here for dinner while watching it monsoon outside! The owner was so friendly and endured my pathetic attempt at Spanish. The food was outstanding. 2 large mushroom pizzas for 4 adults and 1 order of spaghetti split between my 11 and 8 year old and we left full and extremely happy. I will definitely go back this week. And I would recommend it to anyone! One word of note they do not open until 5 pm.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharleyB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All over Costa Rica
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Italian Eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Went with friends for a few drinks, we ordered 4 pizzas and they where just wonderful, great crust, good portions and great value. This is the place to stop for some comfort italian food while in vacation.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mao_Costa_Rica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria La Caveja also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Pizzeria La Caveja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing