We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like an American restaurant.”
Review of La Vida Loca

La Vida Loca
Ranked #48 of 107 Restaurants in Playas del Coco
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Calgary
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Felt like an American restaurant.”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Very cool beach location, great service, food tasted great, but so sad to see Tico feel fading away. Wish local Latino music was more common here than American.

Helpful?
Thank PurpleTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    24
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Zack brought it back- Only joint on the beach”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Great food, nice owner, and a diverse crowd of gringos to Tico's make this joint a local favorite.

Try anything with the mashed potatoes. Home style comfort food at it's best.

Helpful?
Thank Christiandv8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wish I found this place earlier!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great little beach bar. It's a little off the beaten path but a great spot to have a beer and pass the day away! I didn't find it until my last day in Costa Rica but it will be my first stop on my next visit!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bottombet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was at the end of the public beach and we had to look for it. We had the fish and chips--which wasn't your typical English fare.
The fish was excellent and the price was reasonable. We also had a few of the local beers. There were only a few people there when we were, but we were told that this is usually a very busy place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't Be Better”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This place was recommended by our hotel when we asked about dinner. I enjoyed walking over the rickety, handmade wooden bridge. Our waiter said he was also a fisherman and recommended we get the fresh red snapper (pargo) he caught that morning. (No way of knowing if this were true, but I was ready to go with it! Pura Vida) Great choice. Two of us had it; fried and whole and came with two, unusually large and good sides. Our other party member got an appetizer of nachos and with all three of us working on it, we barely made a dent. All of the food was very good and our waiter was very entertaining. You can tell he is very used to tourists ~ friendly and accommodating. We lost track of the beers we had. The bill came to a whopping $24 and we were there a looonnngg time. Delightful setting right on the beach without any street traffic or noise. Would definitely go back. Just what we were looking for. Give it a try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mermade7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vida Loca also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to La Vida Loca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing