We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Italia

Villa Italia
300 mt oeste de la feretteria san carlo, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
+506 2670 0284
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Everything was fresh and tasty here! It is off the beaten path, but well worth the effort to find the place. The pasta tasted fresh and the wine there is delicious. Would go back in a heart beat as it is such a relaxing setting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LBoyko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    41
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Authentic Italian food! Excellent service. My husband and myself shared two places that were delicious and my husband is Italian. It was quiet and romantic and not pricey. I would reco for sure!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hbomb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must visit in coco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was a little skeptical going to an Italian restaurant down here, but was pleasantly surprised. Like the reviews say below, this place has so much charm. It is a little difficult to find, but well worth the search. We got an appetizer, meals and desserts and all were top notch. Definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Distinctly average!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This place is by no means what it seems to be. Amazing setting bad location good service but very average food.

There is nothing wrong with this place and the setting is very nice. But it's just really. Average food. Nothing else to say really.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drbeatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesburg, Vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Who would have thought that you would find one of the best Italian restaurants on a trip to Costa Rica? We were certainly shocked, but pleased with this find recommended to us by our hotel proprietor (Rick at Rancho Armadillo). The restaurant has a wonderful personal feel with only about 8-10 tables and food/service provided by a husband/wife team of real Italian immigrants. Her food is wonderful and his service was top notch.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank hmelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Italia also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Villa Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing